We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 461 Hotels in Florence
San Diego
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel David just gives you that warm, fuzzy feel you expect from a B&B. Their staff are amazing, polite and give you great advice on touring beautiful Florence. I have never had a speedier Wifi in a hotel and they also throw in free use of all contents in the Mini Bar. The evening snacks and wine in the courtyard just gives the feel of home.

The bus stops right outside the hotel for a quick ride to Ponte Vecchio. Its not a long walk either - 15 minutes by the river.

Highly recommended for families with toddlers as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us and I'm happy you took advantage of the free service we provide to all our Guests....
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,742
    216
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
395
1,147
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Travelling with my 78 year old mother and our 2 year old around the Italian must do cities was never going to be easy - Hotel David quickly gained full approvals by all parties and raised our morale.

The location is convenient for the bus into town and there are plenty of small stores and little cafes and bars nearby. The buses were being diverted whilst we were there but the street signs are easily read so getting off at the right place will be a simple task.

It is a pleasant and smart neighbourhood. We could see the Duomo from my mothers room. Little touches like the free minibar on your first day, free Nespresso whenever you fancy one and a nip of brandy being on the house plus the impeccable friendly service makes this hotel one to experience. Free parking too but I would advise you to check with them by email first in high season.

The fresh cakes and flans at breakfast were worth getting up early for.

We have stayed in hotels around the world for extended periods on business and we travel extensively for pleasure . Hotel David is one of the best.

Room Tip: Just book and you will get a good room. You can email beforehand and rest assured, you will get a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Nice to heat from you I'm happy you had good time here at the David I understand that traveling with full family is never easy and because of that we tried to give you top assistance and as I see we succeeded.
Say hello to Emily for our party!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We've done flash hotels in Hong Kong, motels in USA, pubs in UK and eco-resorts in Australia but this hotel has just about the best combination I've ever stayed at. Maybe we were lucky with the room allocation (huge, new bathroom) but fabulous place with unbelievably good service. 15 min walk to the Duomo but bikes available and cycle tracks right into town. Thanks to everyone at the Hotel for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 30 or 31 have a patio with view to the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to see us and I'm happy to be your number 1 and see you next time you decide to come to Florence then!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We are just preparing to depart and will echo all the high praise bestowed on this hotel. The walk to city center is easy for those who walk. The breakfast is excellent and we have enjoyed the best cappuccinos of our trip. Taking the bus to the rail station is a winding journey but if you are not in a rush, no problem. Hotel staff was outstanding in every way and the hotel makes you feel most comfortable. The evening cocktail hour was a sweet touch not just because you got to enjoy a little wine but because you got to meet other travelers and share stories and ideas. When we come back to florence, this is where we will stay. Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation, and a big thank you comes from Raffaele (cappuccino men) who is receiving his first note of appreciation after 3 weeks training with senior Maria at breakfast!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Just leaving hotel David now after a lovely 3 day stay. It's a beautiful hotel with lots of nice personal touches and great attention to detail. Other reviewers have already described the happy hour, honesty bar, laundry, and the general atmosphere at the hotel which is warm and inviting without ever being intrusive, and we would echo all the praise. It's a world removed from the anonymous 4 and 5 star chains with their characterless rooms and "free slippers" and we will definitely return here in the future. The complimentary champagne and cake on arrival was a beautiful surprise on our honeymoon tour of Italy. Oh, and Florence is fab too!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review I welcomed you at your arrival and I'm so happy you had good time during your honeymoon in Florence.
Yes our David has only 3 stars and free sleepers only under request.........
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel David is deserving of the number one hotel in Florence. It has a fantastic atmosphere, great sized rooms, excellent staff and the happy hour is a great way to start the night with free drinks and snacks. Only concern for us, although not a big one, was the location. It is a good 20 minute walk into Florence and if you have been travelling around a lot you may not feel like the walk (the bus is an easy option too however). Perfect location if you are planning day trips to Tuscany and Cinque Terre as there is parking at the hotel and most tour companies can offer pickups from Hotel David. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for staying with us we are happy you had good vibes and I remind all our future Guests that we are not exactly downtown but 20 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio or 4 minutes by D line bus.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel David for 2 nights in April and wish it could have been longer. There is just nothing wrong with this hotel - no wonder it is the top rated hotel on TripAdvisor for Florence. The room was spacious with plenty of room for our luggage. The bathroom had room to move around in and the shower was great. Welcoming staff, good breakfast, good happy hour, many personal touches. They have a laundry downstairs for a cost. We really enjoyed staying here and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very happy that so many Guests are trusting us and for sure a good reputation helps but don't forget that it's you that are making this place special!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.