We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IO osteria personale

IO osteria personale
Borgo San Frediano 167r, 50124 Florence, Italy
+39 0559331341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #470 of 1,940 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $55 - $76
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Love It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at this small but charming restaurant. Tasting menu was good, wonderful wine. We started early, it became very busy after 9, a lot of customers just walked in, though there were only 2 staff serving but they managed very well. It's a great place for modern Italian food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    53
    12
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benthuizen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our best dinner in Firenze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended to us by the owners of the B&B we stayed as their favorite restaurant in town. When we had our dinner there they also arrived to celebrate her birthday.

At Personale we had our best dinner in Florence. Better than our dinner at Ora d'Aria, owning a Michelin star. At Personale you can feel the passion and love. We had a great evening with excellent food and a nice wine. And all of that for a very reasonable price.

If you like a restaurant with a more modern style. Go to Personale!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Flavoursome with moments of true delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Dinner here with two friends who also happened to be in town. Serendipity.

The food was generally very good and had some wonderful flavours. I have to recommend the amazing celery sorbet for dessert, thought the chocolate soufflé with basil ice cream also went down a treat with friends.

The steak tartar was apparently very good and both octopus and squid dishes were beautifully cooked and presented but lacked the extra wow. I love deep fried courgette flowers in a tempura batter but I have to say that these weren't a patch on the one's - stuffed with goat's cheese and drizzled with honey - that you find at Dehesa in London.

We had a couple of bottles of very good pink fizz, and four bottles of water. No coffees. €205 for four.

The ambience of the place isn't really 'romantic', it is contemporary and very clean. Great bathrooms.

Service .... well we didn't add more to the service charge because it was a little hit and miss, though the taxi did appear when requested.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Creative Osteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Florence is the capital of turistic restaurants and having an osteria in the left Bank that escapes from the ubiquitous recipes of the region is a kind of miracle.
The menu is not divided into starter and main courses, but basically everything can be What you want to be (probably the reason Why io, personal osteria).
The decor of the room is ok, anything too cosy or special, but even anything wrong, may be a little luckying of privacy.
The food is a kind of creative/moder maybe not super special but the chance to choose between meat and fish is quite rare in town and some inedited combinations make this restaurant a good choice among the numerous tourist traps

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A topper: nice atmosphere, great tastes and personal service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant very very much!
It's located a bit outside the touristic zone but is certainly a top restaurant in Florence.

I would highly recommend to book in advance.

They served tasting menu, where you we could try several dishes in small portions.
You can choose to have 3 or 4.
Sure enough to eat ;)

They also have a great winelist and the Spumante was delicious.

The atmosphere is quite modern, but intimate. We enjoyed our little table next to the bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IO osteria personale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to IO osteria personale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IO osteria personale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.