We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best European Hotel Stay Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Save Saved
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 461 hotels in Florence
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best European Hotel Stay Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

All the other excellent reviews should give you the idea, but this hotel is simply outstanding. From the moment you walk in, the service is incredibly friendly and helpful. They gave us amazing recommendations for dining that fit each night perfectly, and guided us to transportation throughout the city. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, classic and unique with great views. Ours had a spacious balcony with a classic florentine view. The free mini bar adds to the hospitality, and if that's not enough, there is a happy hour every night with free snacks and cocktails. This is a place where you truly feel welcome and at home. There is nothing more we could possibly have wanted from our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy to see that our Guests like our way....and I'm sure you will be back next time you decide to come back to Firenze you will nock the door!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,586
    211
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
373
1032
45
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beds were comfortable, breakfast was good and the staff were helpful & kind. I would stay here again in a second! Location in the best.
This was one of our favorite hotels on our stay in Tuscany and we definately will recemmend it to others and plan to stay again in the not to distant future.
thank you very much

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Bene! Another potential repeter customer....and happy to see that you found your home in Florence!
My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I’m glad we took the recommendations of so many others here on TA and booked our stay here. Although a bus go directly between the train station and hotel, we took a short taxi ride which was very inexpensive.

Upon checking in, we were given a warm welcome and information about the hotel and the area. Breakfast was quite good, but the room is small so it can’t handle many guests at one time. This wasn’t a problem though since you can wait in the comfortable lobby with a coffee and they will inform you when a table is available.

Since there was three of us traveling, we got a family room. The beds were VERY comfortable. Actually the most comfortable beds of our whole trip through Itay. The room was large and so was the bathroom. We especially liked the heated floors and heated towel rack.

The hotel is right outside of the center of Florence and only a 15 min walk to most things. If you want to take a sightseeing bus, one stops right outside of the hotel. There is also a reg bus stop and the hotel sells tickets at cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

i thank you for your stay here at the Hotel David, nice to see that you had good time here with us it's right.....I wish our breakfast room was bigger but consider that during summertime we have a sunny terrace too where to go for breakfast!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Already Trip Advisor's top hotel in Florence, the Hotel David hardly needs further recommendation but our four night stay here couldn't have been bettered. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean and ours on the third floor had a balcony and view over the rooftops to the hills. We appreciated the use of the internet, the free happy hour drinks and snacks and the coffee available whenever required. To round it off, the staff were delightful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us and I'm happy you enjoyed the new rooms on the top floor. We try to keep our standard of services etc... and every year make it a little better!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was a great hotel. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the city (only a few have this great view). The staff was friendly. The room was big, very clean and really comfortable. It is about a 15 minute walk from the Uffizi but it was not too bad if you don't mind a walk, the area seemed safe to walk around even at night. would recommend this hotel to anyone that is ok with a bit of a walk for a great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for trusting and coming to stay with us for your holidays in Florence!
I see that you had good time with us and you keep good memories about your stay and your trip to Florence.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We did a 12-day tour of Italy, staying in Rome, Orvieto, Florence and Venice. The Hotel David was by far our favorite hotel. Our room was exceptionally spacious and included a living room and outdoor balcony. Since I have allergies, I really appreciated the wood floors (rather than carpeting). Delicious cappucino in the morning and plentiful happy hour in the evening were a nice plus. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Everyone speaks English. We walked to the center of town each morning and took the bus back at night. This is not a luxury hotel, but rather a well-run, quaint inn where you won't forget you are in Italy. If you are lucky enough to get a room here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us here at the David! We are very happy you enjoyed our hospitality and services...and you are right the wood top floor is really special!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a really nice place. Walking distance from the heart of the city, yet far away enough to avoid the crowds...Place to park the car within the hotel premises. Very friendly staff, plenty of attention for the guests such as the free happy hour, phone calls, and mini bar. Well appointed rooms, free wifi all over, and tasteful breakfast. Plenty of not too touristy restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm happy to see that you remarked the advantages to be a little bit outside the downtown area you can enjoy the less busy area and most of the Restos and Bars are were locals usually go!
My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.