We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, central hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gioia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gioia to your Saves list
Hotel Gioia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C Cavour 25, 50129 Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 463 Hotels in Florence
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value for money, central hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my now husband for 4 days in July 2011, before travelling to Chianti for our wedding.

The hotel was ideal for last minute preparation. It was very central.

The decor in our room was dated. However I have given it 5 marks for the room because the air conditioning was amazing! Don't know how we'd have coped without it in mid-July! Our room was also very spacious and clean.

We could use the communal area for meeting the wedding planner which was handy. The free wifi was great too.

I've given this hotel full marks as it met our every need. It's probably not to everyone's taste, but definitely provides value for money. I would return to this hotel in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    139
    39
    15
    2
See reviews for
51
136
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Once again we had the most perfect stay at Hotel Gioia! Having had a great stay back in September 2010 we decided to book again this September. As expected everything was just great....we had a huge spacious triple room that was clean and offered plenty of storage. All of the staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. Location is so central and this is what you should prioritise over everything else in Florence....being just a few steps from the Duomo this hotel is perfect meaning you can easily pop back to the hotel throughout the day to rest your weary feet or drop off all your purchases (San Lorenzo market is just steps from the hotel).

As a family we have stayed in Florence many times and Hotel Gioia is without doubt the best Hotel we have found. Street noise is minimal...only what you can expect from a central location, double glazing and aircon work great. Breakfast may be simple but it is just what you need before a busy day sightseeing and it is always plentiful and served with a friendly smile and offers of more coffee or tea. You are minutes from many of Florence's best sights and also it is an easy 10 min walk to the station...we didn't once need to get a taxi.

We are already planning our next visit and there is no doubt we shall stay here again and we recommend it to everyone visiting Florence. There is nothing we can fault and we were very sad to leave...thank you so much to Tiziano, Franco and to all your lovely staff...we look forward to seeing you all again soon....The Williams family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Italy and one of the hotels we stayed at in Florence was Hotel Gioia. Franco and Tiziano were delightful hosts and made our stay a joy. They are both very knowlegeable, sharing and great hosts. Whatever questions we had, they answered and helped make our stay memorable. Our room was small, but adequate, quiet and had a door opening to a balcony which in warm weather could be used for sitting. Breakfast was perfect, yogurt, rolls, fruit, coffee, croissants and more. Convenience... perfect...just a quick walk to the duomo and good shopping. Tiziano also recommended several local restaurants which we tried and found to be very good both for lunch and dinner. It is always delightful to find a clean, moderately priced hotel close to all the attractions with great people, especially in Florence, Italy and this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Friendly help, clean, comfortable, basic rooms. For us the location was great, too. We could walk every where to see all the sites, just down the street from the Duomo. And upon leaving, we walked to the train station (with roller bags).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you want a quiet, safe and clean hotel then go to the hotel Gioia. It is friendly, it is in a good position and it provides a basic but good enough breakfast.

If you are looking for luxury then this is not for you. Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel Gioia is located not far away from the railway station- at about five- ten minutes dragging of the heavy suitcase, depending on how much crowdy is the main street.
It is easy to find the address. All the city amenities are near at hand from there.
Frankly speaking, I was a little worried when I came to the hotel for the first time.
On the facade a green sticker announced that Gioia is recommended by Tripadvisor- Italy... Last year I spent a night in an overrated hotel, decorated with similar label, and since then I missed my belief in the signboards and ads...
I had to go upstairs (the reception is on the first floor): five stairs leftwards, then other five steps upwards... And suddenly I was welcome by a smiling gentleman.
When you face so much friendliness you immediately forget about tiredness. You just become a guest. The piccolo carried my beggage to the room... And my pleasant stay at hotel Gioia began.
The room was spacious, clean and quiet.
The air condition worked properly.
The bathroom was light and well- kept.
The breakfast was according to the Italians standards: sweets, excellent capuchino, fresh juices, cheese and ham.
The Duomo and other city's sights are very close.
The wi- fi Internet was enough speedy.
And something important- Gioia has a special atmosphere... The hotel is not glossy, but there you do not feel yourself like a client, getting what he pays for... On thet place you can be a real traveller, enjoying the bed and the good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found this hotel using Trip Advisor. The location looked perfect, in the middle of town, about 300 meters from the Duomo. The only thing that did not look good to us on the web was the grungy museum right next store. Thankfully that is no longer is in business. The rooms were larger then we expected. Perfectly clean. The bathroom was not large but not small either, comfortable enough for me and the wife. The room was immaculate, and it was kept that way. They cleaned every day, fresh towels and sheets. We were very happy with the choice. Breakfast was better then expected (after reading previous reviews). Fresh rolls and croissants, a selection of yougurts, fresh juice, and of course cappuccino. What's not to like. We never had a problem finding an empty table and a fresh supply of food. We were there in early September, after the summer crunch. The whole town was less crowded then in August, the temperature was cooler. Overall a good choice. The staff could not have been kinder. We parked our car at Parterre, 24/7 underground, protected public parking for 20 euro a day. It is about 1000-1200 meters away. Less the 200 meters from the hotel there is a little square used as a small central bus station. Lots of buses towards the parking if you do not want to walk back to the car. It was a very pleasant stay and location, location, location. Just perfect. Last year we stayed out of Florence and commuted back and forth each day. The GIOIA was actually cheaper then were we stayed out of town last time so why bother. It is so much nicer to be able to have a late dinner in Florence, walk around at night and then just stroll back to the hotel. I think you will have a hard time finding a place as nice as this with such good service at this price. Next time I am in Florence I will definately come back to the Hotel GIOIA. Enjoy.

Room Tip: There is no pool sorry that I inadvertently touched the button.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#61 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#217 of 463 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#194 of 463 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#208 of 463 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Hotel Jane
#189 of 463 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gioia

Address: C Cavour 25, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#153 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gioia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.