We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location . . . Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Privilege

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Privilege to your Saves list
Hotel Privilege
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia, 26, 50112 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Location . . . Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Hotel Privilege is a comfortable hotel located on the Arno. We were traveling as an extended family with small children, and we booked two rooms. One room faced the river and the other faced an internal courtyard. The view was not noteworthy from either room. The special attraction of the hotel is the location somewhat out of the hustle and bustle, but close enough for a quick walk to the main attractions. The walk is also quite pleasant, either along the river or down a pleasant shady street parallel to the river. The rooms were spacious with large beds. The breakfast was not spectacular but certainly sufficient. It was nice to have an aperol spritz in the garden bar in the evening. We did not take advantage of the heavy hor d'oeuvres that were provided (more of a buffet) but a number of other residents did and seemed to enjoy them. If you walk toward town along the river early in the morning, the view of the Ponte Vecchio from the first bridge is beautiful. The staff made an effort to give good advice and information. All in all this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele T, Proprietario at Hotel Privilege, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review .
We have really a great location within a short walk from all major points of interest in Florence.
We offer a lot of services which enable all our Clients to fully enjoy their stay with us.
Our rich buffet breakfast is served every morning with the same attention and care with so many fresh products . Our Garden Bar is open from 11 a.m. till 10 p.m. every day during summer time period and offers recipes from the very tipical Tuscan cuisine together with fresh cocktails and drinks .
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our Property .

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    76
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
117
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We spent four nights here in May. The main reason for the choice was because we had friends staying next door at the Plaza Lucchesi. We opted for a cheaper hotel, based on Trip Advisor views.
The location is just perfect. The rooms are dated, but they are spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast was modest but satisfactory.
There is a bar open in the garden for a short period each day, and our friends were able to visit from the Lucchesi and share a bottle of wine with us which was lovely, The gentleman serving at the bar went out of his was to make us comfortable and it was greatly appreciated.
This is a small hotel, maybe only 10 rooms, the staff are always smiling. We didn't need to ask for anything, so can't really comment on their service.
Everything is fine, and I felt overall that this was an amazing price for a great location in Florence. If you don't expect the earth your won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our courtyard room didn't have a view of the river and the gardens like the ones on the front, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele T, Proprietario at Hotel Privilege, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your words of appreciation and your positive opinion about our Hotel.
We are really happy you enjoyed our services and to read that you had a pleasant stay here in Florence and particularly at our Hotel Privilège.
You are perfectly right when you say we have a great location. Actually everything is within a short walk from our Property .
We have got totally 19 rooms , including doubles, triples and some family rooms suitable to accommodate up to 5 persons .
Our buffet breakfast is really fully and varied with so many fresh products . Our Garden Bar is open from 11 a.m. till 8 p.m. every day during summer time period ..
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our Property .

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is well located and most of the places to visit are a walking distance from it. The room was cosy and clean. But most of all, the staff of the hotel were the shining stars. The entire team of people are warm and caring and they make you feel at home. They helped us with everything from arranging day tours to getting reservations at the museums to recommending the best places to eat. The bar was the perfect place to unwind after an entire days of walking around. All of the places i have stayed at, this one is special and its because of the hotel staff. A special mention of Barbara is mandatory, because during our stay there she was our angel :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele T, Proprietario at Hotel Privilege, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Client,

thank you for your very positive review about our Hotel Privilège in Florence.
Thank you also for describing so well our various services and strengths of the Property particularly our great location within a short walk from major points of interest in Florence. We always do our best to let our Clients fully enjoy their stay at our charming small Property..
We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to the Privilège Hotel .

Warmest greetings from all our Staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel is very well located close to Santa Croce, at the eastern edge of the Historic District, 5 minutes from Santa Croce, 7 minutes from Palazzio Vecchio and the Uffizi and 2 minutes away from one of the hop on/hop off bus stops.

The indefatigable owner Barbara is always at reception it seems , ready to welcome you with a smile and to give you recommendations and to hear about your day if you choose to share. The first day I came in she spent a good 10-15 minutes answering all my questions about Florence and showing me on a map where things were. She's a real star!

The best rates are to be found on their websites and don't hesitate to call if you have any special requests, if they can accommodate you, they will.

The rooms are big by european standard and clean. The beds and pillows are comfortable. It is an older building so though the bathrooms are really big by european standards (they had space for a bidet! Hooray! lol) it is on the older side but spotless. It was a real joy to come back to this place after a full day for exploring Florence.

The room rates include free high speed wifi that works consistently. It also includes a breakfast buffet where you will find everything from cold cuts & egss to croissants.

The rooms have proper shutters which is really nice for when you don't want to get up at the crack of dawn.

Be aware though that there are no lifts (just a short flight of stairs) so if you are mobility impaired it might be an issue, if you can go up a dozen small steps though you are fine, they are more than happy to move your luggage around for you.

All in all highly recommended for customer service, cleanliness, comfort and outstanding location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele T, Proprietario at Hotel Privilege, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review about our Hotel Privilège .
Actually we always try to meet every need of our Customers and to be useful at all times. We are very proud of your opinion on our Property .
Actually all our Clients are fully satisfied about our great location, our services and our Hospitality . Thank you for your perfect description of our various facilities.
We do really hope that next time you visit us you will also enjoy tasting our relaxing and charming Garden Bar Food & Beverage proposals .
We do really hope to welcome you again to our Privilège Hotel in Florence.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a really lovely stay. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Uffizi and the main Piazza yet is not noisy. I sleep poorly away from home but had no problems here. Breakfasts were nice and I would once again praise the friendliness of the staff

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele T, Proprietario at Hotel Privilege, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your words of appreciation and your positive opinion about our Hotel.
We are really happy you enjoyed our services and to read that you had a pleasant stay here in Florence and particularly at our Hotel Privilège.
We have a great location and all points of interest are really within a short walk from our Property.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you again to our small and charming Hotel in Florence.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our family (2 adults, a 16 year old and a 12 year old) stayed at this hotel during Easter in April 2014. The hotel is overlooking the Arno river, one bridge away from the Pone Vecchio (10 minutes walk by the river). The rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. Since this is an old Palazzo there is no lift but the stairs are very manageable. Breakfast is typical Italian average comprising of cereals, bread, cold cuts, pastries and yoghurts.
Hotel staff were very helpful and efficient.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele T, Proprietario at Hotel Privilege, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to sincerely thank you very much for your positive review on our Hotel Privilège in Florence .
Actually we have a very good location and all major Florentine sights are within a short walk from our Property.
We hope to see you again here and no doubt you will find the same courtesy and efficiency and always updated services to meet our Customers needs.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Privilège.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I enjoyed staying at the hotel Privilege for the first time last month and had a really positive experience. The location was perfect as it was walking distance from Santa Croce (my favourite Church). The rooms were clean and the staff were just so friendly. I'd definitely recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele T, Proprietario at Hotel Privilege, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Duest, Guest,

thank you very much for your words of appreciation and your positive review about our Hotel.
We are really happy you enjoyed our services and to read that you had a pleasant stay here in Florence and particularly at our Hotel Privilège.
You are perfectly right when you say we have a great location together with so many services to let our Clients fully enjoy their stay at our Property in Florence.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our charming Hotel .

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Privilege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Privilege

Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia, 26, 50112 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in Florence
#153 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Privilege 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Privilege reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privilege Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Privilege, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.