We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee)

Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee)
Piazza Madonna degli Aldobrandini, 6, Florence, Italy
055-238-8602
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee) like an insider
Top Rated
$59*
and up
Florence Half-Day or Full-Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #42 of 414 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opulently decorated in marble, gold and jewels, these chapels are a celebration of one of Italy's most famous and powerful families - the Medicis.
Omaha, NE
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is one of the first things that we saw in Florence. While it does not seem much from the outside I though that inside was amazing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    135
    38
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“famous graves of the Medici”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Famous graves of the Medici, but quite expensive, no pictures allowed and not too friendly staff. In my opinion not top in Florence. I would recommend Uffizi Gallery, Battistero, Orsan Michele, San Miniato a Monte church and Palazzo Vecchio to enter and pay admission for.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“An unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I knew that I wanted to go and see the Cappelle Medicee, and it turned out that the opening time coincided with our visit. As it was included in the Firenze card, we trundled along to see what was there.

The chapel is absolutely breathtaking, there is no other word for it. Better than anything else, it gives you an idea of just how wealthy the Medici family was, and how opulent they wanted everything to be. It is completely worth a visit if it is open when you are in Florence - if it is open, it is only until 13:30, so make it the first thing you do one morning!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Breathtaking! !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Only open til 13:30 daily...it's a morning stop. Wasnt sure what to expect as I know so little about this amazing city. What drew us there was the New Sacristy...works by Michelangelo. However after climbing the stairs from the...I must say less than impressive crypt. ..what greeted me could only be described as BREATHTAKING. The Chapel of Princes is truly one of the most stunning spaces I have ever seen.
They are doing extensive repair work so a good portion of the space is covered bt scaffolding but for me it did not take away any of the beauty. Definitely worth a visit! !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It is unfortuate for a few travellers who felt that this wasn't worth the money because of scaffolding. We have to remember if it wasn't for restoration there wouldn't be anything for us to see. I think this place was totally awesome. All the marble and other stone in the chapel was breathtaking. Yes there was scaffolding there when I went but I am thankful that they are restoring things all over Florence for the next generaton so they have the good fortune to share in all this wonderful art and architecture...... Just so people know the Medici's are buried next door in the Church of San Lorenzo next door) and this is just a cenotaph in their memory.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee) also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medici Chapels (Cappelle Medicee), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.