We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay at Hotel Berchielli in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Berchielli to your Saves list
Hotel Berchielli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123 Florence, Italy (Uffizi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Stay at Hotel Berchielli in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hotel Berchielli during our Florence leg of our family"s recent trip to Italy. The hotel's location is its greatest asset, being right on the Arno River within a short walk of the Uffizi Gallery, Florence Duomo, and a variety of restaurant and shops. We arrived Florence by train and made the short walk from the Novelia Train Station to the hotel in about 10 minutes.

We had two rooms with two staying in each. Rooms are spacious and rather utilitarian in design and features. Firm beds, TV with many channels, large bathroom with tub/shower, 110 or 220 outlet, hair dryer. The hotel offered free wifi that had assigned passwords and worked well. There is a safe in the room, that requires you to get a key from the front desk. Our only complaint on the bath was that our room did not offer a full shower. It had a spray handle, but no curtain.

Breakfast was included in our package and located in an elegant room on the second floor of the meandering hotel. Nice assortment of breads, fresh fruit, a couple of hot items - eggs, sausage, pancakes - and cereals. Coffee/cappuccino was terrific and service attentive.

The hotel has a small, intimate roof-top patio that they advertised for an afternoon tea each day. We missed the tea, but did drop by mid-evening one night, but found it empty with no services. Such a great space offers an opportunity for alfresco dining or drinks.

We toured the Uffizi, Duomo, the Galleria Academia, and the Petti Palace during our brief stay in Florence. The hotel is within walking distance of each. The Uffizi was outstanding, with a very useful audio guide to help view the historic and extensive collections. Viewing Michelangelo's statue of David at the Galleria Academia was a highlight of our visit to Florence - simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    372
    44
    13
    8
See reviews for
214
585
56
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Very disappointed with this hotel. The room had zero windows and no artwork for that matter. Felt like an insane asylum room. Not sure if it was just this hotel but we were infested with mosquitos, don't open a window! The lobby gave us a zapper to plug into outlet upon request but not by default.

The only positives for us were the easy to find location on the river and the breakfast was decent. Sadly this was the worst of 4 hotels we stayed at in Italy and the second most expensive.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guests,
we are sorry to see you have not enjoyed your stay.

Fact: all of our rooms, with no exception, have got windows that open to the outside and the views provided are different: river, Piazza del Limbo, Borgo SS. Apostoli, roofs ,courtyard, roof-garden and alleys.
As we can see the part of your comment about the lack of windows in our rooms is wrong and we are starting to think that you were referring to another hotel and we find quite offensive the words:”insane asylum room”,furthermore your suggestion “don't open a window!” contradicts what you had previously written “the room had zero windows”.

We always take very seriously our clients' comments as both the positive and the negative ones help us to improve; your comment hasn't got any base to rely on therefore it doesn't help anyone.

Best regards.

Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Had a great stay in this Classic Italian hotel. Quirky, historic, comfortable and spotlessly clean. A fantastic base to explore Florence in the centre of everything and if you are lucky enough to get a room facing the Arno you get a view of the Ponte Vecchio as a bonus. The staff are helpful, the breakfast is good and the rooms are comfortable.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guests,
thank you for leaving a comment.

We are happy to know you have had such a wonderful stay at our hotel.

It's a pleasure to see that you have liked the room you have stayed in,the helpfulness and kindness of our staff as well as the quality of our breakfast.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards.

Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, DE
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow! What a great location and a great hotel! Breakfasts were very good. The staff is excellent. The views from the hotel are fantastic! Walking distance everywhere around town. I would definitely stay here again. Our room didn't have windows that would open to the outside, and we were unable to open the blinds, so that's the only downside to our room, but other than that, we really enjoyed our stay. Lots of good dining and shopping

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views, or where you can at least see outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When the lady from reception threw open the shutters of our room the view over the Arno was breathtaking. Close to Ponte Vecchio the hotel is ideally located for galleries, shopping, strolling to the ancient city and crossing the river in search of wonderful restaurants. Staff were welcoming, room was delightful, I liked the art deco vibe and a special mention is reserved for the breakfast team who were just lovely. The breakfast room is elegant and there is a good choice. A pleasure at the start of every day and we were always welcomed warmly. The small bar was a nice spot for a cocktail before venturing out for dinner. My only disappointment was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which would have been a godsend after a long warm evening out. I guess we take those for granted in the UK. If we knew the name of the young lady who was unfailingly cheerful at breakfast every morning we would name her as a particular star.

Room Tip: Go for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guests,
thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are happy that you have had such a great stay at our hotel.

It's nice to see you have appreciated the room you have stayed in and its view over the Arno.
We are glad you have liked the kindness and professionalism of our staff and we will pass your compliments to them.
As for the missing coffee making facilities, we have decided not to install them into the rooms only for safety reasons.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards.

Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The outside is deceptive, this is a wonderful, clean fun place to stay! The rooms are clean and each is unique. The staff is helpful and courteous. We had fun using all the different staircases! Our rooms were quiet and clean. The breakfast is very large and deeeelicious! The hotel is opposite the river, right near the Ponte Vecchio and also within walking distance of the car rental office. The only drawback we experienced was that we came to the front entrance where there is not a place to park to unload baggage, use the back entrance!

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guests,
thank you for leaving a comment.

We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at Berchielli.

We are pleased by the fact you have liked our breakfast, the rooms you have stayed in and the attention our staff paid to your needs and requests.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards.

Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you were to arrive in the evening you will be faced with the amazing sight of the Ponte Vecchio which is a bridge over the Arno with nothing but gold shops from one side to the other.

This is a lovely little hotel. It on the north side of the river and a few yards from Via Tornabuoni which leads to all the main attractions such as the Duomo and the Statue of David. It is a 10 minute walk from the main train station where you have direct access to places such as Lucca, Siena and Rome if you are there for a long stay.

The hotel itself is every bit it's 4 stars. We even had a porter take up our bags. Even the loo roll had the corners folded. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room, although not large, was clean, well decorate and the bathroom looked like it was recently refurbished.

We had the bed and breakfast option which was the typical Continental Buffet style. It was however, exceptional quality. No coffee machine but a fresh pot of ground coffee.

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about the Berchielli and would recommend it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review.

It's nice to know you have had such a marvellous stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to see that you have liked the room you have stayed in and its decor as well as the friendliness of our staff who always do their best in order to make our clients feel at home.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards.

Massimo Fraus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Degli Orafi
#25 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#80 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#58 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#26 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#15 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#50 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berchielli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.