We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I along with our six year old stayed at Hotel David from June 1st through June 5th. From the first day to the day we left, we were very impressed by the service and staff members.
The one person that comes to mind when we think about excellent Hospitality (from the staff) is, "Christina!" She was simply amazing, very courteous, gracious and extremely hospitable. It was a pleasure indeed dealing with her during our stay at the hotel. The other staff member we can think of is, Merko (I hope I have spelt his name correctly), he was at breakfast service and was very service oriented and pleasant at all times. Kudos to these two employees! Keep up the good work!
And of course- the hotel as a product, and service over all, including the housekeeping staff were all outstanding!
We absolutely loved Hotel David! Thanks!!

Warm regards,
Sai P.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Nice to see that aso my new members of the Staff are walking in the right direction!
I thank you to encourage them and I'm happy for them that they understood that if you enjoy coming to work you spread this happiness to everyone you come across with...bravo!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,012
    237
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
463
1,326
55
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our 3 nights at Hotel David were great. We enjoyed the fact that it was a 20 minute walk into the main centre of Florence. There were plenty of great local restaurants, bars and cafes nearby if we didn't want to walk. The evening aperiitivo in the garden gave us the opportunity to talk with other travellers about their experiences. We also enjoyed seeing the local ballet company at the theatre and a chamber orchestra play in a museum. Breakfasts were very good, a nice array of options and fresh fruit was a plus. It was quiet at night - we were on the top floor at the back. Mosquitoes were a problem the first night but they put an electric repeller in for us and that solved the problem. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great. And the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us we we are located very close to the river at the beginning of the boulevard that goes to Piazzale Michelangelo where you overview all the town!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The loveliest staff, they give you a free 10 minute phone call each day to anywhere in the world, free wifi, everything purchased on a trust system, alcohol, coffees, teas cakes and snacks, greeted with a beautiful cake in our room, bathrooms huge and quaintly modern and happy our for two hours in the front garden where the food doesn't stop coming out, free red/white wine or juice, unheard of! Breakfast just lovely, Italians are a generous people and I can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Maybe one with a balcony? We didn't get one but my friend did, but they're all beautiful roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your post on this traveller website I'm happy to see that you had good time and enjoyed our hospitality and I'm sure next time in Florence with be at Hotel David.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There are so many extras that Hotel David offer that it would be hard to name them all.
Position is great with a bus just 100 metres away direct to centre of Florence.
Staff are very friendly and helpful even walking us to the bus stop the first time. Secure parking, and yes the free mini-bar unheard of. Room was large and we had the best shower in the whole Italian trip of a month.
They also offer a phone call home every day of your stay! In our case this was to Australia.
They also had a laundry for clients to use and pay on a honour system.
I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: the tip I would offer is to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy to see you had good time here at the David our services are made to welcome you and the honour system is the only one you will find at the David!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We picked this hotel because of its consistent write ups on Tripadviser (this is not an advert!). We were thoroughly spoilt. An individual and heartfelt welcome from the staff telling us about what to expect....1. Free minibar until the fridge is empty...then you pay for anything after that. 2. Free wine and snacks at happy hour, 6.30 - 8pm. A great way to get to know the other guests. 3. One free 10 minute phone call to virtually anywhere in the world. 4. Free WiFi or if you do not have a computer/mobile/ ipad etc then free use of their latest Apple Macs in the lounge. We felt like real guests and not just visitors. The place felt like a home from home. The staff were happy and helpful...nothing was too much trouble. Possibly the best private hotel we've ever stayed at. I hope they can keep this up for the future because we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 30 and 31 are at he top of the building but have views of he Duomo and a very large balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Yes we like informal welcome with a smile with lots of services included in a reasonable rate!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Having recently returned from our second visit to this most welcoming venue we have nothing but praise for the care and attention we received during our stay. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are nothing but helpfull. We have already committed to another stay in 2014

Room Tip: Worth having a balcony to enjoy the wonderful climate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you your post, nice to see that you are back safe at home....see you then next year!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our self arranged Tuscan tour. I chose the hotel after looking at reviews. Hotel David was certainly an excellent choice. Rooms beautiful and clean. Staff extremely helpful and welcoming. We enjoyed Happy Hour which to our amazement had no extra charge. Also a free full minibar which I have never experienced before.
Enjoyed Florence which is a beautiful city. Hotel David a 15 minute level walk along the river. Would highly recommend HD it deserves its ranking. 10 mins walk to piazzale Michelangelo to see the sunset over Florence is an enjoyable sight to see and down the hill afterwards for Lemoncello. Also had very good food and service at the Circus restaurant in Piazzale Signoria

Room Tip: If you like to sleep late avoid room 19 next to breakfast room which is quite noisy from 7.30 It did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good to see that here Guests are relaxed and enjoy our way of welcoming...and a lot more!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#15 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,814 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#5 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#9 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,972 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.