We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pendini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pendini to your Saves list
Hotel Pendini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via degli Strozzi 2, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The reviews are definitely right about this hotel! First of all, the location couldn't be better, right in the middle of city and in a walking distance to all the major attractions (2 minutes walk to the Duomo, 4 minutes walk to Piazza della Signoria). Secondly, the hotel design is charming, the room is very spacious - we had both a shower and a bath and a great king-size bed (we were upgraded to a deluxe room facing the piazza - if you are a light sleeper don't choose the rooms facing the piazza) and the breakfast was very nice (great coffee and pastries). We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo B, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our location to be ideal . It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests about our service and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members


kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    125
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
149
142
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel Pendini is very gracious and attractive. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We were first offered a room with a terrace but you had to climb a tight spiral staircase to reach it, not easily navigable by people of our age. They found another pretty room for us right away. When a problem developed with the air conditioning in that room on the third day we were there, they immediately moved us to another nice room. The hallways are filled with fascinating historical photos, the breakfast was good, the location was great, and overall we very much enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo B, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your very kind words following your recent stay at the Pendini. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was PERFECT! The location was central to everything there is to do in Florence. The room was beautifully decorated & so comfortable (with air conditioning & wi-fi). A delicious breakfast was included in our price. The front desk staff was EXCEPTIONAL! (They were fluent in so many different languages- so never a communication problem - & they gave us so many great recommendations of places to eat and visit). We especially loved seeing all the history of the hotel scattered through the hallways.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo B, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I am delighted that our location and the friendly, helpful nature of our team continue to be a highlight. Your positive feedback and personal recommendation is therefore incredibly encouraging and also greatly valued, thank you.

I look forward to welcoming you back again and hope to meet you in person when you return to the Pendini.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old school Hotel in the very heart of Florence. Excellent location, rooms facing the square and a very nice breakfast.
Newly renovated bathrooms that are very Italian (bidets).
The desk staff is very helpful in placing reservations to restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: As for a view of the Republica Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo B, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your very kind words following your recent stay at the Pendini. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location. This was a very pleasant surprise. The hotel was tastefully decorated. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good and the dining room lovely.
Would recommend to family and friends. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo B, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our location to be ideal . It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests about our service and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

e researched several hotels in Florence before deciding on this hotel and chose it because of the location on the piazza and the view. It cost more than many others, but we thought let's go for it. Unfortunately our room had a scaffolding and canvas cover over the window blocking any view. When I asked for another room, they said none were available. Staff on checkin not particularly helpful to me or another client who checked in just before me. Breakfast staff very friendly and polite though and food was ok. There were hot and cold choices. Loved the location, but put out because of window obstruction and the fact that we paid quite a bit more.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo B, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to your write this review.

I am delighted you have basically enjoyed the location and the standard of our hotel.
we deeply regret for the inconvenience of the scaffoldings erected as protection which impede the view from your room but essential works should be carried out rapidly on the facade and the roof of the building

we really hope you can consider us during your next visit to Florence when we will try to do our best to compensate this inconvenience.

kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed four nights here. Bang in the centre of Florence and therefore everything is walkable. The location itself is amazing, but the hotel interior is stunning. It really feels like you are part of some long lost lifestyle, the interior is based on one floor that follows a square as part of the side of the plaza. Rooms are decorated as if they are from the 19th/20th Century fin de siècle, and the lounge area is wonderful for sitting in. A short taxi ride from the station, a nice lift to the top floor and you are in a cool world of luxury and peace. Back down and you are in amongst the exclusive shops and bustling streets. The staff are wonderful, the owner frequently chats to guests and all around are pictures and reminders that it is a long established family business that cares.

We were concerned about getting access to the Uffizzi and Reception did all the sorting, explained exactly where to pick the tickets, at what time, and all part of the service.

Breakfasts are great, nice quality food and another sumptuous room. Staff always ready to help.

A great hotel, at a fabulous price.

Highly recommended by us.

The hotel is part of a very old building, they have done wonders to provide what you get, but be aware there are some essential compromises in space and electric points. This should not stop you thoroughly enjoying your stay here, but if your idea of a nice hotel is modern minimalism this is not for you.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo B, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that our location and the friendly, helpful nature of our team continue to be a highlight .. Your positive feedback and personal recommendation is therefore incredibly encouraging and also greatly valued, thank you.

I look forward to welcoming you back again and hope to meet you in person when you return to the Pendini.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Pendini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pendini

Address: Via degli Strozzi 2, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#53 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pendini 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pendini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendini Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pendini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.