We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pitti Palace and Boboli Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitti Palace

Pitti Palace
Piazza de Pitti, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
+39 055 294883
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$75*
and up
Boboli Gardens with Vasari Corridor Tour
Ranked #38 of 228 Attractions in Florence
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Museums, Art Museums, Gardens, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A complex of art museums housing some of the most celebrated treasures in the city.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pitti Palace and Boboli Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is a must for every one to visit the Pitti palace and Boboli garden. I took my daughter and my two years old grandchild. She was able to clim up the stairs to the garden.The view of the city is breath taking. We enjoyed just watching the sunset. It is a very memeorable visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    402
    125
    51
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Please Label Your Art”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The last thing anyone wants to do is look at a wall with 15 paintings, none labeled, and have to try to match the shape of the painting on a placard and then read about the art. After 7 or 8 rooms of this you are too tired and working far to hard to care. And wait, there are still about 15 more rooms of art.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, ks
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Make this your 1st stop in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Overwhelming beauty and opulence. I had never been to a palace before and was not expecting something so old could be so overwhelmingly beautiful. If you have only one day in Florence, skip the museums and other tourist attractions and spend all day here. Probably not the best place to bring younger kids. They will get bored.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth the money and the time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

For me, this was up there with the Uffizi gallery and with any major attraction. Where the Uffizi has spectacular and popular art, Pitti has, in my opinion the most decadent and opulent interior of any building in Florence. It is simply breathtaking to walk though all the rooms, with all the art. The ticket includes access to 6 museums of sorts including a costume museum and the Boboli gardens. Do not miss this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Six museums in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Palazzo Pitti took us a whole day - and how delightful it was. As we had been to the Uffizi the day before, we began with the Galleria del Costume, which had a fascinating "then and now" set of haute couture (or whatever than translates to in Italian!). The other collections then took our full attention: do not miss the Galleria Palatina, with room after room of masterpieces. The Royal Apartments were stunning, as was the Museo del Argenti. The Boboli Gardens were wonderful (even considering the faded glory of the fountains) and we climbed up to the charming Porcelain Museum in the Summer Palace. I was intrigued by the frescoes in the audience halls, which created a 3D illusion on the ceilings.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitti Palace also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Pitti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.