We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and splendor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Novi, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfort and splendor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is truely a special find. It is clean, comfortable and beautiful. I was pleasantly surpised at the simple uniqueness of this hotel, it exceeded expectations for the price. The staff are polite, happy, and accomadating. The location is away from the heart of the city but not so much as to make travel there inconvient. In fact, I liked that it was a bit removed from the city center. It is a welcome respite. I hope that this hotel does not lose its character because I would very much like to visit there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for this post and for coming to stay with us! I'm happy you had good time here with us and you appreciated all our efforts to make you feel at home!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,009
    237
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
462
1,324
55
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is to endorse all of the positive comments that have been made about this great hotel.

My wife and I spent 4 nights there and loved it. Everyone was so helpful from the moment we arrived until the moment we departed.

Get a 'Florence Card' for admission into the major museums and galleries plus free use of the public transport. From the hotel we took the bus into the centre for dinner and walked back along the river afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy you decided to use the Florence Card it's a good choice to have unlimited access to main museums.....well done!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here 15th - 18th March, this hotel deserves all the acclaim it has received.
All the staff are genuinely happy, and very helpful, recommending local restaurants and helping with museum bookings.
Our room was great, comfortable bed, huge bathroom and a wonderful shower!
The location is just up river from the city centre, near enough, but far enough away at the same time. Bus Route D right outside, great for access to the train station.
Going into town, rather than walk along the river and main road, do yourself a favour and walk along the parallel back streets, where there are some fab Trattorias, interesting shops and businesses, and a chance to see a bit more of the real city.
Overall, a wonderful little hotel that I really hope keeps its identity and fantastic attitude to its guests.
Well done Gabriele!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation I'm really impressed that your good feelings here at the David and I assure you we will keep this hotel like you found it or better!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This boutique hotel provides everything a visitor to this fabulous city could want. Comfortable rooms, great service and a convenient location combine to make an enjoyable stay. The location, about 1.5km from the city centre, is an easy and interesting walk. Alternately the city bus stop is almost at the door. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for trusting us we are happy to see that you had good time with us and we will definitely
be happy to welcome you as a repeter!
My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We re-visited Hotel David at the end of January with friends and once again what a treat!! An extra special one being we stayed in one of the new rooms which we loved, with our own terrace overlooking Florence it was just fantastic!! Gabriele and all the staff are so helpful, nothing is a problem to them from recommending & booking restaurants to transport advice etc... We enjoyed our days in Florence and the other places we visited whilst there and look forward to our next trip back to our favourite place!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Re-peters,

NIce to hear from you! I'm glad you enjoyed the new rooms we made last year and we wanted you to try them as the last time you were here it was the last day before the renovation......
See you next time!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has all the benefits of a great b & b (unbelievable service and many personal touches) . The outlook from the room is great. A little walk into town but the hotel is near some great authentic restaurants which have oodles of character. An oasis from busy city streets.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Exactly what we are a small hotel focussed to details and very customer oriented!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

All the other excellent reviews should give you the idea, but this hotel is simply outstanding. From the moment you walk in, the service is incredibly friendly and helpful. They gave us amazing recommendations for dining that fit each night perfectly, and guided us to transportation throughout the city. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, classic and unique with great views. Ours had a spacious balcony with a classic florentine view. The free mini bar adds to the hospitality, and if that's not enough, there is a happy hour every night with free snacks and cocktails. This is a place where you truly feel welcome and at home. There is nothing more we could possibly have wanted from our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy to see that our Guests like our way....and I'm sure you will be back next time you decide to come back to Firenze you will nock the door!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#15 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#5 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#9 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,972 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.