We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Florence Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Florence Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently travelled to Florence and stayed at the Hotel David. The staff was very friendly and helpful, providing us with restaurant recommendations, laundry options, and answers to the usual tourist questions. The hotel has a wonderful breakfast and a happy hour that has a good selection of appetizers. Our room was much bigger than we needed, with a large patio looking into Florence. I recommend this hotel and will stay there again when we go back to Florence.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for coming to stay with us I see that you had good time here and you enjoyed our happy hour time!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,742
    216
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
395
1,147
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Wonderful hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful we would like to mention Vittoria & Chiara they were both so kind, answered all our questions really went out of their way to help with anything we needed. We had room 30 with a beautiful patio and being on the other side of Florence the view was spectacular at night. It is a little outside of Florence but there is a bus stop outside the hotel Bus D would take you into downtown Florence. We enjoyed having a quiet hotel to go back to after a busy day. They also have a happy hour from 6-8 pm every evening with free wine, beer & snacks which gave us a chance to meet some a wonderful people. There is a great little Irish pub "James Joyce" located nearby which offers a free buffet every evening around 7pm the staff are all friendly and the music is good as well.

Room Tip: Room #30 beautiful room with a large patio and great view of Florence!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guerst,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm so happy you met Chiara and Vittoria I believe they are now our best welcome smile that the David!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

First, bear in mind the location. Not excellent. Though it is off the main roadway, which is terrific. It is close to a bus stop. Also terrific. But food, restaurant choices are nearly non-existent for them. There is a gelato place very close. :-)
Aside from that, it is wonderful. So well done. Our room had the modern conveniences and still old charm. Well decorated. Terrific shower. Excellent size. Nice (small) balcony thru the lovely French doors.
Desk people very friendly and helpful.
Several unusual bonuses. They put some snacks in the fridge that you are expected to consume. No charge. I would have been glad with just some water (no gas) and chips. But there was soda too. Also, you are allowed to use their phone for 15 minutes per evening. You can call the United States or anywhere else. It was lovely to be able to surprise our family with a quick hello.
Every evening, Happy Hour. Fantastic. Being American and dinner is at 5 at our house, we were starving every evening. Their happy hour fare saved us. Fabulous choices and such a nice way to pass some time meeting and visiting with other guests. I wish more hotels would do this. It was really fabulous.
And a great breakfast layout every morning. Excellent start for the day.
Over all, we highly recommend this hotel. Great value for your money.

Room Tip: We did not request anything in particular, so I cant say one area of the place is better than anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,

Da anni questo piccolo hotel lotta per la sua sopravvivenza senza mai voltarsi indietro e sempre come se fosse l'ultimo giorno della sua vita,,,,proprio in questo periodo di grande sofferenze per tutti aver mantenuto i valori dell'umiltà e della sincerità ci danno la tranquillità interiore per poter sorridere e cercare di fare al meglio in nostro lavoro!
Un sentito grazie da tutti i ragazzi e ragazze del David!
Saluti,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were happy with our stay at this classic quirky hotel.
It feels very homely. Like you're staying at a family house.
We had room 22 with a lovely terrace.
Good to be on the other side of Florence too to see it. You can use a local bus to get into Florence. Bus D. Bus stop outside hotel. 10 mins on bumpy bus it a 25 minute long walk!
If you like classic hotels this is the one for you.
We would reccomed staying here. Lots of nice personal touches too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review I'm so happy you had good time with us here at the David and see you next time you decide to visit Florence again.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Fantastic hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. They really go out of their way to help you with anything you need. Its a little bit outside of Florence itself, but its an easy, scenic walk to the city centre. Some nice perks including a happy hour with free wine and nibbles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation and i'm very happy you liked out location too!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We arrived from PTL aeroporto in our Avis Fiat 500 rental car during rush hour quite frazzled and were greeted by Vittoria on evening shift. She was the same young lady who had answered our email reservation request early in March. She signed us in and opened the gate so we could get our car into secure parking for hotel guests.

We stayed here 3 days and have one more night to stay before we catch our flight home next week.

We were in time for the Happy Hour food and wine layout in the bar area so being jet lagged out from long trip Dulles and Munich we just enjoyed the many choices of light finger food and wine and turned in for the night. Oh, the two wine (vino) choices the evenings we attended happy hour were Vallefiore Vito Bianco (white) and Rosso (red). Both were very good. I had a beer one night but forgot to write down the name. If you chose to have something to drink other than the house wine or beer choices you are expected to fill out a charge chit to your room. It is a honor system set up.

We were assigned Rm 1 right off the lobby. there are 34 rooms on 3 floors and each has private bath. I will try to post some of our pictures of hotel.

Gabriele is the owner/manager now but was on vacation during our stay, His assistant was Micael and he was very helpful as were all the hotel staff.

Ilaria was the first person we met at breakfast and failrly new to the staff. She was making fresh caffe Americano for us and had a beautiful breakfast bar arranged for the guests on the 1st floor (2nd floor US). All of the young ladies working the breakfast area were very nice.

Chiara is on day shift and she shares the front desk duties with Micael. Not sure when Micael ever goes off duty as he was there most of the time. They were also training a new lady named Silvia. I think she will be another gem on the staff.

It you read the hotel history and their story on Hotel David website you will see Gabriele's grandfather gave his grandmother Tina an elevator which is still in use today and that the hotel is very much like a home away from home. There are two iMacs in lobby for the guests to use an WiFi in each room. I used both during our stay.

We left our car in lot and rode bus 23 to Piazza San Marco as it is very close to the Acadimie (statue of David). We did our sightseeing and walking south from there. And we rode bus D back from south side of Arno river after crossing river on Ponte Veccicho (Old Bridge).

Get your bus tickets and tour tickets from the Hotel. Make reservations to see David there, too.

This hotel is very nice place to transition slowly into Italian culture.

Room Tip: Even though we liked room 1 it faced street lights so not very dark at night. It would have been nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm impressed.... this is a real description of our situation now and I'm sure this staff has the possibility to aschieve and goal and always with the consciousness not to be able to please anyone!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Delightful, everything one could ask for in a small, tasteful hotel. Very helpful staff; great breakfasts; free mini-bar restocked daily; free wi-fi available; happy hour with snacks, dips, red and white wine, beer, soft drinks amazingly also free of charge. Really comfortable rooms with en-suite shower room, and plenty of drawer space and hanging space for clothes (something often lacking in more modern hotels). The personal touch at the hotel was great, and my wife and I loved our stay. We were given a bottle of sparkling wine because we were celebrating our birthdays and 25 years since we met. We are looking forward to returning to the hotel and seeing more of Florence - we left plenty to see for another visit. Thank you, Hotel David.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for coming to stay with us for a so special event and I happy you were not disappointed! Nice to see you took advantage of our free services and you liked our hospitality!
Any plans for your next destination for your future special event?
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.