We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Firenze Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Firenze Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Firenze Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni Agnelli 33, 50126 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #358 of 461 hotels in Florence
Beirut , lebanon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel deserves better reviews than the ones in tripadvisor. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is excellent at all levels. They are really friendly and welcoming. Nice location even if out of town. Nice views. Good food.
The disadvantage is that the pool was closed in the middle of August for unknown reasons.
The hotel needs renovation and new look but for the given price it is still ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    74
    106
    68
    52
See reviews for
50
82
16
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed a night at the Sheraton Firenze as part of a tour. The hotel is about 20 minutes drive from the city centre. The building would've been a top hotel when it was built with spacious lobby and hallways. It's showing its age now but still in good condition.

The room was spacious too and mine had a great view overlooking green hills. There's a fridge with complimentary bottled water. The dinner was served in silver service style where foods are placed on your plate at the table.

Overall I had a comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this apparent 4 star hotel with Globus tours for one night with our tour group.

Where do we start, how about the good things?
We survived two nights.

Now the areas that need improvement... and often significant improvements!!
1) Having water in the pool would be nice.
2) Having no weeds growing around the pool with no water would also be nice.
3) Mowing the weeds off the tennis court to allow you to play tennis would be nice.
4) When cupboard in our room states 'bar', that a bar and a fridge should be behind the door, not just an EMPTY space.
5) Reception staff are unwilling to provide you with a double bed (as booked) and state that 2 single beds are equivalent... although separated.
6) The hallways are equivalent to a dimly lit airport runway that lead to bouts of depression.
7) Breakfast... very little to choose from.
8) Windows 1995 obviously is very slow, and they only have one PC... this led to significant queues.
9) Location was terrible, too far away from town... unless you like looking at freeways.

In summary, the professional hotel rater rating this hotel probably did this by looking at the original plans (possibly not even on site) and not based from any recent experiences at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was with a tour group, and we stayed here for two nights. The beds were the most comfortable through the entire trip. The room was a good size. We watched TV (for once) and we had a difficult time turning the TV on, but it turned out it was my husbands "user error." The staff seemed annoyed over that, but we found it quite funny. The workout room is a pretty good size, and we definitely put it to use. The location is not central to anything; it's a bit out of the way, but personally it was one of my favorite hotels we stayed at.

One thing, and it was probably just our room, but the toilet was in an odd location. If you sat down on the toilet, the sink area was literally on top of you. I actually got a big bruise on my leg from the edge of the sink area from standing up and catching the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This is my first trip to florence. This hotel is located immthe outskirts of florence city. Service is real good as well as the food. But wifi is not free you have to pay 12 euro for 24 hrs usage. So i will give it a 4 on 5.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I know that most people have lambasted this hotel. I agree with what others have said about dated architecture, an impersonal '80s retro feel, deserted lobby, no internet connection, antique TV and telephone, non functional pool etc etc. But then there are may positives as well. I would try not to be biased and jot down a neutral review!

Locality

Since the hotel is located virtually in the Chianti Hills outside the city, one gets a fantastic view of the surrounding countryside from the rooms. One disadvantage of that is there are no pubs or restaurants nearby. But then there are lovely walks just outside the hotel through peaceful village roads. See the pics I have uploaded.

Access

The hotel is located outside Florence. Its a EUR 25/ 20 km/ 25 min taxi ride from Florence's Santa Maria Novella Railway Station (Firenze SMN) to the hotel. From the Duomo (approximately the city centre) to the hotel is EUR 20/ 17 km/ 20 min.

There are free hotel shuttles to and from the city centre and railway station. Three in the morning and three in the evening. Timings are quite convenient. We used those. Check the hotel website for timings.

Guests

It seemed that this hotel caters mainly to tour groups and conferences. Saw many tour groups arriving and leaving by bus. Also saw conferences being organised with many participants staying at the hotel as well. I would imagine that for such guests the relatively remote location would not be a disadvantage. During our 3 days' stay at the hotel we did not see too many individual holiday travelers like us.

Rooms

Large, spacious, clean, well furnished rooms and everything worked. Sure the TV and telephones were antiquated. But at the price one gets this hotel for, the large rooms with a view well compensated the lack of a modern TV! See pictures of the room I have uploaded.

Food and Room Service

One major disadvantage is that there aren't any bars or restaurants around the hotel. One has to depend on either the hotel's La Primevera restaurant or the Rendezvous Bar. Rates are on the higher side.

Room Service has limited choice but quick service and prices slightly on the higher side. Main courses are around EUR 10/15. The large breakfast buffet has good selection and priced at EUR 20. That's expensive.

Internet

On major disadvantage there are no internet services. There are just a couple of Desktops in the lobby from which one can take turns to access the net. This was a rather nasty surprise!

Conclusion

Rates vary depending on season. That's normal for any hotel. If you get this hotel for EUR 100 per night on a double occupancy basis then this could be a very good deal. Anything more than that and one should look for better options within the city. There are plenty of those. We were happy with our choice and enjoyed our three days here.

I am rating this hotel Average because of the large rooms, good views and peaceful location. Service, facilities etc were below expectations.

Room Tip: The view from the rooms facing the Chianti Hills and the A1 highway are very good. Higher floors off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

For a brand property, the Sheraton Firenze is a let-down. The only positive I could find for this hotel was the location. It's close to the Incisa outlet mall and the city which is probably what generates most of its guest base, because it sure isn't for the decor. The dated look and feel of the hotel struck me upon first arrival, it was like stepping back into eighties America and I just didn't like it. It's not elegant or modern in any way and just feels tired and dark. The rooms also reflect this feel and as such weren't welcoming or anything to look forward to. We didn't find the staff that friendly which was disappointing but they did fulfil our requests as required.

We definitely wouldn't stay again unless it was at a very cheap rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Firenze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Firenze Hotel

Address: Via Giovanni Agnelli 33, 50126 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Firenze Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Firenze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Florence
Sheraton Hotel Florence Italy
Florence Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Firenze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.