We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel In a Nice City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gioia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Gioia to your Saves list
Hotel Gioia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C Cavour 25, 50129, Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel In a Nice City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel Gioia is located not far away from the railway station- at about five- ten minutes dragging of the heavy suitcase, depending on how much crowdy is the main street.
It is easy to find the address. All the city amenities are near at hand from there.
Frankly speaking, I was a little worried when I came to the hotel for the first time.
On the facade a green sticker announced that Gioia is recommended by Tripadvisor- Italy... Last year I spent a night in an overrated hotel, decorated with similar label, and since then I missed my belief in the signboards and ads...
I had to go upstairs (the reception is on the first floor): five stairs leftwards, then other five steps upwards... And suddenly I was welcome by a smiling gentleman.
When you face so much friendliness you immediately forget about tiredness. You just become a guest. The piccolo carried my beggage to the room... And my pleasant stay at hotel Gioia began.
The room was spacious, clean and quiet.
The air condition worked properly.
The bathroom was light and well- kept.
The breakfast was according to the Italians standards: sweets, excellent capuchino, fresh juices, cheese and ham.
The Duomo and other city's sights are very close.
The wi- fi Internet was enough speedy.
And something important- Gioia has a special atmosphere... The hotel is not glossy, but there you do not feel yourself like a client, getting what he pays for... On thet place you can be a real traveller, enjoying the bed and the good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickSimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We found this hotel using Trip Advisor. The location looked perfect, in the middle of town, about 300 meters from the Duomo. The only thing that did not look good to us on the web was the grungy museum right next store. Thankfully that is no longer is in business. The rooms were larger then we expected. Perfectly clean. The bathroom was not large but not small either, comfortable enough for me and the wife. The room was immaculate, and it was kept that way. They cleaned every day, fresh towels and sheets. We were very happy with the choice. Breakfast was better then expected (after reading previous reviews). Fresh rolls and croissants, a selection of yougurts, fresh juice, and of course cappuccino. What's not to like. We never had a problem finding an empty table and a fresh supply of food. We were there in early September, after the summer crunch. The whole town was less crowded then in August, the temperature was cooler. Overall a good choice. The staff could not have been kinder. We parked our car at Parterre, 24/7 underground, protected public parking for 20 euro a day. It is about 1000-1200 meters away. Less the 200 meters from the hotel there is a little square used as a small central bus station. Lots of buses towards the parking if you do not want to walk back to the car. It was a very pleasant stay and location, location, location. Just perfect. Last year we stayed out of Florence and commuted back and forth each day. The GIOIA was actually cheaper then were we stayed out of town last time so why bother. It is so much nicer to be able to have a late dinner in Florence, walk around at night and then just stroll back to the hotel. I think you will have a hard time finding a place as nice as this with such good service at this price. Next time I am in Florence I will definately come back to the Hotel GIOIA. Enjoy.

Room Tip: There is no pool sorry that I inadvertently touched the button.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJGisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Returned to this lovely hotel, having celebrated our honeymoon there twenty years ago - this time with our children. Were delighted to discover that the wonderful staff - Franco, Tiziano and Pasquale were still running this family friendly hotel. All of the staff members were extremely welcoming and helpful, and made are stay in Florence comfortable and rewarding. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, the breakfast is satisfying, and of course the hotel's main selling point is its proximity to all Florence's major attractions. The staff members speak good English, and are ever ready to help and provide any advice one may require. All in all, we felt as if we were returning home each day, and were well rewarded for the six nights we spent at hotel Gioia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonRothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We had the most delightful stay at this lovely , family friendly hotel. The staff wend out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Can't fault the facilities or service!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Have stayed here twice (July 2011, July 2012) on business trips. Although my working location required a taxi ride, the hotel location is great for those visiting Florence for sightseeing and is a short walk from many of the historic Florence sigts. The hotel is not fancy, but it is functional and the staff is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MangoverdeCVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My family (myself, my husband, adult son and daughter) stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The staff - Franco, Tiziano and Pasquale were extremely helpful from helping with luggage to helping with organizing bus tour and assisting in getting cabs were a delight. The rooms were spacious and very clean. It is in a great location, close to everything. The hotel provided a nice breakfast. We would stay here again. Saluti da Pasqualina Gallo e famiglia.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma'ale Adummim, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Location is excellent. 5 minutes' walk from the cathedral square, and only 3 minutes from one of the most spectacular palaces (Medici Riccardi) in the city. 10-15 minutes from the Ponte Vecchio bridge. In short, the hotel is close to the action for most visitors to Firenze. We walked to the hotel from the railway station with our luggage in less than 15 minutes. And about 10 minutes from the synagogue and Jewish shops if you need.

The room was fine. Considering that the hotel is on a busy street, the noise insulation from the windows is great. The beds were comfortable, the room clean, bathroom and shower were clean and adequate.

A porter took our luggage to our room as a matter of routine - a nice touch.

The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. A smiling "Buongiorno" from them was the norm whenever we saw them. They helped us with our travel enquiries, printing out bus timetables for us. They assisted us with our special requirements for observing the Jewish Sabbath.

Breakfast is somewhat limited (which was okay for us as we were eating kosher only), but probably fine for most people. The coffee is probably worth an extra star in itself. It was superb.

Wi-fi was free, but a new code is required every day or so. The staff are very accommodating with this.

The hotel is small and has successfully created a friendly, homely atmosphere.

Apparently "gioia" is Italian for both "joy" and "jewel" and it would be difficult to find a more appropriate name for this hotel.

We would certainly stay here again and we highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple room, so we can't be sure if it is representative of most other rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BaruchBarryPinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#22 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#56 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#49 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#37 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#179 of 418 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gioia

Address: C Cavour 25, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#151 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gioia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing