We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gioia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gioia to your Saves list
Hotel Gioia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C Cavour 25, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Italy and one of the hotels we stayed at in Florence was Hotel Gioia. Franco and Tiziano were delightful hosts and made our stay a joy. They are both very knowlegeable, sharing and great hosts. Whatever questions we had, they answered and helped make our stay memorable. Our room was small, but adequate, quiet and had a door opening to a balcony which in warm weather could be used for sitting. Breakfast was perfect, yogurt, rolls, fruit, coffee, croissants and more. Convenience... perfect...just a quick walk to the duomo and good shopping. Tiziano also recommended several local restaurants which we tried and found to be very good both for lunch and dinner. It is always delightful to find a clean, moderately priced hotel close to all the attractions with great people, especially in Florence, Italy and this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    123
    32
    14
    2
See reviews for
48
121
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Friendly help, clean, comfortable, basic rooms. For us the location was great, too. We could walk every where to see all the sites, just down the street from the Duomo. And upon leaving, we walked to the train station (with roller bags).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you want a quiet, safe and clean hotel then go to the hotel Gioia. It is friendly, it is in a good position and it provides a basic but good enough breakfast.

If you are looking for luxury then this is not for you. Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel Gioia is located not far away from the railway station- at about five- ten minutes dragging of the heavy suitcase, depending on how much crowdy is the main street.
It is easy to find the address. All the city amenities are near at hand from there.
Frankly speaking, I was a little worried when I came to the hotel for the first time.
On the facade a green sticker announced that Gioia is recommended by Tripadvisor- Italy... Last year I spent a night in an overrated hotel, decorated with similar label, and since then I missed my belief in the signboards and ads...
I had to go upstairs (the reception is on the first floor): five stairs leftwards, then other five steps upwards... And suddenly I was welcome by a smiling gentleman.
When you face so much friendliness you immediately forget about tiredness. You just become a guest. The piccolo carried my beggage to the room... And my pleasant stay at hotel Gioia began.
The room was spacious, clean and quiet.
The air condition worked properly.
The bathroom was light and well- kept.
The breakfast was according to the Italians standards: sweets, excellent capuchino, fresh juices, cheese and ham.
The Duomo and other city's sights are very close.
The wi- fi Internet was enough speedy.
And something important- Gioia has a special atmosphere... The hotel is not glossy, but there you do not feel yourself like a client, getting what he pays for... On thet place you can be a real traveller, enjoying the bed and the good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found this hotel using Trip Advisor. The location looked perfect, in the middle of town, about 300 meters from the Duomo. The only thing that did not look good to us on the web was the grungy museum right next store. Thankfully that is no longer is in business. The rooms were larger then we expected. Perfectly clean. The bathroom was not large but not small either, comfortable enough for me and the wife. The room was immaculate, and it was kept that way. They cleaned every day, fresh towels and sheets. We were very happy with the choice. Breakfast was better then expected (after reading previous reviews). Fresh rolls and croissants, a selection of yougurts, fresh juice, and of course cappuccino. What's not to like. We never had a problem finding an empty table and a fresh supply of food. We were there in early September, after the summer crunch. The whole town was less crowded then in August, the temperature was cooler. Overall a good choice. The staff could not have been kinder. We parked our car at Parterre, 24/7 underground, protected public parking for 20 euro a day. It is about 1000-1200 meters away. Less the 200 meters from the hotel there is a little square used as a small central bus station. Lots of buses towards the parking if you do not want to walk back to the car. It was a very pleasant stay and location, location, location. Just perfect. Last year we stayed out of Florence and commuted back and forth each day. The GIOIA was actually cheaper then were we stayed out of town last time so why bother. It is so much nicer to be able to have a late dinner in Florence, walk around at night and then just stroll back to the hotel. I think you will have a hard time finding a place as nice as this with such good service at this price. Next time I am in Florence I will definately come back to the Hotel GIOIA. Enjoy.

Room Tip: There is no pool sorry that I inadvertently touched the button.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Returned to this lovely hotel, having celebrated our honeymoon there twenty years ago - this time with our children. Were delighted to discover that the wonderful staff - Franco, Tiziano and Pasquale were still running this family friendly hotel. All of the staff members were extremely welcoming and helpful, and made are stay in Florence comfortable and rewarding. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, the breakfast is satisfying, and of course the hotel's main selling point is its proximity to all Florence's major attractions. The staff members speak good English, and are ever ready to help and provide any advice one may require. All in all, we felt as if we were returning home each day, and were well rewarded for the six nights we spent at hotel Gioia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We had the most delightful stay at this lovely , family friendly hotel. The staff wend out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Can't fault the facilities or service!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gioia

Address: C Cavour 25, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#127 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gioia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.