We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room was totally acceptable, BUT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantic Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlantic Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantic Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 12, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“room was totally acceptable, BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

this hotel was placed on our itineray by a travel agency which provided us with an all inclusive package ,but on departure the management insisted on 4 euro's each for a room tax above our paid package,, I balked, but paid it rather than cause a great jesus scene, there is no doubt in my mind that it was nothing more than an absolute scam, I travel extensively, often with all inclusive packages, but have never got burnt over such larceny

Room Tip: check on extra charges well in advance, and look at room prior to check -in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    223
    127
    50
    32
See reviews for
98
279
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed four nights here at the Atlantic Palace. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable providing all that was needed. The hotel was well positioned for seeing all the recommended sights and there were plenty of places to eat within 2 minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is well situated in Florence. Within easy walking distance to the train station, the Duomo and the San Lorenzo Marketplace. Our rooms were typical small European style, but well decorated and comfortable. Although this is on a major road, it was very quiet. Our room overlooked the rooftops of Florence. We walked everywhere from here, even to the Pitti Palace. The breakfast was nice, and if you ask, the staff will make you a cappuccino for breakfast. It has an elevator, which is a big plus. My only complaint was that the front desk gentleman whose name was Diego was curt and unhelpful and bordered on rude. Otherwise a nice place to stay and good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Typical European room--small, but spotless. Comfortable bed. Since hotel is more than one building, there were small flights of stairs to reach room. Hotel is within walking distance to train station, many sites and restaurants. Staff friendly. Breakfast more than adequate. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked this as part of a budget break holiday from the UK while we were visiting family. Could not have been more surprised at the overall quality of service, location and even appointment of rooms. All excellent.
Please note that it is 5 mins easy walk from railway station, even with your luggage. We failed to look up on trip advisor and took a cab, which must go round a one way system. Cost us 12 euros and when we took a stroll next morning we laughed at how close it was by walking the other way.
Florence is delightfully compact which makes this hotel really convenient for all the tourist destinations. All in all very good and surrounded by nice restaurants and bars

Room Tip: If you think your room is small ask to see some others. For Europe I found them spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Nauheim, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel location is excellent. You can reach all important places walking.
Nevertheless, we had extremely small room. We were quite disappointed about that.
The service was very good. The staff were very helpful but I still do not understand why this hotel has 4 stars.

Room Tip: Please ask for bigger rooms facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We only stayed for 4 evenings, but found the location (walking distance from the train station ... even with luggage) and the room was comfortable. Our room faced Via Nationale, and although it is a busy street, the shutters damped the noise/light effectively. Our bed was firm but comfortable and the ensuite bath was very nice and new and very clean. My husband loved the breakfast! I had yogurt and pastries; he had a hot breakfast. It was nice to start the day. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel, and although it was more expensive than the others on our trip, we found it convenient, comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlantic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Palace

Address: Via Nazionale 12, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#128 Family Hotel in Florence
#144 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantic Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Palace Hotel is an ancient palace built at the beginning of the XVII century, located in the very city centre. Our hotel in Florence is close to the Duomo, to Santa Maria Novella railway station, to the Expo Centre, and 200 metres away from the "Fortezza da Basso". The rooms are furnished in florentine style, and are equipped with all modern comforts and have been recently renovated as the common areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Palace Florence
Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantic Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.