We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average boutique hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pendini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pendini to your Saves list
Hotel Pendini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via degli Strozzi 2, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“average boutique hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Large rooms in this hotel but it has the smallest elevator I have been on in a hotel. This hotel is in a great location, easy access to restaurants, shopping and touristic areas. We did not need public transportation. Hotel room had an old fashion charm with dated wallpaper style, telephone and furniture but overall it is a decent and acceptable hotel to stay for a few days. Our stay was for 3 nights. Loved to shop in the area, found great deals. Hotel did provide us with a breakfast bag for our early trip to Spain. Staff was not as welcoming, did their job to check you in and out not much more.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    91
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
109
99
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Hotel Pendini the 16th - 21st of December at a prompting from some friends. I needed a place located close to the Duomo and needed a large room ( for myself and college age son) with 2 beds. For those traveling in Europe finding rooms with multiple beds can be a challenge. I stayed 4 nights for the price of 3 ( roughly $515 total including continental breakfast.) The rooms were large, simple with a nice bathroom (shower/tub, hair dryer and clothes warmer) . I was over Piazza della Repubblica in Florence - great view and access to restaurants and shops but an extremely loud spot over a holiday (weekend) with music in the Piazza going to the wee hours. The continental breakfast options were great, staff nice, (mostly )working wifi and overall a good deal. If you are looking for fancy (our room had in door/out door carpet and older furniture that could be upgraded to wood and the hotel could more) or concierges to help you set reservations etc..this is not the place. But convenient, good breakfast and fairly priced. Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Depending on who you are traveling with I would check for a room away from the Piazza on hoidays and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Located on the 3rd & 4th floors of arched building on the Piazza della Republica, the location is perfect for walking to every major site in Florence. The hotel gives you the feeling of elegant touring of a past era but with all the modern amenities. Breakfast featured good selection in a lovely, bright room. Despite the major street & the very busy weekend on the Piazza, we didn't hear a sound when we closed the window due to thick double glazing. Park directly in front of hotel & they arrange valet parking in nearby garage. Can't imagine a better place to stay in Florence!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just got back from 5 nights at the Hotel Pendini, staying in their family 2-bedroom suite, and they could not have looked after us better. The location is amazing, the rooms were large and spotless (and very quiet - ours were not overlooking the square) and the staff friendly and helpful. My wheelchair dependent mother-in-law also had a great time, as the facilities were all on one floor and we could use the lift to get her straight out to the sights in minutes. Thank you for a very successful and good value trip. The Normand family.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful hotel; quite nondescript on the outside but upon entering the hotel, I couldn't stop marveling at the beautiful interior - the chandeliers along the corridors, the sitting room and the breakfast room. Lots of little details here & there adds to the old world charm. Located at the left side of the building (when standing in the square & facing the hotel), there are 2 lifts to reach the main hotel lobby. Hard Rock Cafe is on the right side of building. Zara, H&M and other major retailers are just round the corner. All the major sights and river are within walking distance.

We stayed here for 4 nights in a quadruple room facing the square on the 4th floor, 2 adults & 2 teenagers. Lots of space, big closet and spacious bathroom as well. The room was nice, clean and there was a safe! I guess the hotel finally put it in after all the feedback earlier about not having one in the room. The beds were very comfortable and although there was some noise coming from the square, which could be really late into the night, this didn't bother us much. The central location, the view from seeing all the main action during the day more than made up for it. We could just come back to the hotel in the afternoon to drop off our shopping bags, take a rest, look out of the windows at the crowd before heading out again.

From the breakfast room, you could look out to the streets and also part of the Cathedral. Nice view and piped music made breakfast most enjoyable. Breakfast was the usual, pastries, boiled eggs, cereals but I must commend the 2 staff working in the room. They are ever attentive to your needs and from the 2nd morning onwards, they remembered that we liked the cappuccinos made from the kitchen the day before and promptly served them without us having to ask.

On the day we left, we took a cab to the train station which costs us 12 euros. This was much better than walking through the cobbled streets lugging your suitcases. Although there was a taxi stand round the corner, the staff helped us to call for one which came immediately right in front of the entrance. Hotel Pendini deserves to be in the top 20 for its central location, pricing, comfort and attentive staff. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This moderately priced hotel in a prime location is great value. The Pendini overlooks a major square and is perfect to access the river and most city attractions are within walking distance. The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff are very helpful. The hairdresser on the first floor is also excellent! We had an issue with the laundry which they resolved very quickly and to our complete satisfaction.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the square are more expensive. Those facing the internal light well and side street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed here for 1 night based on location, which was great. Hotel staff were helpful and very pleasant. We stayed in a standard two bedroom which was a good size and clean with an updated bathroom. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cborghigiani, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of your experience at the Pendini Hotel I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you are looking forward to returning to us.


kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pendini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pendini

Address: Via degli Strozzi 2, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
#57 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pendini 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pendini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendini Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pendini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.