We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 461 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Already Trip Advisor's top hotel in Florence, the Hotel David hardly needs further recommendation but our four night stay here couldn't have been bettered. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean and ours on the third floor had a balcony and view over the rooftops to the hills. We appreciated the use of the internet, the free happy hour drinks and snacks and the coffee available whenever required. To round it off, the staff were delightful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us and I'm happy you enjoyed the new rooms on the top floor. We try to keep our standard of services etc... and every year make it a little better!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    216
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
395
1,145
47
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was a great hotel. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the city (only a few have this great view). The staff was friendly. The room was big, very clean and really comfortable. It is about a 15 minute walk from the Uffizi but it was not too bad if you don't mind a walk, the area seemed safe to walk around even at night. would recommend this hotel to anyone that is ok with a bit of a walk for a great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for trusting and coming to stay with us for your holidays in Florence!
I see that you had good time with us and you keep good memories about your stay and your trip to Florence.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We did a 12-day tour of Italy, staying in Rome, Orvieto, Florence and Venice. The Hotel David was by far our favorite hotel. Our room was exceptionally spacious and included a living room and outdoor balcony. Since I have allergies, I really appreciated the wood floors (rather than carpeting). Delicious cappucino in the morning and plentiful happy hour in the evening were a nice plus. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Everyone speaks English. We walked to the center of town each morning and took the bus back at night. This is not a luxury hotel, but rather a well-run, quaint inn where you won't forget you are in Italy. If you are lucky enough to get a room here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us here at the David! We are very happy you enjoyed our hospitality and services...and you are right the wood top floor is really special!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a really nice place. Walking distance from the heart of the city, yet far away enough to avoid the crowds...Place to park the car within the hotel premises. Very friendly staff, plenty of attention for the guests such as the free happy hour, phone calls, and mini bar. Well appointed rooms, free wifi all over, and tasteful breakfast. Plenty of not too touristy restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm happy to see that you remarked the advantages to be a little bit outside the downtown area you can enjoy the less busy area and most of the Restos and Bars are were locals usually go!
My best,

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

With so many kind reviews it is difficult to find something new to say about this very pleasant Hotel after staying for 5 nights.
My wife and I stayed in early Feb 2013 and this part of Italy is much colder than when I used to often visit in the 1980's.(mild snowing two days)...climate change I guess,so it was satisfying to return to a always warm and convivial welcome after days out.
Placed just off of a busy road junction the Hotel desk hired us a vehicle(delivered) to the free adjacent car park (which gets busy weekends although the staff shuffle the cars about when blocked in)all with the minimum of fuss.
As mentioned before this place is spotless and the linen and towls are to be commended as was the ensuite toilet and shower room with a bidet.Two shower heads one rainforest and the other on high sliding connection were in a ample sized space(I hate confined shower cabinets) and the water power was top class.
Many clients enjoyed the early evening get together in the Hotel but we had booked different restaraunts each evening(see Cibreo review) and after being out all day mainly walking we didnt participate but it looked a good scene.
The streets of Firenze are not really pedestrian friendly(nor car as they are mainly banned other than trade vehicles and taxis) many streets are uneven and cycle dodging can become a new hobby,however with Hotel David you do need to walk to town centre which we enjoy but some may not and we only had a couple of taxis which are much more reasonable than the Portofino area of Italy!!
Thank you to all the staff for their unending helpfulness.
BTW ..Taxis from the Airport charge a set price of €20 to any hotel plus one euro each piece of luggage...which is nice...but watch they do not set the meter running as the guy on the way back tried to do.

Room Tip: Our first floor with balcony was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for this long review explaining many tips about the hotel and Florence itself; we keep doing all efforts to make you feel welcome and to provide the best service that we are able to.
One extra tip for all travellers: the fixed price for taxi ride from-to Florence Airport is real but always ask for receipt it's the only way we can help you in case of something strange happens....
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A fantastic hotel to stay in. The staff are all very friendly and will help with all queries even booking us on a trip and arranging for us to be picked up outside the hotel.
The room was spotless, the cleaner even folded up my teenager's clothes, and big enough for all 3 of us to have our own space in. At breakfast we were spoilt for choice and managed to have something different everyday. We also found a great pizza restaurant around the corner that served freshly made delicious pizzas and pasta. Happy hour was also a great way to start the evening and meet fellow hotel guests from all over the world.
The walk to the centre of Florence or the Ponte Vecchio was a great way to start and end the day and a walk up to the Piazza Michelangelo is worth it for the views.
We hope to go back to Florence and would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Triple room 25 was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm glad you had good time with us and thank you for promoting our location which is coming up every day more convenient to our travellers who came to stay with us!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything about this hotel is ideal...it's hard to pick out something in particular that stood out as the whole experience was fantastic and we can't wait to come back again! The staff are brilliant, so welcoming, friendly and helpful, you feel like you are at home. The rooms are spotless and comfortable with thoughtful details. Our favourite part was happy hour that lasts from 18.30-20.00, when you can help yourself completely free of charge to a huge selection of drinks and snacks. Brilliantly located away from the tourist crowds in central Florence but only a 15min walk or very easy bus journey (stop right outside the hotel to the centre.) Grazie mille to Hotel David for making our holiday!!

Room Tip: Room No. 1 has a four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Eh eh I see that the happy hour has always good feedbacks and I'm so happy that our Guests understand that our Hotel David is not a place to find anything special but just a place where you feel at home and where the staff is doing it's best to help you to enjoy your holiday in Florence!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.