We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Berchielli to your Saves list
Hotel Berchielli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
West Lothian
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We chose this hotel partly based on Trip Advisor reviews, and knew when we walked into reception that we would be happy with it. Lovely reception area, friendly, professional staff. Our stay lasted 3 nights and we were very pleased - no river view, however we were delighted with our room which had its own roof terrace. It was very clean, nice furnishings, shower room on ground level with a nice sitting area and television, then upstairs to the open plan sleeping area with a bath and overhead shower. We found this to be very beneficial and enabled us to both get ready in the morning or evening, at the same time, without encroaching on each other's space. Sufficient storage for both of us for our 3 night stay. There was also a television in this area. As mentioned in a previous review, we missed having a kettle in the room for that early morning/late evening refreshment. We had no bother asking if we could take a tray up to our room, however this incurred a charge, so if like us you enjoy regular hot drinks during the day, it could add an additional cost of approximately 7/8 euros for 2 cups each time. Breakfast is between 7 and 11. The breakfast buffet was very good, choice of cereals, fruit juices, eggs, bacon, pastries, rolls, yoghurts, jams, fresh fruit, coffee/tea, sufficient to keep you going for some hours. The dining room is lovely, plenty room for all the guests, and never felt crowded. The location of the hotel is very good - barely 10 minutes in the taxi from the bus station, fairly easy to walk if necessary. Surrounded by shops and a great range of sights to see within a maximum of 25 minutes reasonable walking pace. If planning on visits to the galleries, ensure they are open on Monday's as most of them were closed during our visit. Well worth visiting Pisa to see the tower. It was pouring of rain while we were there but didn't disappoint us. Can recommend the hotel and would certainly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Having a roof terrace was an additional benefit - it was very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    345
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
188
544
54
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is my third stay at the Berchielli. I brought my daughters to celebrate their 40th birthdays and this year Jim and I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, rooms very comfortable and the locations is perfect. We had friends who joined us as well as my niece who lives in Switzerland and our rooms were near each other. The weather gorgeous the whole time in Firenze.

Room Tip: 4th floor has lovely rooms, quiet and easy access to the rooftop patio. Windows open in 421 and 422...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the Berchielli and it didn't disappoint on being revisited. Far from it, in fact!
The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. Everything is within easy walking distance and it is a great base from which to explore this beautiful city.
The staff are extremely helpful and courteous and were always able to help out with excellent English when our Italian failed us!
Our comfortable (if a little dated) room overlooked the river and it was a delight to open the shutters every morning to check out the weather and watch the world go by. My only regret is that there were no coffee making facilities in the room and we were very glad that we had taken our travel kettle with us!
Breakfast was more than adequate and set us up well for a day of exploring.
Do visit the ice cream parlour on the other side of the river just by the Ponte Sante Trinita. It really is sublime - the best ice cream I have ever tasted.
And don't hesitate to book the Hotel Berchielli. You would struggle to do better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. It will make your stay even more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were impressed with the location, rooms, breakfast and service. We were given a room with a balcony overlooking the river-amazing view! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Florence. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed only two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Great location, steps away from all of the sites. Our friends who stayed at the Tornobuoni Beacci were jealous of the hot eggs and meats we had on the sumptuous breakfast buffet. The room was nice but the bath was spectacular.

Room Tip: Skip the view; the rooms facing away from the river are much quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were only in Florence for three days but this hotel was in a perfect location near all of the sites and train station. It had a beautiful view of the river and we even got to see an impromptu fireworks show one night--best location. The breakfast options were great and had everything anyone could ask for...the staff was also very accommodating and helped us with everything to include holding our luggage while we were waiting for the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in this lovely Hotel and realised after we left just how spoilt we were. Close to Ponte Vecchio, a stones throw to the Uffizi and all that Florence has to offer. The buffet breakfast offers everything and the little touches such as the day and date on your morning cappuccino gives you the warm friendly feeling. The rooms are big enough and the bathrooms are modern. Totally recommend this gem to all who visit Florence. A little tip the little Gelato shop right next to Ponte Vecchio is the best I have tasted in Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#56 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berchielli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.