We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another great visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We re-visited Hotel David at the end of January with friends and once again what a treat!! An extra special one being we stayed in one of the new rooms which we loved, with our own terrace overlooking Florence it was just fantastic!! Gabriele and all the staff are so helpful, nothing is a problem to them from recommending & booking restaurants to transport advice etc... We enjoyed our days in Florence and the other places we visited whilst there and look forward to our next trip back to our favourite place!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Re-peters,

NIce to hear from you! I'm glad you enjoyed the new rooms we made last year and we wanted you to try them as the last time you were here it was the last day before the renovation......
See you next time!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,737
    216
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
395
1,143
47
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has all the benefits of a great b & b (unbelievable service and many personal touches) . The outlook from the room is great. A little walk into town but the hotel is near some great authentic restaurants which have oodles of character. An oasis from busy city streets.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Exactly what we are a small hotel focussed to details and very customer oriented!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

All the other excellent reviews should give you the idea, but this hotel is simply outstanding. From the moment you walk in, the service is incredibly friendly and helpful. They gave us amazing recommendations for dining that fit each night perfectly, and guided us to transportation throughout the city. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, classic and unique with great views. Ours had a spacious balcony with a classic florentine view. The free mini bar adds to the hospitality, and if that's not enough, there is a happy hour every night with free snacks and cocktails. This is a place where you truly feel welcome and at home. There is nothing more we could possibly have wanted from our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy to see that our Guests like our way....and I'm sure you will be back next time you decide to come back to Firenze you will nock the door!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beds were comfortable, breakfast was good and the staff were helpful & kind. I would stay here again in a second! Location in the best.
This was one of our favorite hotels on our stay in Tuscany and we definately will recemmend it to others and plan to stay again in the not to distant future.
thank you very much

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Bene! Another potential repeter customer....and happy to see that you found your home in Florence!
My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I’m glad we took the recommendations of so many others here on TA and booked our stay here. Although a bus go directly between the train station and hotel, we took a short taxi ride which was very inexpensive.

Upon checking in, we were given a warm welcome and information about the hotel and the area. Breakfast was quite good, but the room is small so it can’t handle many guests at one time. This wasn’t a problem though since you can wait in the comfortable lobby with a coffee and they will inform you when a table is available.

Since there was three of us traveling, we got a family room. The beds were VERY comfortable. Actually the most comfortable beds of our whole trip through Itay. The room was large and so was the bathroom. We especially liked the heated floors and heated towel rack.

The hotel is right outside of the center of Florence and only a 15 min walk to most things. If you want to take a sightseeing bus, one stops right outside of the hotel. There is also a reg bus stop and the hotel sells tickets at cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

i thank you for your stay here at the Hotel David, nice to see that you had good time here with us it's right.....I wish our breakfast room was bigger but consider that during summertime we have a sunny terrace too where to go for breakfast!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Already Trip Advisor's top hotel in Florence, the Hotel David hardly needs further recommendation but our four night stay here couldn't have been bettered. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean and ours on the third floor had a balcony and view over the rooftops to the hills. We appreciated the use of the internet, the free happy hour drinks and snacks and the coffee available whenever required. To round it off, the staff were delightful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us and I'm happy you enjoyed the new rooms on the top floor. We try to keep our standard of services etc... and every year make it a little better!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was a great hotel. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the city (only a few have this great view). The staff was friendly. The room was big, very clean and really comfortable. It is about a 15 minute walk from the Uffizi but it was not too bad if you don't mind a walk, the area seemed safe to walk around even at night. would recommend this hotel to anyone that is ok with a bit of a walk for a great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for trusting and coming to stay with us for your holidays in Florence!
I see that you had good time with us and you keep good memories about your stay and your trip to Florence.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.