We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pendini

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pendini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pendini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via degli Strozzi 2, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 461 hotels in Florence
Giddings, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Hotel in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was far and away our favorite hotel of the four we stayed at on a recent trip to Tuscany. The location was superb, the room small but very nice, and the owner/ management just like old friends.

The central location of Piazza della Repubblica proved to be perfect walking distance to every major sight in Florence and our worries about nighttime noise never materialized. Museums, galleries, dining, shopping- it's all right there.

Our room was small, but worked well for us. AC was up to our American standards. I read complaints of noise from the breakfast room and was worried because we were right next door, but this didn't bother us in the least.

Absolutely the best amenity of this hotel, though, is the superb owner and management. They were so helpful and friendly with every request we had- even going well out of their way to make last minute reservations to see the statue of David for us. We had a nice long visit the morning of our departure and got a lot of helpful hints about visiting other areas of Tuscany.

We will most definitely make Hotel Pendini our base camp for our next trip to Italy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cborghigiani, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest

I am thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for choosing the Pendini

Word of mouth remains the truest and most powerful form of referral and your personal recommendation means the absolute world to us. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about our hotel and our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    53
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
52
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a triple room up a wonderful tiny spiral staircase on the top floor. We had a balcony with view of the Doumo Dome and bell tower. We had triple rooms throughout Germany, Austria, and other cities in Italy, and Pendini was by far our favorite. There was a single bed in its own room, balcony, separate room with the other 2 beds, wonderful decorating of the rooms, and everything was wonderful. The staff was all hugely helpful with tourist advice, recommendations, made museum reservations for us, breakfast was fabulous every morning, including special purchases for my children who require a gluten free diet. Their location very near the train station, and very near to all sights in Florence, yet still private and quiet, is wonderful. I would love to stay at Hotel Pendini again and would recommend anyone I know to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cborghigiani, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest

I am thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for choosing the Pendini

Word of mouth remains the truest and most powerful form of referral and your personal recommendation means the absolute world to us. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about our hotel and our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Elegant, classy hotel with good location. Comfortable rooms and great breakfast. Great restaurants and entertainment on the piazza outside the hotel. Markets and shopping within walking distance.Very good value for money. Would love to stay there again if we visit Florence in future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cborghigiani, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for sharing your experience!


I hope we will now be your home away from home whenever in Florence and I very much look forward to welcoming you back.


best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here in Aug-Sep'13, hotel was undergoing renovation, half of the hotel exterior was covered in scaffoldings etc. However, the rooms looked new already, so I figured the interior renovation was already completed.
Location is great, walking distance to the squares... I personally enjoy the life at Piazza della Signoria, lots of street performers/artists, a place I would walk to every night to just soak in the nightlife of the neighbourhood from the hotel. By the way, we took taxi from Firenze Santa Maria Novella station to this hotel, approximately 6-8 mins drive.

So, hotel location is really awesome... However room condition needs to be reviewed. I booked Classic Double room, so we were allocated a room on the same floor as reception. Room looks pretty per pictures on the web... However, there is a sewage smell coming from the bathroom, which we could not tolerate in the end, thus asked for a room switch. Reception gave us a room 1 floor up from reception - There were 2 rooms upstairs. It is troublesome, as you need to bring your luggages up the spiral staircase, had the help from hotel staff. Even with the room switch, we spotted problems - weak wifi, unstable connection frustrated us such that we had to go to the lounge area (super cosy, nice sofa, paintings etc) to access wifi... And I'm not sure what housekeeping was doing... But we spotted a pad (women's best friend) stuck on top of the ceiling, where the fire/smoke detector is. Strange and gross. Called housekeeping (awkward for me to describe the situation) and they quickly sent a male staff up to remove.
Even with room switch, we were faced with such a dilemma, so gave up on switching further.
Hope hotel can review their rooms more critically, check on the level of hygiene/cleanliness, to justify the beauty of the rooms and the great location of the hotel.

Breakfast was not impressive, just OK standards. Though the restaurant for dining does look pretty with the chandeliers and all. Hotel lobby looks great too and the lounge area is cosy to rest and access wifi, should you not be able to tap into it from your rooms.

Room Tip: Had switched rooms but both are not up to standards. Can only say the room 1 floor up from reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cborghigiani, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

thank you forr choosing the Hotel Pendini and for finding time to write this review.

When I have started to read your comment I was quite surprised to read all complaints on our hotel but when I have noticed your date of stay >(sept 2013I have breathed a sigh of relief.
during last winter the hotel has completed its renovation and now all rooms have been totally
remodeled. the renovation has involved also technology so we are confident that all problems
suffered during your stay should be now definitely solved.I really do hope that you will consider trying again as I am very confident that we can provide you with the same experience and level of comfort that a majority of our guests are very willing to attest to.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights at Pendini and loved it. This was our second time and could not fault it. A great located hotel, very central to all shops and close to the SM Novella station. The rooms are spacious and clean with good air conditioning, and the hotel lounge and breakfast rooms are just as lovely as they were 6 years ago. The staff were very friendly and helpful as always and made sure we had a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cborghigiani, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest

I am thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for choosing the Pendini

Word of mouth remains the truest and most powerful form of referral and your personal recommendation means the absolute world to us. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about our hotel and our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived with a car and found out you could not drive to this hotel. Porter was great about parking for us however. We had the 2 room suite for 5 people. No view at all so make sure if you want one, ask and be aware of which building you are staying in. Lots of stairs and no ice in room (like most of Europe) I guess. No coffee making in room and no free waters. the room and hotel felt dated to me. Carpets in room yuckky. Location is great, but without a view kind of a mute point. Breakfast very good indeed. Lots of stairs......and one small elevator. I have stayed at nicer in piazza with nice views for less money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cborghigiani, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, yesterday
dear Guest
we really regret to learn that our hotel did not match your expectations. the hotel Pendini is located in the historical centre of the old town and not all the rooms face the front Piazza. Those rooms guarantee nice view but are also less quiet than the inside rooms which are highly requested. the hotel has two elevators for three floors and unfortunately the size is imposed by architectural conditions.
the hotel features also nice big rooms suitable for families with a view on the piazza but your suite composed by two rooms offers more privacy and comfort.
I really do hope that you will consider trying again as I am very confident that we can provide you with the same experience and level of comfort that a majority of our guests are very willing to attest to.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited over a year ago, and loved the central location and fairly large rooms given the price. Now they have installed proper air condition so we can give it an unreserved 5 stars. Very friendly staff too.

Make sure you request a special pass if taking a car in Central Florence from the hotel, otherwise you will get a sixty euro fine.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cborghigiani, Direttore at Hotel Pendini, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for sharing your experience!


I hope we will now be your home away from home whenever in Florence and I very much look forward to welcoming you back.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pendini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pendini

Address: Via degli Strozzi 2, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Florence
#95 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pendini 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pendini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendini Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pendini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.