We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to train station, great staff, good value & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Unicorno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Unicorno to your Saves list
Unicorno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Fossi, 27, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to train station, great staff, good value & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel - very central and walking distance to everything you could possibly want to see! The rooms are cleaned every day and also fresh towels. Air conditioner worked, breakfast is between 7.30-10 and you have a choice of cornflakes or muesli, fresh fruit cocktail, scrambled eggs, sausages, ham and cheese, croissants, toast, bread rolls, fruit juice and water and coffee. Staff was very helpful, the hotel looks exactly like it does on the website. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    143
    52
    23
    14
See reviews for
54
147
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Proximity to the train station was ideal for a quick trip. We stayed in a 4 person room which was small but clean and updated. Bathroom was fairly large and included a bathtub. Free wi-fi with password from the front desk. Breakfast was okay, but no fresh fruit and I'm not sure who would want boiled hot dogs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green bay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My family stayed 2 nights in this hotel. We had 205 and our daughter had 203. 203 is small but has a bath and was fine for my college age daughter.Our room was much larger and very comfortable. Both rooms showed a little wear.The staff was nice and put up with my attempts to converse in Italian.
My husband had some laundry done and the front desk took care of it,(Tip: she asked if we wanted the laundry pressed and we said no...We thought this was ironing. When we got the clothes back they were clean and dry but....not folded and balled up into a plastic bag! Pressed must mean folded and pressed?)
The loction here is great with a small market around the corner. We also found a great gelato place in the large square just to the left of the hotel (Santa Novella) It was more reasonable than the others we went to with cones starting at 1.5 euros.

another tip: If you're staying in Florence for 2 or 3 days, get the Florence card. 50 euros per person. You have access to all the museums and you go to the front of the line without having to go a scheduled time.

Room Tip: watch out for mosquitos if you leave your windows open at all they will eat you alive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Unicorno for only one night, would have liked 2 but they were full! But they did book us into another one close by. The staff were very helpful with directions to the major sites. The room had recently been renovated so was smart but a little dark. Nice quite street and close to a garage which was handy for us as we had a car. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was in Florence for 5 days, accomodated at this hotel. It was a good choice in term of location, 5 min walk to railway station Santa Maria Novella. Also the bus to Pisa Airport and Siena can take nearly train station. Friendly staff, good breakfast(not only tipical continental with croissants and tea). Our room was spacious, big and confortable double bad, clean bathroom. Only the furniture was litle bit old. and noisy when the window is open. TV with intalian channels only. Nice and cheap restaurants in the hotel area.
More or less it was a good base to discover Florence.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors beacuse of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, in a quite street so nice and peaceful at night. We were in one of the modern rooms on the top floor, some nice funky modern touches but the room was a little bit dark, only downside. Bathroom etc all excellent. Breakfast of coffee, pastries etc as per usual continental and checkin staff very helpful. Hotel very central and walking distance to everything you could possibly want to see, we walked up to the Piazza Michelangelo up the hill on our first day there and it took about half an hour. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence for a short break as it's 2 mins from the train station also.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have been modernised and have great showers. Don't know what the others a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Central location - close to the Arno and Piazza Santa Maria Novello. Staff was very helpful and spoke enough English. Room was large with good closets, and windows were double glazed, so street noise was not a problem. The bathroom fixtures were new, except for the very tiny shower. Breakfast offered good choices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unicorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorno

Address: Via dei Fossi, 27, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicorno 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Unicorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorno Hotel Florence
Unicorno Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unicorno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.