We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gioia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gioia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gioia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C Cavour 25, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Returned to this lovely hotel, having celebrated our honeymoon there twenty years ago - this time with our children. Were delighted to discover that the wonderful staff - Franco, Tiziano and Pasquale were still running this family friendly hotel. All of the staff members were extremely welcoming and helpful, and made are stay in Florence comfortable and rewarding. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, the breakfast is satisfying, and of course the hotel's main selling point is its proximity to all Florence's major attractions. The staff members speak good English, and are ever ready to help and provide any advice one may require. All in all, we felt as if we were returning home each day, and were well rewarded for the six nights we spent at hotel Gioia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    114
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
46
111
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We had the most delightful stay at this lovely , family friendly hotel. The staff wend out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Can't fault the facilities or service!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Have stayed here twice (July 2011, July 2012) on business trips. Although my working location required a taxi ride, the hotel location is great for those visiting Florence for sightseeing and is a short walk from many of the historic Florence sigts. The hotel is not fancy, but it is functional and the staff is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My family (myself, my husband, adult son and daughter) stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The staff - Franco, Tiziano and Pasquale were extremely helpful from helping with luggage to helping with organizing bus tour and assisting in getting cabs were a delight. The rooms were spacious and very clean. It is in a great location, close to everything. The hotel provided a nice breakfast. We would stay here again. Saluti da Pasqualina Gallo e famiglia.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma'ale Adummim, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Location is excellent. 5 minutes' walk from the cathedral square, and only 3 minutes from one of the most spectacular palaces (Medici Riccardi) in the city. 10-15 minutes from the Ponte Vecchio bridge. In short, the hotel is close to the action for most visitors to Firenze. We walked to the hotel from the railway station with our luggage in less than 15 minutes. And about 10 minutes from the synagogue and Jewish shops if you need.

The room was fine. Considering that the hotel is on a busy street, the noise insulation from the windows is great. The beds were comfortable, the room clean, bathroom and shower were clean and adequate.

A porter took our luggage to our room as a matter of routine - a nice touch.

The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. A smiling "Buongiorno" from them was the norm whenever we saw them. They helped us with our travel enquiries, printing out bus timetables for us. They assisted us with our special requirements for observing the Jewish Sabbath.

Breakfast is somewhat limited (which was okay for us as we were eating kosher only), but probably fine for most people. The coffee is probably worth an extra star in itself. It was superb.

Wi-fi was free, but a new code is required every day or so. The staff are very accommodating with this.

The hotel is small and has successfully created a friendly, homely atmosphere.

Apparently "gioia" is Italian for both "joy" and "jewel" and it would be difficult to find a more appropriate name for this hotel.

We would certainly stay here again and we highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple room, so we can't be sure if it is representative of most other rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were moved to this hotel from another just down the street when there was a housekeeping problem. Staff was very welcoming and friendly, room was comfortable and quiet. A short walk to all main attractions, shops and restaurants. Small bar that's always open and a good basic breakfast with yogurt, breads, juice, coffees, etc.

Room Tip: We were in the back, which was very quiet. Don't leave windows open like we did though as the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights end of March. The location is excellent, by stepping out of the hotel you can practically see the Duomo's entrance. Train station and most of other monuments are 5-10 minutes walking.
The hotel is simple but friendly. At the reception you get maps, adapters and always with a smile on the staff's face.
Our two rooms were far larger than expected. It seemed to be clean, heating was working although end of March. Wifi is also available and working well. Do not expect a fancy room but you will anyway not spend your time in the hotel room in such a beautiful city.
Breakfast is rather simple but at least you get a stong italian coffee. It is just enough to start the day and you will not resist the paninis and ice creams you see everywhere on the street so no stress.

Room Tip: We had rooms 62 and 64. You have to follow a labyrinth to get there but 64 is very spacious. Both ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gioia

Address: C Cavour 25, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#114 Family Hotel in Florence
#128 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gioia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gioia Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.