We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A little oasis in a great location."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monna Lisa to your Saves list
Hotel Monna Lisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo Pinti 27, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 459 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“"A little oasis in a great location."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After fighting the crowds, which you inevitably do in a popular European city, it is a huge bonus to have a quiet beautiful garden to come back to and enjoy a well deserved glass of wine. The hotel is definitely old school, but in a good way. A great little bar where Vincenzo or Brian will keep you entertained and well taken care of. The prices in the bar, in my opinion, very reasonable. The front desk was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurants recommended by them were exceptional and enjoyed three of my best meals out of the three weeks i was in Italy thanks to them.
I would definitely stay there again and have already recommended to friends heading over in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    212
    72
    34
    31
See reviews for
138
309
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A beautiful typical ancient Florentine palace...truly different from most of the other hotels.
I chose a superior room that was quite spacious. The parking is useful as the area is overcrowded, though a little expensive. I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel grounds are beautiful: painted ceilings in the entry, lovely garden to relax and enjoy a cappuccino, and decor that reflects the period of the hotel.

They said that wifi was only available in common areas, but we were able to sign on from our room (not sure if that is possible in all rooms or we were just lucky).

The staff was extremely friendly upon check-in, and they loaned us glasses from the bar so that we could enjoy a bottle of prosecco that we brought with us on our balcony.

The location was great: a short taxi from the main train station, on a quiet side street, and only a short walk from the Duomo and most major sites.

My only very minor complaint was that our shower was quite small in our room (and no tub). However, our friends had a much larger shower with a tub (but they didn't have a balcony), so I guess the bathrooms vary. Perhaps if you need a tub for bathing children, you can ask upon check-in?

Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Monna Lisa for 3 days over Easter Weekend. It's a lovely, old school hotel. The room accommodated three adults easily. The shower was powerful and there was plenty of hot water. There was a jacuzzi bath tub, which was good but not great. Since the tub was so large, I think an elderly or disabled person may have difficulty getting in and out. We had no complaints about noise. The location is very good for sites and for getting to good restaurants. The breakfast was the traditional cold European breakfast. They had a very nice spread, with pastries, cereals, yogurts, cheese, ham and fruit. I missed a warm breakfast but I think this hotel offered a very nice version of the cold breakfast spread. The staff were very nice. The garden was a beautiful place to relax. The furnishing throughout the hotel were of very nice quality.

We were not able to get wifi in our room. The staff thought that we should and tried to help, but we could not get consistent service. However, there were so many nice secluded spots on the grounds of the hotel that got good wifi service that we would just go to one of them and we did not feel terribly put out.

I think if I could change anything it would be to get an upper floor room with a balcony facing towards the garden. We were on the ground floor and while we had no complaints, the people sitting out on their balconies in the evenings looked like they were having a great time.

We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to any family of three or smaller.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the upper floor with a balcony, facing the beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted so badly to write this hotel a raving review. The space is wonderful - it is truly a unique, well preserved space in the heart of Florence. The grounds are beautiful, it is well decorated treasures and has humorous nods to Mona Lisa throughout the premises. Furthermore, the garden is absolutely stunning - lush and green with vibrant, blooming flowers. The breakfast was also very pleasant - it was nice to get good meal in before exploring Florence.

This hotel, in my opinion, has immense potential to become a true four-star hotel and a hidden retreat in a trendy and convenient neighborhood. However, the hotel will have to drastically shake up the staff. I would say about half of the staff we encountered were blasé toward the guests and their needs. One employee in particular, who works at the bar in the evening and the dining room in the mornings, was rude and belittling. He was actively unhelpful when we asked to borrow a wine cork to open a bottle of wine and silverware for our take away meal in our room. He made it seem as if he was shaming us for wanting to eat and enjoy a bottle of wine in our room. It was after 10 and we had just returned from a day trip to Siena where one of the ATMs ate our debit card; this is the last time and place one wants to deal with an employee's condescending attitude. He was also rather pushy directing guests where to sit in the morning for example, if you are a party of two, you MUST sit at a two person table, no exceptions - the problem was the way in which he approached guests, it came off as pushy, controlling, and rude. He was the only employee to say anything about where guests sat (we only had to encounter him 2 out of the 4 breakfasts we enjoyed at the hotel).

Second, there are small details that do not warrant a four-star rating of this hotel. To name a few: the bedding is extremely uncomfortable (not cotton, over-starched sheets with cheap blankets), there is no WiFi except a single computer in the lobby, cheap bathroom soaps, lots of mosquitoes (the room provides a plug in to rid the room of mosquitoes, but considering what this hotel charges - there should be a better solution). All in all, the hotel was underwhelming, there are other hotels that are worth your money with better amenities and more gracious staff.

Room Tip: Do not pre-pay for your rooms. Bring your own wine bottle opener to avoid hassle from the employees
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the monna lisa is superb, location is near all the things you need to see, the staff cannot do enough for you,very clean spotless room great nice out side setting near to all the good resturants
just great

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a week last October. It was a very unique, quaint hotel within walking distance of all of Florence. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered was very substantial. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
DG

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#51 Family Hotel in Florence
#79 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monna Lisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.