We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantic Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlantic Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 12, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 461 hotels in Florence
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Much Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My Italian agent booked this hotel for a group of 20 for 6 nights, and I was dreading it. Hotels near train stations are often comfortable but charmless. I am happy to say I was completely wrong. All of us checking in at the same time--a bit out of sorts from a long lunch in Orvieto--created temporary confusion, and I was less than kind to the man helping me with my bags. The room itself, however, quickly changed my attitude. It is modern and comfortable but with enough quirks in the layout and furnishings to remind visitors that they are in an old building. The staff at the desk and the little bar were helpful and friendly, and the young lady serving breakfast could not have been nicer. Despite some reservations about the neighborhood, I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear costumers

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our clients. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.

Best regards
(Diego)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    202
    109
    48
    33
See reviews for
85
241
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel to stay in for a long weekend. It was clean, nicely decorated and the staff were amazingly helpful and friendly which added to a great weekend!

The only thing that let this hotel down was the breakfast - it was a 2 star at best! Not a lot of choice and what was there was poor quality and quantity! So that has forced me to give this hotel 4 stars. But would definitely recommend, but maybe just skip the breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear costumers

Thank you on behalf of myself and of the property, for the kind words that you wrote on this site and we hope to have you again as soon as our honored guest.

Best regards

(Diego)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The exterior appearance will possibly fool you , but this is a descent place to be even though not sure about the "four Stars"rating. Clean and nicely located between the centre o Firenze & statione. I would definately stay there if i was to have a quick stay in the city again...The free i ternet is awesome

As in all my reviews , I wont insist to the possitive but just some friendly comments (for improvements reasons) to the hotel owners
-Breakfast quality is pretty innapropriate for a 4stars Hotel.
-Despite the vast majority of personel are very kind with us ...its seems that service could be more effective .
-Hotel overal appearance is below medium ,which is unfair for them as the rooms where extremely nice & clean.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Customer, thank you for the positive comment which makes happy all the staff in the structure. We would like to be able to welcome you again soon and we wish you a happy continuation

best regards
(Diego)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

People at the hotel were very nice.
Location is very good.
Plenty of restaurants around.
Main train station only a few metres away.
Wifi everywhere at the hotel with a very good broadband.
Breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Customer, thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our clients. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.

Best regards
(Diego)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A wonderful hotel, with a professional and personalized attention that allowed us to spend a dream vacation. Back, because the experience worth repeating. Beautiful and peaceful hotel run by wonderful people. Especially Diego, Francesca, Carolina. See you soon. Thank you.

Room Tip: The election made ​​sure that our day in Firenze have been unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Customer, thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our clients. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Atlantic Palace Hotel for our honeymoon. It was not the fanciest hotel but the service was very welcoming and helpful, and the location is perfect!
The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from the train station and just over a 5 minute walk to the Duomo. It's also right next to the Mercato Centrale, which is a really neat indoor market, open in the mornings, filled with all sort of local food.
The biggest 'down' of the hotel was that the beds/pillows were a little uncomfortable. But other than that, the room was very nice, relatively spacious (for Italy), with a surprisingly large bathroom.
The breakfast is a standard Italian breakfast with some American eggs and bacon thrown in. Their croissants were really good!
Even with the bad beds, we would still stay here again because of the great rates, friendly staff, and good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Good morning from Hotel Atlantic Palace,

Thank you so much for this review madame, we appreciate so much when clients are happy and satisfy. Regarding the beds we inform you that we have planned to substitute the beds, which are not requiring our qualitatives styles and for your next stay everithing will be ok!
So see you soon and best regards

Diego (Responsable for relations with costumers)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and my initial reaction to our room was....this is like a nice pension rather than a hotel. The first nights sleep was dreadful due to a poor quality mattress....I could feel the shape of the springs in my back all night, nothing like a poor nights sleep to make you miserable! So my husband went to reception the next day and they moved us to a much bigger room with a great bed, and the staff were very gracious about it all. The decor is old but in good condition and everything is spotless. I liked the cream leather couches in the lobby , very comfortable and although we had wifi in our room we often sat in the lobby on our smart phones.
The breakfast was only average,nothing special to report here but we ate enough to keep us going for the day. The location of the hotel is great, only a stones throw from Maria Novella station which is your starting point for most train journeys. If you're staying in this hotel, look for the McDonalds opposite the station with a 'Bata' shoe shop opposite it. Via Nazionale runs vertically between these two places, although its not called Via Nazionale until further up the street. Also theres an Tourist information Office directly opposite the station where you can pick up your Firenze cards if you've ordered them online.
Would I stay here again? Possibly, now that I've got my bearings from here already but there are loads of other hotels too, it would all depend on the price of my stay on the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Atlantic Palace, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Good morning from Hotel Atlantic Palace,

Thank you so much for this review madame, we appreciate so much when clients are happy and satisfy. Regarding the beds we inform you that we have planned to substitute the beds, which are not requiring our qualitatives styles and for your next stay everithing will be ok! Then for you next don't worry, because we are sure that we will have the right price for you.
So see you soon and best regards

Diego (Responsable for relations with costumers)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atlantic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Palace

Address: Via Nazionale 12, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#146 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantic Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Palace Hotel is an ancient palace built at the beginning of the XVII century, located in the very city centre. Our hotel in Florence is close to the Duomo, to Santa Maria Novella railway station, to the Expo Centre, and 200 metres away from the "Fortezza da Basso". The rooms are furnished in florentine style, and are equipped with all modern comforts and have been recently renovated as the common areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Palace Florence
Atlantic Palace Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantic Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.