We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Raffaello Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Raffaello Florence to your Saves list
Hotel Raffaello Florence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Morgagni, 19, 50134 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed two nights at this hotel as part of our tour and this place was nothing to talk about. Hotel is older and there is nothing around. The staff was very unfriendly and the food was horrible. Felt like a high school cafeteria that just pumped out plates. The last night they gave us FRUIT for dessert. On a better note the wifi was good. Was happy to check out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vensimarco, General Manager at Hotel Raffaello Florence, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Sig.,

E' con piacere che accolgo i tuoi commenti sulla nostra struttura

Mi dispiace che ci siano state delle complicazioni per il tuo soggiorno e mi
riprometto di cercare di fare l impossibile perche non accada più.

Ti ringrazio infinitamente per i tuoi suggerimenti e nella speranza di poterti nuovamente accogliere come ns gentile ospite
ti invio i miei più

Distinti Saluti

Dott. Marco Vensi
General Manager
Hotel Raffaello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    72
    85
    44
    31
See reviews for
56
75
8
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very disappointed! Staff are very rude & surly! Beds and pillows are like rocks. Rooms smell musty. Quite out of central Florence. Breakfast is at allotted time slot and if you are not in time NO breakfast. Breakfast is very ordinary, cereal, croissants, white rolls, cold ham & cheese, that's it! Find a nicer place to stay!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently had an unscheduled extended stay in Florence occasioned by my wife having a fall and requiring hospitalisation at the Florence CTO Hospital.
I stayed at the Hotel Raffaello for 10 days. I thought the hotel rooms were great and the overall hotel decor very pleasant. Just off the large downstairs foyer was a small garden and large covered veranda area, ideal for enjoying the fine Italian summer days and evenings. I dined at the hotel every evening and the food was great.
As a visitor from Australia with no Italian language skills what so ever, and having to make medical and travel arrangements for my wife, it was to some degree a difficult time. I utilised to the full their telephone , Fax and Internet facilities – invaluable in the circumstance.
My real tribute to this hotel is to the staff. From the Reception / Administration desk to the Breakfast Room to the Restaurant I can only say the staff were totally professional and incredibly friendly and helpful. Thank you to all of you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vensimarco, Direttore generale at Hotel Raffaello Florence, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Sir

First of all goodmorning from the hotel raffaello.

What i have to say ...simphony for my ears. I really thank you very much for your comment .

We always try to do our best to try to sort out any problems and to make each guest's journey the best of their life.

Sometimes we are able sometimes we are not 100 % but the thing i am sure of is that we always put enthusiasm and dedication in anything we do.

Once again i thank you very much for your support and wish to welcome you again at our hotel


Dott. Marco Vensi
Hotel General Manager
Hotel Raffaello ****
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I did not pick this hotel as we stayed there on a Carani tour. The lifts are unusually small even for Italy and you wait ages for them. The room was reasonable and clean but the Hotel is not in walking distance to the centre of town. We unfortunately had 2 dinners here and they were a joke. One meal was some type of meat could have been turkey veal or pork served with packet mashed potato and thawed frozen spinach. If this is the best the kitchen can do I would give it a wide berth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vensimarco, General Manager at Hotel Raffaello Florence, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sir

First of all goodmorning from the hotel raffaello.

I am really sorry to know about your stay in our hotel in the other hand i thank you very much for your comment .

We always try to do our best to try to sort out any problems and to make each guest's journey the best of their life.

Sometimes we are able sometimes we are not 100 % but the thing i am sure of is that we always put enthusiasm and dedication in anything we do.


Once again i thank you very much for your support and I hope to have a second chance to welcome you again at our hotel and let you enjoy your stay .


Dott. Marco Vensi
Hotel General Manager
Hotel Raffaello ****
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel during my visit to Pitti Uomo exhibition last 5-6 years. Very clean and spacious room with a reasonable rate during this busy period in the town. This time I had a trouble with my computer adapter, and the hotel manager Marco ran around the town and found a new one for me. I was totally flattered! Can you imangine a business trip without a computer? Thank you, Marco. You saved my life!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vensimarco, Direttore generale at Hotel Raffaello Florence, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir

First of all goodmorning from the hotel raffaello.

What i have to say ...simphony for my ears. I really thank you very much for your comment .

We always try to do our best to try to sort out any problems and to make each guest's journey the best of their life.

Sometimes we are able sometimes we are not 100 % but the thing i am sure of is that we always put enthusiasm and dedication in anything we do.

Once again i thank you very much for your support and wish to welcome you again at our hotel


Dott. Marco Vensi
Hotel General Manager
Hotel Raffaello ****
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Unless you are traveling with a group, I would skip this hotel. It's fine--but it's far from the center and has little character. On the other hand, it is clean and serviceable. Breakfast is just OK and staff is pleasant, although harassed by having too much to do, it seems. Our 8 year old grandson was stuck in an elevator for 20 minutes, so we walked the 5 flights of stairs to the 4th floor after that!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vensimarco, General Manager at Hotel Raffaello Florence, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sir

First of all goodmorning from the hotel raffaello.

What i have to say .First of all I really thank you very much for your comment .

We always try to do our best to try to sort out any problems and to make each guest's journey the best of their life.

Sometimes we are able sometimes we are not 100 % but the thing i am sure of is that we always put enthusiasm and dedication in anything we do.

Once again i thank you very much for your support and wish to welcome you again at our hotel


Dott. Marco Vensi
Hotel General Manager
Hotel Raffaello ****
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here with a girlfriend while travelling through Italy. 10 mins away from main train terminal. They also have a free shuttle which worked out well. Bus stop also right outside of hotel.

Room was clean and spacious.
Staff was friendly and helpful with scheduling appointment for museum.
Breakfast had good selection.
The only downside is actual bathroom shower is a bit small.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vensimarco, Direttore generale at Hotel Raffaello Florence, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir

First of all goodmorning from the hotel raffaello.

I really thank you very much for your comment .

We always try to do our best to try to sort out any problems and to make each guest's journey the best of their life.

Sometimes we are able sometimes we are not 100 % but the thing i am sure of is that we always put enthusiasm and dedication in anything we do.


Once again i thank you very much for your support and wish to welcome you again at our hotel


Dott. Marco Vensi
Hotel General Manager
Hotel Raffaello ****
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Raffaello Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raffaello Florence

Address: Viale Morgagni, 19, 50134 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Raffaello Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Raffaello, with 140 rooms, welcomes you to a pleasant atmosphere that is fresh and hospitable. All of the rooms offer advanced technical solutions to deliver the highest quality for a pleasurable stay in Florence.The fully equipped conference rooms of the Hotel Raffaello are ideal places for meetings and gatherings.Furnished with major technical services and specialized assistance, with the possibility of coffee breaks, working lunches and dinners, they are spaces specifically designed to work for the success of your meetings. When it’s time to relax, take a break in the garden, the bar, or the restaurant “La Fornarina”.The pleasure of a warm welcomeThe Hotel Raffaello, with 140 rooms, welcomes you to a pleasant atmosphere that is fresh and hospitable. All of the rooms offer advanced technical solutions to deliver the highest quality for a pleasurable stay in Florence.· Television with satellite SKY TV· Minibar· 24 hr room service· Safe· Hair dryer· Personalized air conditioning and heating control· High-speed wireless internet connection· Sound-proof rooms, with availability of carpet-free rooms, smoking rooms, and rooms with a balcony.Flavors of Tuscany and International CuisineThe restaurant “La Fornarina” is available for business dinners or lunches for a taste of the flavors of traditional Tuscan cuisine or if preferred, captivating gourmet dishes. The breakfast buffet, the great hall, and the American bar and garden are all naturally complementary for pleasant and relaxing moments...Our Deliciuos and amazing food... … The Fornarina delights… the senesi pici on the gambero on a bed of tomatoes julienne… with of flavours of the sea and earth that includes the immense territory of this our Tuscany, from the gambero of the tyrrhenian sea to the "senese" flour, artichokes and the tomato of ours ,the perfect combination of that lasts in the centuries…The pici are a type of spaghetti made by hand own of the south of the Tuscany, of the province of Siena and Grosseto. Their prescription is extremely simple: water, flour and least egg. L' acts of the massaia consist in the " appiciare" , that is to work the paste by hand till to create a spaghetto along and corposo. The condimenti classics of this type of paste contemplate the ragù of meat or " all' aglione" a gravy of saporito and agliato tomato.Nowdays it exists so many other recipies revisited and upgraded like our famous one.OUR FAMOUS T BONE STEAKThe history of the beef steak alla fiorentina is ancient at least how much the city from which it takes the name and of forgiveness the traces behind in the time. However its tradition, its celebrity and its name can be made to go back to the celebration of the festivity of Saint Lorenzo and to the family of the MEDICI. In occasion of Saint Lorenzo, 10 August, the city was illuminated of the light of great bonfires, where they came braced large amounts of year-old calf meat that they came then distributed to the population. Florence ON THE MEDICI'S age was an important crossroads where coming travellers could themselves be met from every part of the world and thus it is narrated that own in occasion of a Saint Lorenzo some English knights were present to the celebrations to which came offered the meat braced on fires. They called these it in their language beef steak referring to the type of meat that were eating. From a translation adapted to the running language it created the word here bistecca that is reached till the days ours. A version alternative ago to go back to English, present to Florence nell' 800, which have left remarkable traces in the Tuscany kitchen. It was be a matter of wealthy persons, that cuts of valuable meat could be allowed also, like the beef steak, exactly, but also like the roast beef, moreover anch' present it in the kitchen fiorentina.OUR GREAT CHEESECAKEThe cheesecake it has nearer origins much regarding that always it has been believed. It is born in fact in the 776 a.c in Greece like cake served to the athletes during the athletic contests. They were then the Roman to diffuse it in all Europe and many centuries after with the immigrants, are diffused also in America. In a 1892 lattaio American of name James L. Kraft, in the attempt to recreate a French cheese, incidently it invented the pasteurized fresh cheese that then called Philadelphia and in 1880 the great spread of this product began and its I use for the preparation of the modern one cheesecake. The preparation of a good ones cheseecake uses previews it of Philadelphia, biscotti Digestive and sour cream (cream acida); changing to these alimony base we cannot more speak than true Cheesecake.In our restaurant " The Fornarina" we have adopted the original recipe... but with some surprise.Comfort e performanceThe fully equipped conference rooms of the Hotel Raffaello are ideal places for meetings and gatherings.Furnished with major technical services and specialized assistance, with the possibility of coffee breaks, working lunches and dinners, they are spaces specifically designed to work for the success of your meetings. When it’s time to relax, take a break in the garden, the bar, or the restaurant “La Fornarina”. Two meeting rooms· Conference equipment: videoprojectors, microphones· Technical support and operators· Special equipment upon request· Office point· High-speed wireless internet connection· Bar· Restaurant· Garage available free of charge until all places have been takenBeing a guest at the Hotel Raffaello denotes care and attention to the choice of services offered. Everything, including a restaurant, bar, room service, and a garden, are offered to ensure that you have a pleasant and relaxing stay.Hotel Raffello offers to all his guests a Relax room And Gym with all the latest equipments.Technology for your Business: conference rooms, wifi free internet access, internet point and free garage parking.Free shuttle bus service to the historic center and upon request, for fairs and conferences, the booking of excursions in Tuscany, and help in securing tickets for shows and museums.The staff is always available to help you with anything and your needs· Restaurant· Bar . Room service· Laundry and Pressing service· Room service · Garden· Garden · Free shuttlebus to the historic center· Shuttlebus upon request for connections: 1) fairs and congresses 2) airport. Garage available free of charge until all places have been taken. . Relax and Gym Room· High-speed wireless internet connection.Garage available free of charge until all places have been taken. Booking services:- tickets for the theater, museums, and shows- car rentals and electric car rentals for the historic center- ability to book excursions in Tuscany ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Raffaello Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Raffaello Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.