We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gioia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gioia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gioia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C Cavour 25, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 461 hotels in Florence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel Gioia offers comfort in accommodation and a high level of customer delight through its people. The rooms are clean and facilities adequate. The breakfast spread is fine. To cap it all, it is located right close to the Accademia and not far from the Duomo. Uffizi and other places of attraction are within a walkable range.

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms with a terrace on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    117
    27
    11
    2
See reviews for
40
108
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, Herts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the hotel Gioia for 4 nights last weekend, my first as a solo traveller. The hotel is ideally situated for all the main historical sites and close to many wonderful bars and restaurants. Staff were friendly and welcoming and the room clean and I think newly refurbished. Breakfast was basic but filling, the coffee really good. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Highly recommended!!

The staff is very friendly/helpful. The hotel is quaint, but the rooms are clean and comfortable. Great value for the price. We would absolutely stay here the next time traveled to Florence!
They held our luggage all day after we checked out and were so friendly with great recommendations. Can walk to ALL of the main hot sight seeing spots in Florence :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights as a solo traveler, all without having booked a reservation. Since I didn't have a specific itinerary, I wasn't sure how long I would be in Florence, and the staff was extremely flexible in booking on a day-to-day basis. The room was clean and adequately sized, with the hotel situated in a perfect location only a few blocks from the Duomo. The service here was excellent; each staff member was very friendly and more than willing to help with suggestions on where to eat and how to get there. I will absolutely stay at this hotel again next time I return to Florence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location of this hotel is brilliant; it is only a 2 minute walk from the Duomo and Baptistery and less than 10 minutes to most sites of any significance such as the Uffizi and the Accademia. Getting in is tricky with narrow winding stairs and the inside is a bit of a rabbit warren. The rooms are adequate in size and very clean; the staff were wonderful and could not be more helpful. The bed was comfortable and the showers hot ... well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my now husband for 4 days in July 2011, before travelling to Chianti for our wedding.

The hotel was ideal for last minute preparation. It was very central.

The decor in our room was dated. However I have given it 5 marks for the room because the air conditioning was amazing! Don't know how we'd have coped without it in mid-July! Our room was also very spacious and clean.

We could use the communal area for meeting the wedding planner which was handy. The free wifi was great too.

I've given this hotel full marks as it met our every need. It's probably not to everyone's taste, but definitely provides value for money. I would return to this hotel in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Once again we had the most perfect stay at Hotel Gioia! Having had a great stay back in September 2010 we decided to book again this September. As expected everything was just great....we had a huge spacious triple room that was clean and offered plenty of storage. All of the staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. Location is so central and this is what you should prioritise over everything else in Florence....being just a few steps from the Duomo this hotel is perfect meaning you can easily pop back to the hotel throughout the day to rest your weary feet or drop off all your purchases (San Lorenzo market is just steps from the hotel).

As a family we have stayed in Florence many times and Hotel Gioia is without doubt the best Hotel we have found. Street noise is minimal...only what you can expect from a central location, double glazing and aircon work great. Breakfast may be simple but it is just what you need before a busy day sightseeing and it is always plentiful and served with a friendly smile and offers of more coffee or tea. You are minutes from many of Florence's best sights and also it is an easy 10 min walk to the station...we didn't once need to get a taxi.

We are already planning our next visit and there is no doubt we shall stay here again and we recommend it to everyone visiting Florence. There is nothing we can fault and we were very sad to leave...thank you so much to Tiziano, Franco and to all your lovely staff...we look forward to seeing you all again soon....The Williams family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gioia

Address: C Cavour 25, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#122 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gioia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.