We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Save Saved
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 461 hotels in Florence
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the best kept secret in Florence. The loveliest place of all the accommodation that you would at least expect to find in Florence. The rooms are large, gorgeous and with balconies. Very comfortable beds and extremely clean. The bathrooms are huge by european standard and modern. The staff cannot do enough for you and the happy hour every afternoon is amazing with the food and drinks that the hotel supplies. The location is perfect for those travelling by car (although a little tricky at first to find) or for those who want to be a little out of the fast lane of the city. Just a very short bus ride to town, with the bus stop right outside the hotel. The breakfast was very good (hot and cold buffet, with a nice selection and beautiful cakes, tarts, fruit salad, yoghurts, meats, cheeses, eggs etc) and the whole feel of the hotel is very relaxing and friendly. So much so, we didn't want to leave and would definitely stay there again. Thank you so much for such an amazing stay. We really love your hotel. And thank you again for the lovely treats when we arrived. You really know how to look after your guests!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

When you don't want to leave the David is a good sign of appreciation and I'm glad to read that! A big thank you for coming to stay with us!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,603
    211
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
375
1045
46
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed twice at Hotel David (6 nights in 2010 and 8 nights in 2012) and will return again if we are lucky enough to travel to Europe again. Gabriel and his staff could write the book on what hospitality is all about. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

I really thank you for coming here this time a repeter Guest I'm impressed that people is starting to come to Florence for the pleasure to come and stay with us!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just returned from a much too short (two night stay at Hotel David). Selected due to the Trip Advisor ratings our only issue is that we are not sure the rating of "excellent" is high enough. This is a very special place, the "touches" were many, the relaxing cocktail evenings with the oppertunity to meet other fortunate travellers and guests, the welcome hand written note and cake on the bed, books and guides, access to internet (and printers!!) free mini bar, phone calls.........I could go on. The building is beatiful having being lovingly restored with emphasis on comfort and giving you the feeling that you were indeed a "guest"..............rare these days. Location was great. Staff were lovely (nothing too much trouble) and the recommendations given with regards to where to eat gave us the best meal of our trip and at very reasonable prices given that many of the places are frequented by locals rather than tourists and this just added to the experience. Although we believe that life is too short and there are too many places to see to visit anywhere twice, Hotel David is an exception to this rule. My entrance on facebook within half an hour of arriving "just arrived at Hotel David in Florence and already do not want to leave." If you are going to Florence (or indeed in the area at all) do not look any further, you will not regret it, our only regret is that we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: I can only speak to our room on the third floor which had a balcony overlooking the rooftops and int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay here at the David I'm so happy to be one exception to your right way of tralelling sometimes you have to go back!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The best asset of this hotel is the staff! They are responsive and anticipated our needs. The location is good if you prefer to be in a quieter area, but close enough by bus or a brisk walk. The rooms are good sized, very clean, and yes we did love raiding the little fridge. The happy hour should become instituted as a law to be followed by all others. Drinks, a few appetizers, and mingling with the other likeminded guests was a wonderful surprise. Breakfast was sumptous with quite a variety of treats. The thoughtful assistance of the staff for finding us tickets to see the real "david", patience in explaining bus routes and wonderful local trattorias are priceless in enhancing our visit to fabulous florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We try to do our best to anticipate your needs so that you can relax and enjoy better your holidays!
And I see we are doing well!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

An easy walk to Ponte Vecchio, so location was good. Loved the happy hour of wine and appetizers. Folks at reception were helpful and spoke very good English. Appreciated the 10 free minutes of international phone calls daily! Free use of Mac computers in reception area was a nice perk! And, because it was raining cats and dogs during our 3 day stay, the use of their umbrellas was much appreciated! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Yes it rained and rained with no stop...and the easiest thing is to provide good umbrellas!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After busy busy Rome the Hotel David was wonderful just 10 minute walk from the city centre and quiet . We loved our room although I think some were even nicer with the balcony. We were very disappointed that our booking included breakfast that we missed because we chose to go on two all day tours and had to leave at 7.30am when breakfast I think started at 8am. The day we did have breakfast it was a lovely experience ouside on the terrace. Staff were exceptionally helpful and I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting excellent value and a nice family style run business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
I agree we are kind of family style! Breakfast starts at 7,30 every morning and I'm very sorry you missed it! Next time no early getup!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

One of my favourite hotel stays in the past few years. The rooms are well appointed and nothing was a problem for staff, which it appeared was a family owner and run business. The package was very reasonable and the location is good. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your post I'm very happy that you found our David convenient and you enjoyed our location a bit outside the main center of town.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.