We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change these mattress urgently!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bodoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bodoni to your Saves list
Hotel Bodoni
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Martiri Del Popolo 27, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Change these mattress urgently!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Average price hotels quality in Italy is not very high, assuming this, Bodoni is a very well located hotel situated in 1st and 4th floor of a residential building. Its a bit irritating going upstairs in that old elevator to take and leave the key, but its ok. Rooms are average size, bathroom is small and not very modern, I mean, shower has a curtain you close just in the middle of the room and after that all the room is like flooding, but its ok.
What I see is they need urgently to throw out the mattress, you seem to sink on them and your back will be on pain the rest of the day.
Breakfast is simple but ok, served by two gentle waiters.
I would say if they change the mattress, everything is ok for an average price hotel very well located.
Will I go back? I don't think so.

Room Tip: I think 4th floor rooms should be better than those in first one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    158
    58
    23
    8
See reviews for
35
179
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jessheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The location is excellent - walking distance to everything. The rooms are small - but clean - just as we expected. This is a very nice budget hotel and the staff is friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast buffèt and a nice roof terrace with a view. I will definately come back next time we are going to Florence :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The hotel is basically the 4th floor of apartment building and it seems that the apartments were rearranged into many small rooms by dividing large rooms with drywall and with no acoustic insulation whatsoever. We could hear our neighbors from other room almost as if they were right there with us, there is no sense of privacy! Hotel is around 20 mins walk from main attractions.
The room terrace was very nice as well as freshly squeezed orange juice for brekfast, although staff were struggling to serve coffee and clear tables for breakfast which was average.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

The people were real nice, but the hotel was quite a walk from the attractions. Hotel was on the fourth floor and you have to look real hard to find the sign to direct you to the lobby. The elevator is very small and you have to lug your bags up one level to be able to board the elevator. The bed was quite hard and although bathroom had a shower, it was between the sink and the wall (about 14 inches) and was not a separate space. If you shower, you get the whole bathroom wet. Hotel was not updated and rooms were very tight. On a budget the price was right, but I do enjoy some creature comforts and a good bed and shower are high on my list.WiFi was on and off, not reliable. On a positive note the breakfast was a typical European breakfast and was quite nice. No views from the room, but if you go to the roof you have nice views.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Very friendly staff;). Excellent location (not far from Duomo & Santa Croche). Good breakfast (fresh juice, coffee, pastry, eggs, sandwiches, jogurt, etc.). Fridge in the room. Everyday cleaning. Nice terrace and balcony. Supermarket is located opposite the hotel.
As to oddities: shower was located between toilet & wash bowls & (suppose, it`s a famous special feature of this hotel =))) & you have to leave a room key on reception every time you go out.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with balcony & Duomo view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The facilities are not brand new but are tidy and in accordance with the price. Santa Croce is 5 minutes far, all the main sites can be reached very quickly. A supermarket is just opposite to the hotel building.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

great location , 10 minutes walk to everything, Piazza republica-all the shops-duomo- restaurants
everything very close by. Simple hotel, littlebit noice from outside but great for the money
front desk man was an idiot, slow ,uncapable to this job, during check-in you must do 2-3 thinks at the same time, he was asking all the time if we were in a hurry? and when finshed yelling "byby byby"

Room Tip: back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bodoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodoni

Address: Via Martiri Del Popolo 27, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bodoni 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the center of the town, near the main shopping center, the Duomo and the church of S.Croce, the Hotel Bodoni is the ideal place for a quiet and comfortable stay. You will appreciate the comfortable lounges and open terraces, where you can relax after walking around the places of historical interest. We offer you an atmosphere where restfulness prevails.All rooms have modern furniture, shower/WC and air conditioning.Our terms are most reasonable and we are here to do our best to make your stay in Florence a happy onePossibility of Garage nearby. We will make you feel welcome at the Hotel Bodoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bodoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodoni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bodoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.