We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel David” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hotel David”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed in the David during our stay in Florence, during which we were married in the city. Not only did the David give us a great romantic room for our stay but they were so accommodating and generous with their hospitality. They allowed for our family to come back to the hotel after the ceremony and spend time in the delightful garden where they did everything to make us all very welcome. They gave us a complimentary bottle of Champagne and we had an enormous bouquet of flowers waiting for us in our room on our return. Michele helped my husband find a florest for a new button hole and then helped his brother get his car going after it broke down in the car park. Then I lost a ring in the plumbing and they went to enormous trouble to get it back. The staff were wonderful, friendly and welcoming and the hotel itself was a delight. We will be back for our anniversaries. Words cannot describe what a great place this is! Thanks again to Michele, Gabriele and the rest of the staff at The David.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, September 5, 2009
Dear Guest,

How could we never forget you!! We do have many couples who spend part of their honeymoon with us in Firenze but we have only a few couples who decide to get married in Firenze and they were so far the best!! A little problem with a ring in the plunbing but our 74 years old plumber solved it right away!!
See you in one of your next anniversary!!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,742
    216
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
395
1,147
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel David for 4 nights and had a great time. The hotel lived up to all its positive reviews. We had a large family room with a large bed and two twin beds, and a very nice bathroom. The room was clean and tidy, and kept that way throughout our stay. The included breakfast was always a pleasure, as was the evening wine and snacks on the terrace. The hotel is a few long blocks from the historic core of Florence, but the walk is easy. There are many restaurants within a reasonable distance, and a great place for gelatto next door. The best part however was the service. The owners go out of their way to help you out with any needs, phone calls, reservations, tickets and are simply great! Truely a nice place to stay with your family in Florence. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
Dear Guest,

I'm glad you had good time with us and you appreciate our efforts to make you feel at home!
I hope to see you back any time you decide to come to see our Florence.

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Quick simply, excellent: space to park the car (if a trifle hairy to reverse back out again the next morning); wonderfully attentive reception staff; fantastic value for our stay in a family room; the free mini-bar; even a mosquito plug was provided. Marvellous.

The breakfast -- often not a strongpoint in Italy, but then again why should it be when other mealtimes are so fantastic? -- was also excellent.

Finally, the location: I fail to understand the criticisms made, because it's either an attractive, leisurely 20-minute stroll up the Arno to the Ponte Vecchio, or you can simply hop on one of the frequent buses which'll take you there in a matter of minutes.

Quibbles? Seeing as this is TripAdvisor, I suppose I could mention the somewhat noisy pipe sounds from the shower room next to us. Did it detract from our stay in any way? Hell, no.

Based on our experience, Hotel David is an absolute gem. All four of us can't wait to go back, both to visit more of Florence and return to Hotel David. Grazie mille!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Dear Guest,

You make me cry!! All the Staff and myself are so involved in what we do that when somedoby gets the meaning of our job we all feel so good!! despite the quibbles that with no doubt are part of the house!!

Thank you to all of you!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in a quad room. The extra touches were great such as happy hour and a free 10 minute Skype phonecall per day. Our room was very nice but the beds were somewhat hard for our taste. The bathroom was good.
There is a washing machine and tumble drier for guests use. The washer was a real boon but the tumble drier took hours and I would suggest putting your clothes on the racks on the balcony to dry!
Great bus access to the centre of Florence and such helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Dear Guest,

I'm so glad you took advantage of our freebies and I'm happy you considered our self laundry room a boon even if to be honest our tomble drier is not a professional one and in summer time we prefer to dry the clothes outside in the terrace on the racks!
See you next time you decide to come to see our Firenze!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed here at the beginging of our vacation before touring further regions of Tuscany. The hotel is superb and ALL the staff are most helpfull. Everything good written about this hotel is so true. We had 2 very young children with us who are rather lively but they were made to feel most welcome. In fact it was so good we changed our arrangements at the end of holiday and returned for a two further days. That in itself should tell you everything. Will return asap

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Dear Guest,

Traveling with all the family is hard but it's great fun also for us!! Thank you so much for your appreciation and see you next time with your family of course!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed here for five nights on our honeymoon. From start to finish the staf was wonderful: helpful, couteous, friendly....and they consistently went above and beyond what other hotel staff does to make us at home. Breakfast was wonderful a great assortment of hot and cold foods as well as baking. Happy hour was nice down time and the wine and food were always plentiful.
I think the fact that it was a bit out of town allowed us to discover some gems in the way of restaurants and we weren't subjected to the tourist focused ones.
This is a fantastic hotel with a fantastic staff and we would HIGHLY recommend them. I wish they were a chain so that we could stay with them whenever and wherever we travel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
Dear Guest,

Honeymoon! what a wonderful moment in our life!! Anyone want to have good memories of this special trip to talk about!! We have many couples coming here and we just help them to make their trip special and for the end of this season and for the 2010 we have good news for you!!
Thank you for your words of appreciation and we will be here for your anniversary!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge NI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Have just returned from Italy and were so fortunate to end our trip with a stay in this wonderful hotel in Florence! Had read the reviews on Tripadvisor and have relied on the recommendations on many trips to many different places but Hotel David surpassed our expectations and I can honestly say that this hotel is the most pleasant place we have ever stayed. From the moment we arrrived, a member of staff came out to meet us and arranged our car parking and she had even guessed who we were before we gave our name. From that time on, all requests and arrangements were courteously and pleasantly dealt with and no receptionist ever had to ask us our room number. Our room, which was excellent value for a family with two teenage boys, was beautiful and so spacious. Others have mentioned all the little free touches whcih were lovely. The location was perfect and the buses were a perfect way of going right into the heart of the city if you didn't want to walk and an even better way of travelling back after exploring. It was fantastic to be able to come back to this little oasis after very hot days in the city and feel as though you were coming to someone's home as valued guests. We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary during our stay and on the day of our anniversary, came back to find a lovely tray with a bottle of bubbly, a little card and a flower in our room - we were so touched by such a thoughtful surprise!
Can't recommend Hotel David highly enough and look forward to going back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
Dear Guest,

I remember you! Thank you again for your post, I'm happy you all had good time and 20 years wedding anniversary it is an important date to remember with a trip in a very special place!!

My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.