We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look away now if you dont want to see the peeling paint - but it still has lots of high points” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monna Lisa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo Pinti 27, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 461 hotels in Florence
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Look away now if you dont want to see the peeling paint - but it still has lots of high points”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in the Monna Lisa in November 2012 in two (very ancient) rooms. They had the highest ceilings that I have ever encountered but were genuinely ancient and not terribly comfortable. Although meant to be romantic tbh they just came across as old and dusty. The en-suite bathrooms were of the elderly variety and I have never climbed such steep stairs to get to the rooms without a harness attachment! We did ask for the rooms to be adjoining or next door to each other when booking but this did not happen - as we were staying in a big group it worked out ok as we knew all of the other guests at this level but when travelling with small kids it is an added issue. IN some parts of this very old palace the paint is peeling and the it looks like its better days were many moons ago but this is Florence so somehow it works where in any other city it would not. The street that this hotel is on is quite genuinely more like an alleyway so the front is not very impressive but it is nice on the inside. There is a more modern section to this hotel and i would advise booking that as the older section is just a bit too old. However the staff were the nicest and most helpful that I have met anywhere and really did add to the very enjoyable stay. The car park out the back is a God send and the directions and sat nav codes supplied by the hotel will get you through the warren of streets without too much difficulty. Food in the mornings was more than adequete and the buffet spread, attentive staff and hot chololate kept both kids and adults happy. The kids found many nooks and crannies to play in and there was never any sense of the staff getting annoyed with this as can happen elsewhere. And the best bit was the bill - it was correct and nothing more added. They had advertised 4 nights for the price of 3 and that is what we got. The staff are the real high point here and I think if the rooms ( 5 and 9) had not been quite so old fashioned it would have been perfect.

Room Tip: If you like more modern comfort then book the newer rooms out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    186
    60
    35
    30
See reviews for
110
252
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

this was my 2nd stay here and the first for my 18 year old niece. we were both thrilled with everything. beautiful common areas. the staff is friendly and helpful. our room was unique and so comfy. i only wish i had more than 2 nights. the breakfast was quite nice and plentiful. very close to all attractions. walking from the train station was not bad with light luggage. i will always return to this hotel when i visit florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSLAVIA16, Direttore at Hotel Monna Lisa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is indeed a pleasure to answer to your kind review.

We truly appreciate you are taking the time to write about your experience with the Hotel Monna Lisa and give your perception of a stay with us.

We feel very happy we had fulfilled your expectations.

You are a great witness of our overall efforts and would welcome the opportunity to see you soon back to the Monna Lisa .

A special thanks from all our Staff

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Mona Lisa is the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in. We stayed in room 31 which made us feel like Royalty. Beautiful, classic, the decor was like no where you would find.
The staff were friendly, breakfast lovely with a wide variety of items. The Cappuccino was fantastic. The desk staff was friendly and helpful especially Regina. The restaurants she recommended were terrific and very close to the Hotel. We will definitely return and spend more than 5 days in Florence.

Room Tip: We were in room 31 that is beautiful which faces the the street and I happen to love the sounds of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSLAVIA16, Direttore at Hotel Monna Lisa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Carmel,

''A Perfect and Appreciated comment is yours''

Thank you so much for the wonderful words you spent about the Monna Lisa Hotel and the Staff itself.
We really do love what we do and It's great when that comes through. Regina have a wider smile now!


Thank you again for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor.

I look forward to welcome you again for a longer stay,and until then, i send you our

Best Regards


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel must be experienced to believe! The public and private rooms are amazing. The hotel was built in 1305 and the history of the building and owners very interesting and historical. The staff, especially Luigi at the front desk are wonderful. We highly recommend staying at Hotel Monna Lisa if in Florence, Italy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Monna Lisa was just the right combination of quality and price, making it a great value. Our double room was comfortable and well-appointed, the housekeeping was excellent and the staff was friendly, helpful, engaging, and attentive. The breakfast had excellent coffee and a reasonable variety of items. All of the places that we wanted to go were within reasonable walking distance, yet the surroundings were very quiet. We found the eclectic collection of "alternate takes" on the Mona Lisa painting to be quite entertaining as well. The only negative was that WiFi service was fairly expensive. We highly recommend this hotel and are looking forward to returning upon our next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

we had a double room, with an extra bed brought in for a third person. Sept 28-30; 3 nights-
$1226.00. includes tax and parking. but at $380.00/ night, they still did not offer free WiFi; an extra 15 euro/day. The breakfast was completely average, just a basic table with bread, cereal and fruit, no chef. We had a water leak in our shower which flooded the room, but it was not corrected, only cleaned up after, for three days. No offer to change room. Other than this, the garden is very nice, a very convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Really nice and pretty hotel, well communicated to everything, short walk to all attractions and train station. The garden was beautiful, but the staff was the best out of it, everyone was willing to help and make your staying in Florence better. Highly recommended, love to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSLAVIA16, Direttore at Hotel Monna Lisa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
''Great Customers like You are always welcome at Hotel Monna Lisa''

Thank you very much for your great comment, we really appreciate it.

I look forward to welcome you again for a longer stay at Hotel Monna Lisa

Thank you also for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor.

See You Soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#63 Family Hotel in Florence
#101 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monna Lisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.