We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and convenient place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unicorno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Unicorno to your Saves list
Unicorno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Fossi, 27, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and convenient place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel Unicorno is just a couple of blocks away from the Florence, SMN, train station and within walking distance of all of the major attractions in Florence. The reception greeted us warmly when we arrived and gave a quick orientation to Florence. We had to carry our bags up half a flight of steps to the small elevator. The room was the average European size, but the bathroom was larger than in most European hotels. Since the hotel is in the heart of Florence, it can be a little noisy; but the hotel has upgraded the windows to double pane to block most of the noise. The breakfast was typical for hotels in this price range. This is a good place to stay if you want to be close to Florence culture.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    154
    56
    23
    15
See reviews for
59
156
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The location is excellent. The breakfast was good, with a lot of choices. Staff was exceptionally helpful. The room was clean and quiet -- they also were very environmentally friendly. The hotel looks a bit shabby but I believe it is to the fact that it has a lot of bookings and guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family stayed at Hotel Unicorno while in Florence for my wedding! The staff are extremely kind and are very happy to help out with anything you should need. They are great help for suggestions around town and truly want you to have a great experience in Florence!

They went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. They even let me host our Bridal Luncheon in the Breakfast area, providing snacks and drinks for all of my bridesmaids and family!

The rooms are great and true to the Italian style. The top floor rooms are more modern and sleek. The towels are fresh, beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean!

Hotel breakfasts usually aren't exceptional but i loved the foods offered here!

The location is great; close walk to all of the main tourist attractions while keeping you close to the train station!

I highly recommend this hotel for an affordable stay with charm in Florence!

Room Tip: For the newer and renovated rooms, go for the top floor rooms. I believe they cost a little bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My aunt and I spent four nights at this hotel this May. I was very satisfied with the experience. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. They have a 24 hour desk, so we didn't need to carry around a room key with us. The hotel was a short walk from the train station through square where the Santa Maria Novella church is. It was not a far walk from the Duomo either. Our room seemed to be newly remodeled and was geared toward conservation. The bathroom had two steps down to get into it. We had a good selection for breakfast as well. I would stay here again when I return to Florence!

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are newly remodeled. We had a room on the street side so if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A good hotel in a superb location - less than 10 min walk from rail station. A 2 minute walk to
the square which is brimming with activity and sidewalk cafes and close to everything. A friendly l Irish pub - The Fiddler's Elbow nearby.
The room was reasonably large, well appointed and spotless. The bed was comfortable and the room had a safe (NO - not that kind of safe!) The owner and staff were friendly and efficient.
The breakfast was great - equipped with a coffee machine for espresso, capp, American coffee and hot chocolate. Buffet of eggs, sausage, bacon , sweet rolls.and more- One that would have cost at least 15 E each in a café if not more esp with the bottomless cappuccino available!
We would highly recommend this hotel.
Lois and Ken Phoenix, Arizona

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

An excellent 3 star hotel. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was a good buffet with cereal, bread rolls, ham, cheese, yoghurt, etc. Also a limited hot food option if you want it. Great location about 10 minutes walk from the main train station and the main bus station (airport bus). Also about 10 minutes walk from the main attractions. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena T, Direttore at Unicorno, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel!!
We really hope to see you again in Florence!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

In Florence, location and a clean room solves most of your needs. As an "unaccompanied" woman traveler, I want a 24 hour desk and a clean bed and bath. This comfortable family run hotel eliminated any need for taxis,and actually had real eggs, meat and cheese for breakfast choices. The single room is snug, and noisy with the windows open because the room is on a street with access to restaurants and bars. If your dream vacation is to sleep in a luxury hotel room, go elsewhere. If you want value and don't need room service, this place has "modern" rooms with hot showers and traditional rooms. Not appropriate for disabled access since the lift is up a full flight of stairs. The entire family and staff were committed to their guests.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have been remodeled. If you need an extra large shower area, make that clear with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Unicorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorno

Address: Via dei Fossi, 27, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicorno 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Unicorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorno Hotel Florence
Unicorno Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unicorno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.