We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Pace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Pace to your Saves list
Hotel de la Pace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lamarmora, 28, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over-priced hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked this hotel from Groupon.ch, but later found out that it is not of good value. Even we had 50% discount from Groupon, the price is still slightly high when considering the poor services and untidy room @ this hotel.

What we like: the room is spacious.

What we don't like:
1. The reception lady is rude and not helpful. She often made mistakes (such as giving you the wrong room, not mentioning the welcome drink while it is actually included...) and made you feel that you stayed in a 1-Star hotel....

2. The room is not clean at all...It looks tidy but if you look carefully, there are many dirty places.

I will not recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldelapace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel de la Pace, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear customer,

2 general complaints:

dirty room
bad behaviour

Starting from the point tha this is your opinion but we need to consider what is my colleague's one. Nobody working at the reception means to be rude. We are here to help our guests and making them feel at home. We should understand what was going on while you were at the desk. And even though my colleague was wrong on her actings, I wonder why tou feel free not to recommend our hotel when you had at least the chance to meet other 4 colleagues and not only the one you had bad experiences with...I do not think it's worthy!
As about the cleaning. If you only asked to change room, we would immediately provided you with a new one. In case it is evident that some problems occur with a room we immediately change it. The welcome drink is included, it is true, and in the Hotel information, it is written that the client can request it at the bar ANY TIME. Why didn't you simply ask for it?

Best regads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    109
    73
    46
    38
See reviews for
67
151
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Booked a good deal with the hotel which is located minutes (walking) from the Duomo. The hotel staff is friendly and more importantly they spoke English. The breakfast spread is Italian and you can sample the various cakes and pastries.

They even have a quaint small lift to bring you up to your room. The air conditioner is a welcome respite after a day out in the hot summer. You could shower in the toilets which are clean.

In the room, there is a hot water kettle where you can boil your own hot water and tea sackets and coffee are provided too.

One negative point, if you happen to have noisy neighbours who walk the corridor and go knocking on their friend's door, you will hear it clearly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldelapace, Responsabile reception at Hotel de la Pace, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear customer,

we appreciate your review and we thank you very much for your attention. I confirm all the details and description you wrote referring to our Hotel.
Our Hotel in fact is just 5 minutes walking from the Accademia and 10 minutes from the Duomo of Florence. We offer some services to our clients such as a tea and coffee kettle in the rooms, bikes free rental in order to let them feel at home.
I just want to take a chance to remind that in case an unpolite behavier of a neighbour might bother some other client, the Receptionist on duty is always ready to reprimand the noisy client.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will have you staying here soon again!

Best regads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel was simply fantastic for those wanting to visit all the city attractions by staying at one simple hotel. Bus services were great, as there was a bus stop right outside the hotel for easy access when you've been out walking the entire day! The staff were nice and easily approachable but due to being on a main road the noise level is probably the only bad thing about this hotel. Otherwise, its a great stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road to escape from the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldelapace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel de la Pace, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Customer,

we appreciate your review.
It is true that one side of our building overlooks a street, but we remind all the readers that we are located in the city centre which is a traffic limited area, so there is not a wide stream of cars and vehicles in general, and also you need to consider that we can offer, on request, rooms overlooking the inside court of the palace where the Hotel is housed, nevertheless all our windows are doubled and sound proof.

Thanks for your attention.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I would'nt go back but ıt was pretty much perfect for a bunch of college students. The room was spacıous, comfortably fıttıng 4 students ın. The rooms were cleaned daıly. However the staff really were a drag, after beıng told we were unable to smoke ın our rooms they would huff and puff whenever we would go outsıde to have a cıgarette, they'd reluctantly open the doors for us after a nıght out whıch I fınd pretty dısgustıng. I wasn't entırely happy wıth the hotel but ıt's locatıon was fantastıc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldelapace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel de la Pace, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Customer,

I am not sure to understand exactly what your complaint is about. I guess because your speech is a little "slangy". Anyways, we offer, to all of our clients, rooms for smokers and no smokers. As about my colleagues, they are free to take a break and smoke a sigarette outside the door if they want, as by law. Rules and laws change, changing places and countries, and every single traveller should respect them and accept them.
Finally,our personnel is not reluctant to open the door but maybe busy. We are a 3 stars Hotel and we do not have a specific person at the door in charge to open the door, maybe a 5 stars hotel has.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in room 103, which was a clean, nice and big room, and our bathroom even had double sinks and was quite big, so for the value we were very satisfied. Our room was facing a court yard, so no noise from the street, it was easy to find the hotel with the bus that stopped right in front of the hotel, and it is a straight walk to the centre of Florence, so approx 10 min to the Duomo. What was nice about this hotel is that location wise it's just outside of the tourism madness, yet very close to the centre of Florence, and if you want to escape outside of Florence, the bus to Fiesole stops right outside the hotel as well, and in 20 min you are in a cute little town in the hills with a great view of Florence and Tuscany.

We tried their free rental bikes (leave a 50 euro deposit that you get back), which was nice to have, however they weren't in the best condition and no gears on them, but sufficient for a quick tour around town and along the Arno river.

For a cheap stay, then Hotel de La Pace is just fine.

Room Tip: We had room 103 which was nice and spacious, double sinks in the bath room and facing the court yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldelapace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel de la Pace, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear customer,

we are glad for your review and we will make our best to check our bikes more often. Thank you for your recommandations.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

I'm 7 months pregnant with a 2 year old staying at this hotel. The pictures on the website are NOTHING like the actual rooms. Our tv is broke and air conditioner is central so the front desk controls it. When ask to turn it down and asked about the tv I got nothing but attitude back followed by a "Mia Dio" (my God in Italian) he proceeded to say a few other rude comments in Italian not realizing I speak Italian. I would not recommend staying here to any one.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldelapace, Responsabile reception at Hotel de la Pace, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

I start saying that your italian might be good but " Oh mio Dio" is not an offence, it is an expression of surprise or preoccupation..
Second, I remind you that when you lost your cell phone and somebody found it and tried to contact you, you came at the front desk asking me to call the kind person which found it and speak to her in order to organize a meeting point for you where to collect it. Nevertheless you asked me to tell the taxi driver to get off the taxi, ring the bell and talk to the lady, because "you could not speak italian". So what you are writing is untrue unless you want to admit you were to lazy to speak italian. I do not want to imagine which are the other "rude expression" you think you got...
Nobody here ever offenced anyone! It is against our interest and our policy. By the way I never even heard a "Thank you".
Last thing: I explained to you every day you stayed here that the air conditioning system is working and is CENTRALIZED, and I also told you that our Reception is open 24 hours. So it means that we are turning the air conditioning on during the day in the summer season to get the rooms fresh at night and each client can call the reception by digiting a simple number on the phone beside the bed ANYTIME to ask to turn the AC off or increase or decrese the temperature.
It might have been useful just paying attention to what we told you or to what is clearly written in the room in the Hotel Info tag.

Hopefully the place where you will stay next time will be better suppling you needs.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here as part of a package which I never do for the following reasons. We are nonsmokers and they gave us a smoking room, were too busy to deal with a room change but it smelled quite badly. The bathroom was drenched every day since it didn't have a proper shower or floor drainage. The room was so small suitcases couldn't fit between the bed and desk. They may have some nicer rooms here but ours wasn't, I'd ask pointed questions before booking and complain straight away if something is wrong. Breakfast is typical continental and not great, we usually skipped it. Half our bed was collapsed, one mattress was totally shot. Impossible for me to sleep on but my wife didn't mind. Location is good, about a ten minute walk to the duomo. Restaurants in the immediate neighborhood tend to close early. If our time in Florence wasn't so short I would have changed hotels.

Room Tip: get the biggest one available and confirm it's nonsmoking if that matters to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldelapace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel de la Pace, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Customer,

I will answer all your complaints in order:
We have smoking and no smoking rooms. It is up to the client to inform our Receptionists about the type of rooms they prefer. Obviously, however our hotel has many rooms, during the most busy periods of the year it is hard if not impossible changing room to our clients as we cannot have a wide choice of rooms, when the most of the rooms we have are busy though.
All the rooms are cleaned in the morning and the smoking rooms are aired but it is given for granted that a smoking room will always smell a bit smoky to a person not used to it.
The showers you mentioned are perfectly functioning, the style of some of them is "open", and the pavimentation has a proper inclined plane to allow the water to flow into the drainage hole, so the reasons why the floor was flooding is because of the sustained use of the shower. Anyways if you were making notice to the Receptionist on duty about the problem you experienced, in case there has been one, we would have been fixing it right away.
The space of our double standard rooms is appropriate, or it can be wider than what a client can expect and I challange anybody to prove us where they can find a double room in our property where the suitcase cannot fit between the desk and the bed...
Breakfast is various and big, previous reviews can confirm it.
But I defenetly agree with you about the fact that making questions before coming to any hotel, and giving the Hotel staff exact information about the needs and the preferences is always the best way to proceed with a reservation.
Maybe a 4 or 5 hotel would have better provide to your needs, I guess.

We wish you can have a better stay in the furure.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Pace

Address: Via Lamarmora, 28, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Pace 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance and charm of a late nineteenth century palazzo signorile in the heart of the historic centre and tranquillity of Florence, and one of the city's most charming and fascinating streets. Of all the hotels in Florence, Hotel De La Pace will astound you the most with its characteristic beauty and elegance, modern facilities and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Pace Hotel
De La Pace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Pace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.