We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spicing and welcoming owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Restaurant Saffron

Indian Restaurant Saffron
Via Il Prato, 9/R, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 285508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #277 of 1,952 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: We look forward to a wonderful evening atmosphere more romantic Florence. With your Him, with your own you, for a moment, savoring the unique flavors of our beautiful land. we did a menu just for you is not nothing but book now and enjoy the deliciousness of our dishes prepared according to the recipes of the past From today Saffron Restaurant offers dinner, every night the first hour of parking in the garage Europe Via Borgo Ognissanti 96 Florence Saffron Indian Restaurant,
Brighton
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Lovely spicing and welcoming owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed a break from the Italian food delights for some spice. Large vegetarian choice and one of the best dahls I've had outside India. We shared 3 veg mains, a rice and naan with 2 soft deinks for €31. As we left we were unsure of how to find our way to the main town so the owner gave us a map and talked us through the route we needed to take.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    123
    27
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Staff - very kind and helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice meal - right amount of spice - very nice service in copper ware. Super special attention to birthday celebrations - different and great! The only thing is we stunk of fried food - there must be something wrong with the ventilating system......

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“;) Dont't miss it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice indian rez in florence.
We ordered curry lamb and chicken rice. Omg thats just so great. I also had the mango lassi...YUM!

The location is a bit remote but still worth to go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A nice taste of spice and change from pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Travelling for several weeks now and wanted a change from pasta and pizza. Happened upon this Indian restaurant near town center. Happily surprised at the pleasant service, and good food. Ordered chicken Tikka Masala, Aloo Gobi, Pakoras, Samosas, rice and garlic naan. All went down very well and it was a nice change. It is next door to a good Mexican restaurant as well, called Tijuana Mex. Tried them both with positive results.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Average Indian Food With Great Host, Mr. Umar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited this place to eat Indian food as we wanted to try authentic indian food.
1. Well, the food is average in taste. We ordered Aloo Jeera ( it was with Gravy!), Paneer Makhani (No taste), Dal Makhani, Butter Chicken (Good taste), Chicken Kadhai (OK), Naans (Good), Veg. Pulao (Good) etc.
2. At the same time, while food was pretty average , the experiance was made meorable by the host, Mr. Umar Hayat. Hes originally from Pakistan. He really stricked conversation with us and took very good care of us, with his warm hospitality. We even met his family, & lovely kids.
3. We were in a hurry and food came really fast and seved very well.
4. The price is not on higher side and each dish is around avg Euro 8.
5. So I suggest to visit this place to meet its host Mr. Umar Hayat and not so much for the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Restaurant Saffron also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Indian Restaurant Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Restaurant Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.