We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in late November. We found the hotel to be perfect. Charming and helpful staff, bountiful breakfast and a happy hour topped off with a lovely, spacious room and a comfotable bed made up with lovely linens. It is in a great location. It is within walking distance of the sights, but still off the beaten path away from the throngs of tourists. We were there in inclement weather, but the location still works.......since the bus practically drops you at the front door. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for the nice words about the hotel! I'happy you had good time with us here at the David and as I supposed our location is perfect for the travellers who wish to stay very close to town but far enough to be our of the crowd!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,815
    228
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
414
1,198
49
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília, Brazil
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We chose this hotel thanks to the good reviews on Trip Advisor and even so were surprised by all the good points at this gem of a hotel. Everything is nice in it, even the fact is is not situated in the middle of the historical center of Florence: it is only a pleasant walk away from it, along the Arno river. If you are tired after a long visit to the palaces, take a taxi there and pay around 5 euros for it. The staff is unbelievably nice and helpful, service is extra generous and efficient, breakfast is the best possible, the free snacks at the happy hour delicious and much, much more. In a word: we really recommend it and will certainly be back, as soon as we possibly can.

Room Tip: Since they have a lift, a back facing room in the upper floors is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Nice to see that you had good time with us here at the David and you appreciated our way to welcome our Guests. I'm sure next time you will decide to come back to Florence we will have the pleasure of welcome you as a repeter Guest then!
A big thank you to all our Guests who have given us the Service Award 2013!

Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are staying here at the David right now! Booked because of the high TripAdvisor rating. I will never doubt the website again. Everyone was so right. Friends pushed us to stay elsewhere, but we assumed so many positive reviews must have some validity to them. Glad we made that decision. Can we just live here permanently? Jay Dayton, Ohio

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation I'm glad you had good time and you didn't want to leave the David.........then if you want to come a resident Guest we can work on a good deal for you!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Based on our own scoring system, we score this hotel 8.8 out of 10, ranks 3 out of 8 among all the hotels we booked during the europe trip. *** Win => Service, Room size and Bath room: 5.0/5.0, Clean: 4.75/5.0. *** Loss => Location: 2.5/5.0 *** Other comments: Free minibar. Complementary wine for honeymoon traveler. *** Highlight: Happy hour => Free drinks and snacks are served before dinner time at lobby. Check it with hotel staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you to have put us on your personal podium! Our location is not a secret we are 20 minutes walk to the Ponte Vecchio bridge!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The positive feedback left by others were spot on about Hotel David. We were particularly impressed by service we received from Chiara, who pointed us to the great restaurant locations including her favorite pizzeria [Gattabuia] ; Ernesto, who took care of our early taxi reservation back to the Firenze airport and Vittoria, who showed us how that there is a remote button to lower the blinds if you are staying in the quadruple room on the first floor [which is very spacious] like we were and who brought us cappucino's and hot chocolate to our room when we missed the breakfast! We can attest to the little things that others have mentioned but I do have to mention about the surprise we had when we checked in. We reserved online and I guess we had a special offer to a free lunch at Trattoria Bordino in the Ponte Vecchio area which turned out really nice! I would not recommend buying the three day bus pass since you can easily walk back and forth from the hotel to the Ponte Vecchio area. If you do wish to take the bus, it is easy enough to catch the D bus right into the town, however there was no direct way to return to the hotel [at least we could not figure it out] and we spent considerable time on the bus going on its route. Much easy and faster to walk back to the hotel if you can manage it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm glad you had good time with us here at the David and I'm very happy you remember Ernesto, our night consierge, a new entry in our Staff!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having a first trip overseas as a single parent with teenagers it was a bit overwhelming! Until we reached the Hotel David. The staff was so incredibly helpful we actually cut short the end of our trip to return to Florence and the Hotel David. They helped with extrememly accurate and easy walking and driving directions, called cabs, suggested great restaurants, and even moved and parked our car for us. It has to be one of the best places we have ever stayed. And the room was great with 3 beds!

Room Tip: no restaurant but happy hour snacks and breakfast were awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Nice to see that you are back home and you carry good memories of your stay at Hotel David and we will do as much as we can to keep our standard so that when you will be back we will still be your best hotel!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We loved this hotel. The attention to detail, the friendliness of the staff, the location, the rooms and breakfast were top class! Just little things like our luggage being taken to our room whilst we checked in, then to find a cake on our bed with a little note wishing us a happy holiday, a complimentary mini bar and snacks just marks this hotel out as the best we stayed in on our tour of Italy. Would highly recommend this hotel to friends & family, it really is top notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation we have been working very hard to rise the standard of our quality of the service trying not to rise the price of the rooms with simple things that have great conversion feedbacks! We have new ideas for this year just stated so I sure you will find something new next time you decide to come an visit Florence again!
I wish you a great begionning of the year!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.