We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but not to visit Firenze” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Firenze Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Firenze Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Firenze Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni Agnelli 33, 50126 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Bussum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but not to visit Firenze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I visit this hotel once a year when going from the Netherlands to Tuscany. We travel on friday because the Saturdays in holiday season are very busy. I need a sleepover, because the rental apartments are available on saturday.

This hotel is always a nice place to be, without standing out. I'm not sure if it's the 14 hour road trip before arriving in the hotel has anything to do with it, but somehow I feel very relaxed when entering the room. They are spacious, clean and have nice beds.

The hotel is a bit dated, but everything functions. Dinner and bar are a bit to expensive, but the staff is friendly and helpful. I always pay around €100,- for the room, and that is also what this room is worth, don't pay more than that.

If you want to stay in this hotel to really visit Firenze centre, you'd might want to take a look at other hotels. This hotel is on the outskirts of the city, and you will need a 15+ minute right to the city center with the (free) shuttle. If you need a hotel while traveling, you can safely pick this one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    85
    119
    81
    65
See reviews for
61
90
18
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The AC wasn't working in our room. Tired from traveling, we had to wait for maintenance to fix it. The restaurant "pretends" to be a fine dining place at night. All the customers were looking at each other from boredom and hunger. We've been waiting for more than half an hour and still no sign of even bread to munch on. We stood up and left. Good thing we had a car and headed off.

Room Tip: Pray that you get a room with no hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Tanurah
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

After staying in Sheraton Rome (see my other reviews) we found this hotel to be outdated. It is hard to think it is an Starwood Hotel because this hotel needs renovations TVs in the rooms are old. My family though it was a little creppy. The service was good though. The buffet breakfast was very good (not a lot of options though). The bathrooms were very clean and looked not so old. Internet was good and parking is free. It is a little far from downtown, taxi is about 15-20 euros. It is a very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

If you have to travel in the center of Italy, this is the place to stay. Be aware to the location near the high-way.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Driving into Florence can be a nightmare, and you can't do it unless you are staying in the city and the hotel gets you a permit because it is only for residents without a permit. Driving is treacherous because of one way streets, and streets do not have eye level signage--it is mid-way up buildings and very confusing. An option: Starwood hotels Sheraton Firenze is in Firenze Sud, which is one of the last exits going South on the Autostrada. Take the Firenze Sud exit, and stay to the right because the free hotel parking lot is down the little hill just after the toll booth. The hotel is not luxurious, but it has everything you need including a nice gym, good night's sleep, restaurant, an a lovely nearby town that you can walk to out of the parking lot called Ponte E Ema (spelling may be a little incorrect). We have eaten dinner in the town after a long day touring. If you have Starwood points, you can use a minimum number of points to stay there. A BIG BONUS is the free shuttle into Florence which drops you off at the train station which is easy walking distance into the center of Florence. The staff is helpful, access to the discount shopping In Leccio is convenient and so is the Prada outlet, and getting to Siena and exploring the backroads is very easy. There is also a nearby Autogrill for gas and meals on the Autostrada. We usually stay there for convenience, the lovely staff, and shuttle into Florence so we can enjoy all the nearby experiences without going crazy trying to drive into Florence. This isn't luxury, but it is comfort and convenience. The meals are delicious, the buffet breakfast is perfect, and like us, you'll probably go back.

Room Tip: We have never had a spectular room and hope there have been upgrades. I always ask for a sheet to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I just read the other reviews of this hotel and felt I needed to chime in. I have actually stayed here twice, once on a tour of Italy with my college age grandson and once with my husband. In one case, it was a matter of necessity--no decent hotels were available in the center of Florence, and, in the other, it was a matter of choice, a choice that I admit was motivated by price consideration.

The Good:

The hotel has a shuttle which goes into town on a regular basis. The drivers were friendly amd efficient. It drops you off and picks up near the train station (both times I arrived by train). And the train station is right in the heart of town--an easy walk to the cathedral, the gallery.the ancient music museum, Medici chapel, and most of the other sights you would want to see, The Hop-On Hop-Off bus is across the street from where you are dropped off and is a great way to see the lovely suburban Tuscan area above Florence.

The restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was lovely--important when you are staying at a hotel away from town. Even my husband who is a gourmet was pleased with the food at dinner. (We are not big on breakfast, and I don't recall eating it here. I suspect we made our way into town before eating.)

The area is quite--even with the hotel filled--something which Florence is not.

Prices here are reasonable if you are looking for a full service hotel and not a B and B.

The Bad

You can not just walk out of the hotel and explore, something we love to do in most cities. People who want to explore Florence (as opposed to the Chianti countryside) should remember that they will probably need to get up early, head into the city and spend much of the day there.

The TV was dated as was much of the furniture--although we found the beds to be as comfortable as you would expect from a Sheraton in the US.

The hotel was clean both times I was there, but I agree that the rooms need updating--better yet a total makeover. I can't speak to the pool--can't say that I come to Florence to swim.

Not So Ugly

On the whole, I would prefer to stay (as we did later) at the Westin on the river (at three and one-half times the price) The views were better. The lobby was more luxe. Our room was certainly nicer. The location was nearly ideal--next to the cathedral would be better--but the river views are superb. The question here is one of balance. There was nothing basically wrong with the Sheraton.. The shuttle made it easy for us to get into town and see what we came to see. We came back to a comfortable bed and a good, fairly priced dinner.

Whether I would stay here again would probably be determined by a number of factors including what else was available and what the price was for the various options. It is really not so ugly unless you are accustomed to luxury on an expense account.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

There are hotel's worth staying in and then there are one's better to skip. This sheraton is horrendous. I have attached photo's so you can see for yourself. For the price around 110 euro you might as well stay in florence proper in some clean motel (that go for 70 euro), because, it can very well possibly be nicer then this hotel, cheaper, more convenient and free wifi. How sheraton allows this hotel to be part of their line is beyond me-. This hotel has not had an update since the 80's. The phone is still from the 80's. the Tv remote and probably the Tv are also from the 80's. The ice machine was broken during our stay (also probably from the 80's). The heat was broken in our first room. The front desk passed it off- that the heat only goes on during certain times of the day, and since we are Americans he thought we would enjoy a colder room. I was not sure if he was serious or trying to get us to leave him alone- I was unaware that "Hotels" do not give each room its ability to decide on its own temperature- they were probably trying to save money. As most of the lights in the surrounding lobby area were shut off. The lobby couches were rubbed out (see photo's) The decor in the rooms was no better then an 80's motel. I can't complain about the distance from the city center as this is clear on the website. However, it seems way farther then written on the website. In addition the website forgets to tell you that the complimentary shuttle by the train station will have no signs in the train station about its whereabouts and information did not know either. When we told the front desk it tooks us 35 minutes to find the pickup area (after seeing a novotel shuttle and asking the driver where would the sheraton shuttle be) he told us the train station does not allow them to hang signs. I told him at least mention that on your website and try to give some simple directions- (maybe the website is also from the 80's). Also this hotel is off a highway with absolutely nothing in walking distance, keep this in mind. Would not think this is an Spg category one hotel, let alone a category 3 hotel. Again do not stay here thinking i might be far ot but at least i am staying in a hotel- think more like motel six- also there's no cable and only one channnel in english- (no news in english) the english channel has movies on it that were produced in the 80's and never made it so imagine how bad these movies are- there is not even an option- that i saw of purchasing movies or upgraded tv. shockingly the hotel had wifi for purchase- but it is outsourced by swisscom. BTW the swisscom works for 24 hours- not by hotel days. If not for florence's beauty and my wife's great attitude this very well could have ruined our whole trip- Sheraton please add this to your motel line when you open one up and category one motel.

Room Tip: just dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Firenze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Firenze Hotel

Address: Via Giovanni Agnelli 33, 50126 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Firenze Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Firenze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Florence
Sheraton Hotel Florence Italy
Florence Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Firenze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.