We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor #1 for a Reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Save Saved
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 461 hotels in Florence
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor #1 for a Reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Simply a superb hotel. Fabulous staff, comfortable rooms and lovely food. Ok, so its not right in the centre of Florence, but its an incredible lovely 20ish minute walk along the Arno to the Ponte Vecchio. Its near some very good restaurants, which the hotel staff will point out to you. If you're wanting a city break in Firenze, stay here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your post I'm so happy you had good time and you wish to come back to visit us and to be a 20 minutes off from the main attractions can be a top advantage if you wish to enjoy the less touristy area we live in!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,581
    214
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
369
1018
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Everything about our stay here was perfect, huge clean and attractive rooms, bathroom and balcony, great breakfast, wonderful helpful and friendly staff. I liked the location being on the other side of the river away from the hustle and bustle of the main city and it was easy to get the bus back and forth with regular mini-buses very close to the hotel. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Nice to see that once again our location is considered an advantage to many more Guests who like to be a little outside the downtown area but close enough to walk there.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel David is a bit off the beaten track, but still a very walk able distance from the city center (about 15 minutes). The rooms are impeccably clean, with updated bathrooms, and the staff are incredibly friendly. Mornings offered a full American breakfast with hot eggs and bacon -- a rare find in most of the hotels in which we stayed in Northern Italy. And of course, there was the nightly happy hour with complimentary appetizers and cocktails. The one downfall was that there were not a lot of restaurants from which to choose that were within walking distance at night, and it would have been nice to have been a little closer to town. However, the rates were very reasonable, and it really was a lovely jewel of a hotel with beautiful views of Florence from the upper stories.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace. The view from our terrace was so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation I'm happy you had good time here at the David and I'm sure you will be back and we will be here to welcome you!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great base for a stay in Florence! Very friendly people, good and prompt service, clean rooms, nice (basic) breakfast, free sundowner with yummy snakes from the kitchen. Town center is in walking distance, but there is also a bus leaving in front of the hotel. For Florence not very noisy (especially rooms towards the back). Secure parking, free wifi, internet pc available in the lobby. Well-equipped, reasonably prices honesty bar, small refrigerator in the room.
We chose the hotel because of the good Tripadvisor feedback and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review we are happy you had good time with us here at the David and I'm sure once you will be back!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Location - Far from the center. After a long day of walking and sightseeing, it was exhausting to walk for another 20~30 minutes just to return to the hotel. Basically, you have to add 10~16 euro taxi fare on top of your daily room rate.

Noise - On the internet it looks like the hotel is situated in a serene and quiet neighborhood but in fact it is located right off the busy main street.

Happy hour – I would rather pay for a drink and have better snacks as other aperitivos. Nothing to rave about.

Self-serve lobby bar – Isn’t it a hotel???

Hotel has a nice deco, room was clean and spacious and staff were friendly however I wouldn’t stay here again mainly because of the location.

All the things that Hotel David offer – wifi, happy hour, breakfast, clean room, friendly staff – can be found in many other hotels in better location, some for less money with low-season deals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Location is probably the first selection you have to do when you choose and hotel and ours is not a secret that is 20 minutes walk to downtown and despite few Guests would wish the hotel to be closer, I will not move the hotel closer to downtown; regarding the connection to downtown taxi is a solution but not the ness expensive and practical, bus transportation is cheap and very frequent!
Our self service 24 open bar gives you the possibility of easy access to food and beverage but if you prefer to be served you just ask the reception.
When a Guest is not completely satisfied with the hotel I'm always sad but this is the game and I will get used to that....may be!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When I first entered our room, my jaw dropped and I just stood there and said wow! The room was beautiful (room 31). The bathroom was so nice, the best shower I've had in 5 weeks of our European trip (other showers have been the shower over the bath tub kind, for some reason I just can't get used to them!), but this one was a proper shower, thank you. They also have a laundry for use, which is again very much appreciated!

I just have to thank the wonderful staff who helped my boyfriend and I with liaising with the restaurant we ate at on a previous night in which he left his MasterCard there. We had planned a day trip to Pisa and Siena and the hotel rang (I'm sorry I didn't ask the lovely girls name) the restaurant to find out if we did indeed leave it there, yes we did, they explained that we would pick it up later when we got back. Unfortunately, we had problems with the train coming back from Siena and realised we would be back in Florence after the restaurant closed and we were leaving Florence very early in the morning, we rang the hotel at about 9pm (I'm sorry my boyfriend did not get the nice girls name on the phone) and she again called the restaurant & explained that we were held up & arranged for the restaurant to deliver the MasterCard to the hotel! We we're very relieved that this was arranged for us. Thank you very much to all who were involved with this. Definitely coming back to Florence and definitely staying at Hotel David & definitely demanding room 31 again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your post I'm happy we could find your credit card and even happier you found at the David what you were looking for!
We wait for you next time you decide to come to stay in Florence.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in late November. We found the hotel to be perfect. Charming and helpful staff, bountiful breakfast and a happy hour topped off with a lovely, spacious room and a comfotable bed made up with lovely linens. It is in a great location. It is within walking distance of the sights, but still off the beaten path away from the throngs of tourists. We were there in inclement weather, but the location still works.......since the bus practically drops you at the front door. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for the nice words about the hotel! I'happy you had good time with us here at the David and as I supposed our location is perfect for the travellers who wish to stay very close to town but far enough to be our of the crowd!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.