We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Often I don't agree with Trip Advisor but you can truly believe the hype - we absolutely loved our stay at the Hotel David.

We had room 31 for 5 nights and it was amazing: lovely feature bed, our own sitting room and a beautiful terrace with great views and a large spotlessly clean bathroom with a great walk in shower.

I had pre ordered sparkling wine and strawberries as it was a 50th celebration and they were ready in our room (despite us being a little early) and beautifully presented plus they had added a cake which was a welcome surprise.

The hotel is a 20 minute walk into Florence but I definitely agree with those that think this is a bonus - there are lots of options if you don't want to walk (taxi rank and bus stops outside - even the hop on hop off site seeing bus stops close by) and having a day in Florence and then coming back and chilling out on the terrace before the fabulous happy hour - bliss. We met some lovely people and it was great to chat and share recommendations over a glass (or two) of wine and nibbles. There are some great restaurants nearby and reception are happy to make recommendations – we also loved strolling into Florence along the river.

The breakfast room is sunny and spotless – eggs and bacon, rolls, pastries, fruit, yogurts, cheese, ham and coffee either self service or made to order (always with a smile).
Finally, we really must highly praise all the staff. They couldn't have been more helpful and everyone always had a smile on their face - they could teach the five star hotels a thing or two about customer service. They always knew which key to give us without having to ask and they made us feel really special. Fantastic.

Along with the staff it is the little touches that make all the difference – happy hour, complimentary stocked minibar, computers and a free call each day. We would recommend this place in a second and have already done so to friends and family. We definitely intend to come back. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 31 was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for coming to stay with us and I'm honored to read so many good words of appriciation we will always do our best to keep hotel David like this!
My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,876
    233
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
429
1,235
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is truely a special find. It is clean, comfortable and beautiful. I was pleasantly surpised at the simple uniqueness of this hotel, it exceeded expectations for the price. The staff are polite, happy, and accomadating. The location is away from the heart of the city but not so much as to make travel there inconvient. In fact, I liked that it was a bit removed from the city center. It is a welcome respite. I hope that this hotel does not lose its character because I would very much like to visit there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for this post and for coming to stay with us! I'm happy you had good time here with us and you appreciated all our efforts to make you feel at home!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is to endorse all of the positive comments that have been made about this great hotel.

My wife and I spent 4 nights there and loved it. Everyone was so helpful from the moment we arrived until the moment we departed.

Get a 'Florence Card' for admission into the major museums and galleries plus free use of the public transport. From the hotel we took the bus into the centre for dinner and walked back along the river afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy you decided to use the Florence Card it's a good choice to have unlimited access to main museums.....well done!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here 15th - 18th March, this hotel deserves all the acclaim it has received.
All the staff are genuinely happy, and very helpful, recommending local restaurants and helping with museum bookings.
Our room was great, comfortable bed, huge bathroom and a wonderful shower!
The location is just up river from the city centre, near enough, but far enough away at the same time. Bus Route D right outside, great for access to the train station.
Going into town, rather than walk along the river and main road, do yourself a favour and walk along the parallel back streets, where there are some fab Trattorias, interesting shops and businesses, and a chance to see a bit more of the real city.
Overall, a wonderful little hotel that I really hope keeps its identity and fantastic attitude to its guests.
Well done Gabriele!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation I'm really impressed that your good feelings here at the David and I assure you we will keep this hotel like you found it or better!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This boutique hotel provides everything a visitor to this fabulous city could want. Comfortable rooms, great service and a convenient location combine to make an enjoyable stay. The location, about 1.5km from the city centre, is an easy and interesting walk. Alternately the city bus stop is almost at the door. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for trusting us we are happy to see that you had good time with us and we will definitely
be happy to welcome you as a repeter!
My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We re-visited Hotel David at the end of January with friends and once again what a treat!! An extra special one being we stayed in one of the new rooms which we loved, with our own terrace overlooking Florence it was just fantastic!! Gabriele and all the staff are so helpful, nothing is a problem to them from recommending & booking restaurants to transport advice etc... We enjoyed our days in Florence and the other places we visited whilst there and look forward to our next trip back to our favourite place!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Re-peters,

NIce to hear from you! I'm glad you enjoyed the new rooms we made last year and we wanted you to try them as the last time you were here it was the last day before the renovation......
See you next time!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has all the benefits of a great b & b (unbelievable service and many personal touches) . The outlook from the room is great. A little walk into town but the hotel is near some great authentic restaurants which have oodles of character. An oasis from busy city streets.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Exactly what we are a small hotel focussed to details and very customer oriented!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.