We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City

Save Saved
You added Hotel City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sant Antonino 18 | San Lorenzo District, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 461 hotels in Florence
Framingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just got back from 8 days in Florence at Hotel City. Well located, very clean, quiet, friendly staff, fast WiFi, & great breakfast. Near train station, so very easy to take day trips to Pisa, Lucca, etc; yet also near major attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    88
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
119
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shumen, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hotel CITY in Florence is awesome. It is very near the train station and many of the attractions of Florence are within walking distance. Staff and the reception are extremely helpful and kind and friendly and they will do anything to make your stay unforgettable. Very satisfied with everything. Breakfast was really good and the hotel inside is as an attraction. Soundproofing is not very good, but apart from that, everything is perfect! Highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: rooms for smokers have balconies :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Eccentric, eclectic decoration, with various nick nacks adorning the foyer. Traditional italian design in the rooms, which was rather dated but clean. The bathroom was brand new. Windows were double glazed so there was no noise from the street when they were closed. But do not that there is no air con; we stayed in April so there was no need to have the windows open, but if we had it may have been noisy. Service and breakfast were both fine. Location is great: in between the station and the duomo, less than a ten minute walk to both so great if you don't have long to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Fresh off the bad experience hotel experience in Bologna, we arrived in Florence wondering if our next several days were going to be a continuation of the Bologna experience. From the time we walked in the front door of Hotel City, we breathed a tremendous sigh of relief. Hotel staff were so accommodating, friendly, and helpful. We had a beautiful room on the top floor. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was exceptional. It was April so between air conditioning/heating season so the hotel staff gave us a fan as we like the room very cool at night. Breakfast was exceptional - meats (ham, salami), cheeses, breads, cereals, an array of pastries, juices, coffee - and a very efficient young lady making sure we had everything we needed. The location is city center and is only a couple of blocks from the train station and the Duomo, local market, and Medici chapel and museum. This is a definite go back to for me!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

After reading so many good reviews about this hotel I made our reservations. The reviews were quite accurate. That was exactly what I expected to see. In fact it was better than my expectations. They were very accommodating with all my requests. Since we drove to Florence parking was an important issue for us. But we were given excellent directions to find our parking garage. The good thing was we were able to unload our suitcases right in front of the hotel then took our car to the garage the hotel had a contract with. Location of this hotel is just perfect. It was easy to walk to the main attractions. There were many restaurants and convenience stores nearby. It was very clean and the breakfast was more than what we expected from a three star hotel. Their cappuccino was just delicious, and they serve it in huge coffee cups...Next time we are staying there again!...

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors overlooking the street in front of the hotel. Some rooms don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epinal, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at Hotel City in Firenze : always very nice welcome, very good advice as far as parking, restaurants, train to Pisa, taxi to the outskirts of the city of Firenze... always a smile and a very good contact with the staff.
Nice and clean rooms, spacious bathrooms etc... Don't hesitate, Hotel City is very close to the historical center of town, not too far from Ponte Vecchio etc..
Thanks a lot for our nice stays !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and myself had a very pleasant stay in this lovely, quiet hotel. It is very conveniently located just a few minutes walk from the central train station and major sites including the Duomo. Our room was clean, comfortable and well maintained. We found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed our buffet breakfast each morning. It was raining as we ventured out for dinner on our first evening and a member of staff came after me to offer me an umbrella. We we very impressed by this quality of service and glad that we had chosen this hotel. Thanks a lot everyone. Grazie mille!

My wife and me had a very pleasant stay in this lovely, quiet hotel. It is very conveniently located just a few minutes walk from the central train station and major sites including the Duomo. Our room was clean, comfortable and well maintained. We found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed our buffet breakfast each morning. It was raining as we ventured out for dinner on our first evening and a member of staff came after us to offer me an umbrella. We we very impressed by this quality of service and glad that we had chosen this hotel. Thanks a lot everyone. Grazie mille!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Address: Via Sant Antonino 18 | San Lorenzo District, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.