We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monna Lisa to your Saves list
Hotel Monna Lisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo Pinti 27, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    224
    74
    34
    31
See reviews for
142
320
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel looks nothing as you approach it along the old, narrow, one-way street in the heart of Florence. Then you reach the huge front door that opens up into a lovely entrance hall, with a wonderful original ceiling, through which you gain entry into the cosy reception and glimpse the courtyard and gardens beyond.

This lovely, comfortable hotel exceeded our expectations, and provided an ideal base for our short trip to Florence. A short walk to all the sights, great restaurants and shopping. Couldn't have asked for anything more (except perhaps a swimming pool, but then we didn't ask for one in the first place). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After being dropped off by taxi at a gated access we were granted admission and told to wait and would be met to take us to a room in the annex adjacent to the entrance. We were shown to a small room upstairs with only a small single window and a windowless bathroom. We were asked to go across to reception for check in. Only later that day did we, by chance, find out there was a room safe, Although tidy and clean the room was clearly needing some refurbishment. To be told room coffee making was not available I found most surprising as only the previous night we had stayed in nearby Lucca with this facility. Also the room fridge only supplied bottled water at a price. I call this disgracefull. Fair enouigh for other drinks. The previous night it was free, quite right. The breakfast was disappointing and not good overall. It was held in a large but overcrowded room where access to the 'buffet' was poor and inconvenient. The offering of fresh fruit would have embarassed me if I had presented it. Why in a country with so much fresh fruit available would you offer a bowl of 95% chopped apple and some odd bits of grape, orange and kiwi! The bread was either good brown or rather nasty white for use in an antiquated super slow toater. The croissants were all cold with no offer of warm ones. The fruit juices also were classic and nasty longlife versions. The coffee was excellent. The waiting staff were very pleasant but obviously working with limited available produce. The desk staff were not over accomodating or friendly as was proved when we had problems with their printer for our on-line check in. It was only on our last night that we found out there was a front main entrance and consequently we had been using the gated rear one without knowing! As a past regular business and social visitor to Italy my expectations for this 4 star were shattered, The potential was there but not utilised. Obviously we must have visited on a bad week according to other reviews!

Room Tip: Ask to see them fist!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The welcome, staff, rooms, ambience, breakfast and customer service was superb. We brought friends with us who truly had a magical time and the hotel is situated in the hearts of the city near great places to eat..

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect luxury hotel with a lovely garden. Ideal for a relaxing break with a drink after a day out in the city. Breakfast and rooms are very good. Located between Piazza Duomo and Ponte Veecchio. All within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyable stay with lovely room and common areas. The WiFi in the common areas only is annoying, but overall a pleasant experience. Breakfast enjoyable and staff friendly. Nice garden area and easy access to the centre of Florence. Worth a stay.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was recommended by a colleague of mine who used to live in Florence, she said it was a "hidden gem". She was not wrong. A review below says the hotel is on the outskirts of Florence. That is harsh, it is, conservatively, a 5-6 minute pleasant slow walk into the centre of town (you can see the Duomo from the end of the road). When you reach the end of Borgo Pinto, I suggest crossing the road, going under the archway, turning right and taking that road into town, it has shops and is a more interesting walk than the turning immediately right after exiting Borgo Pinto.

On arrival at Florence airport there is a fixed taxi fare of €20 into town + €1 for each suitcase. There is a well organised taxi rank at the airport so if you are arriving during normal daylight hours I would not say there is a need to book a taxi. The journey to the hotel took 15 mins. I mention this as I checked booking a taxi beforehand and they were very expensive compared with this cost. As the taxi drivers are on a fixed fare they don't hang around...

Back to the hotel. Super organised check in and within a couple of minutes were were in our room in the Limonaia wing of the hotel. Definitely a good idea that the hotel porter gentlemen took us, the hotel has so many nooks and crannies and winding corridors we would never have found it on our own. The room was great, very well decorated and not a mark anywhere. Not many drawers for storage which may be a problem if you were staying for longer than a weekend but fine for us. I had upgraded so we had a jacuzzi bath and after walking 10 miles each day around Florence that was very welcome. There was a bottle of prosecco, on ice, and glasses in the room from the hotel to welcome us which was very nice, and much appreciated, touch.

The weather was spectacular and thus so were the gardens. We had afternoon tea outside and drinks a couple of times. It was a wonderful way to end the day sitting chilling out. There was some sort of musical production nearby and during the afternoon you could hear classical music which added to the wonderful atmosphere.

The bar opens at 5.00 pm and Vincenzo the barman is spectacular and worth the trip to Florence just to meet him. He is a major highlight of the hotel. The pre-supper snifters and nibbles are not to be missed. Come to think of it nor are the post-supper snifters and I don't think some of the residents had moved all evening. The bar becomes a little hub of the hotel in the evenings with people swapping tales and stories of their day, a nice thing, with maestro Vincenzo in charge.

Breakfast - usual Continental affair of fresh breads, cheese, meat, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, eggs (cold hard boiled), juice and fantastic coffee. There was a huge amount of food available and I think would cater for all tastes. I do not understand my fellow American tourists who pile their plates high with EVERYTHING in one go, then leave almost all of it unconsummed, but each to his or her own.

The lady on the front desk was super helpful with train instructions for our trip to Pisa when Google was giving me conflicting advice. We had wifi in the room, in certain places, and to be honest sometimes it's good to be without it for a while and live in the present.

The hotel is spectacular, parts of it date back to the 13th century and it would certainly have been a wonderful palazzo. It oozes charm, history and, say it quietly, it's all a bit bonkers which I completely love.

There is a restaurant in same road, La Giostra. We ate there on our last night (you need to book), expensive but fantastic and highly recommended.

My only constructive criticism - I am not sure whether the weather was unseasonably warm the weekend we stayed (end of April) but the aircon hadn't been switched on in the hotel. It was 27 degrees (or almost 81 depending on which system you use) inside our room and being on the ground floor I wasn't comfortable leaving open the large windows during the night. The gentleman in the room next door wedged open his room door to let in some air (the smoking jacket was a sight to behold).

This is a small point, the hotel is wonderful. When we return to Florence, we will not stay anywhere else, Vincenzo stock up the bar because we're going to be back...

Room Tip: I would imagine the suites upstairs have spectacular views of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#80 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monna Lisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.