We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Save Saved
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 461 hotels in Florence
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Made two nights and had a very pleasant stay. First of all, the room with high ceiling was felt spacious, and separated bathroom was functional. In the room, there is a mini bar, and first filling was free of charge. Good Breakfast, and in the evening there is a lounge with minimal fee for drinks (snacks can be taken). From the Santa Maria N. (SMN) station, it is suggested to take line D, and the hotel is located at the end of the line so there is little chance to miss the place. For the tourist the place was a bit far from the Centre (Duomo, Bridge etc.) but frequently operating bus 23 can take you to those areas easily. All in all, the hotel maintains the good quality as exemplified in numbers of review made thus far.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm happy you had good time with us and you enjoyed our hospitality and thank you for the tips about the busses!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,565
    210
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
371
1018
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I agree with all the other positive reviews. The hotel was comfortable, the staff was great, the dinner recommendations were very good, and the location was very convenient. The only (minor) downside was the mosquitos in our room when we arrived. The staff gave us some plug-in mosquito repellent that worked well. Our advice when in Florence is to not only see David-the statue-but stay at the David!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really thank you for your time to write this review and thank you for the alert to all future Guests in town where there is a river usually there are mosquitos....we provide a repellent but we apologize for not being cannot move the river away to avoid the mosquitos!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Staying at the Hotel David was one of our most pleasant experiences from a multitude of accommodations we have booked over the years. Access to snacks,wine, coffee, comfortable seating areas and the nightly wine and cheese gatherings all helped to create a truly memorable experience. The staff are professional, polite,available to answer questions and assist whenever needed. It was a great way to end our holiday and we will definitely be back in the near future
Quite frankly I cannot think of anything. A real gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Nice to see that you had good time with us and you enjoyed our way to welcome our Guests and as you know our reception is open 24 hours to assist in every need you might have!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor & were not disappointed. Everything was every bit as good as previous reviewers had described. The staff were so cheerful & helpful with their excellent command of English. They put us Brits to shame! We loved the breakfasts & the evening Happy Hour with snacks & wine, but my husband really appreciated the bottles of beer for 1.50 euros - so much cheaper than anywhere else. Our room was large, bright & airy, with a lovely tiled bathroom containing a huge shower, which always provided constant hot water - no variation of temperature. The toliletries were lovely & of generous size. We liked the availability of several English language TV channels on the large flat screen set. Buses stop close to the hotel & the services are frequent. The staff sell tickets (which have to be validated in the machines on the buses) & are happy to advise which bus to take. Since we only saw a small fraction of the delights of Florence, we'd love to return & would certainly want to stay at the Hotel David - that is, if we could get a booking, for this hotel is very popular!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm very happy you enjoyed our way to welcome you and our Staff is always at your disposal for helping you to every need and our honor corner bar has reasonable rates to make you feel at home!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked in for 4 nights following the good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. All of the staff were helpful and nothing was a problem for them. The accomodation was very clean, and decor was to a very high standard - clearly money has been spent on this property. Staff were very helpful in giving advice on various places to eat and we sampled a range - the map they provide have eateries marked on it.
In terms of location, it is a 15 minute stroll from Ponte Vecchio (have I spelt that right?) which suited us. If you want to get the bus into the centre, the number 23 stops just around the corner and seems to run very often. The hotel can provide bus tickets. If you get a 24 hour ticket for 5 Euro, you could try what we did ie Used it to get the 23 into town for dinner, then in the morning, got the 23 to the terminus to catch the number 7 to Fiesole. Then the same evening, half an hour earlier than the previous night, we used the ticket to go into town again.

Room Tip: We had one of the basic rooms and that was perfectly adequate for our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review it's very important for us to have feed backs also for our Basic Small Double rooms and i'm happy to see that it more than adequate.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I chose this hotel just directing opinions on this website. It was a great choice - not without reason the hotel is so well rated. From the station to the hotel we got a taxi for 11 euros. We chose a room with a balcony. It was a great thing to sit at night on the balcony with a glass of wine. Especially if it is to be a romantic trip with boyfriend :) The hotel was very clean, the bathrooms large. Rooms decorated in great style. I regret that we spent so only six days.

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us for a 6 days holiday it's the good time to start to understand our culture and habits so...bravo!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent half of our 10-night vacation here after reading the reviews and amenities about this property, which are completely understated on the web site. From the very beginning, we were helped in with our luggage after a long trip and welcomed with a list of amenities offered--very unexpected things like oversized MAC computers with fast connections in the lounge area, an extensive honor bar with homemade pastries, and perfectly chilled beverages all at a nominal price--probably a price lower than you'd pay in a wine shop. They have a washing machine for guest use and they offer guests an up to 10-minute call from their lobby phone to virtually anywhere in the world per each day of their stay. These are the really different perks.

What is hard to describe is the wonderful understated, but fun way this hotel and staff operate. They seem to spoof on themselves with Simpson like caricatures but at every turn they are helpful. They sell bus passes of various sorts and know how to describe the connections to make. Because of this, we had a wonderful dinner one evening in Fiesole without having to navigate with our car. The hotel is also out of the way enough so that there are dining options very nearby that seem less geared toward tourists than others immediately close to the sights.

Our room was well appointed and the bed was made perfectly every day. The bathroom was immaculate and everything worked well. The mini bar had a number of drinks that we could enjoy during our stay and we were initially welcomed with a special pastry.

The breakfast is absolutely wonderful. Lots of fruits, yogurts, cereals, eggs, breakfast breads and pastries but best of all a sort of rustic breakfast pie with ham and cheese or olives and tomatoes that I looked forward to each morning. Only when I was a young girl do I remember having anything like that and it was something my great-grandmother made at Easter time.

There are so many additional raves I could say about this property. I hope they don't change anything--including their blend of colorful fun and sometimes even modern art displays among architecture that is hundreds of years old. I hope to return to Florence and would never consider another property.

Florence and particularly staying at the Hotel David made the rest of our experiences in Italy pale in comparison. I'm glad it was part of the 2nd half of our trip.

Room Tip: Book early enough so that you get a room. We were in the most modest room and it was beyond perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Long stay feedback is good to have to see if you are consistent and I believe we passed the test!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.