We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what you get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monna Lisa to your Saves list
Hotel Monna Lisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo Pinti 27, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

we had a double room, with an extra bed brought in for a third person. Sept 28-30; 3 nights-
$1226.00. includes tax and parking. but at $380.00/ night, they still did not offer free WiFi; an extra 15 euro/day. The breakfast was completely average, just a basic table with bread, cereal and fruit, no chef. We had a water leak in our shower which flooded the room, but it was not corrected, only cleaned up after, for three days. No offer to change room. Other than this, the garden is very nice, a very convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    188
    66
    33
    31
See reviews for
120
279
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Really nice and pretty hotel, well communicated to everything, short walk to all attractions and train station. The garden was beautiful, but the staff was the best out of it, everyone was willing to help and make your staying in Florence better. Highly recommended, love to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSLAVIA16, Direttore at Hotel Monna Lisa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
''Great Customers like You are always welcome at Hotel Monna Lisa''

Thank you very much for your great comment, we really appreciate it.

I look forward to welcome you again for a longer stay at Hotel Monna Lisa

Thank you also for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor.

See You Soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Mona Lisa Hotel is a beautiful and charming hotel that is located just close enough to the centre of Florence to walk everywhere but away from the madding crowds. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful! We stayed for a long weekend with our five kids and enjoyed large rooms and public spaces. The breakfast was excellent and although the setting was very elegant our kids were never made to feel uncomfortable. Quiet and peacefull and just a ten minute walk from most major attractions. If you are looking for value for money,pretty, spacious rooms, friendly staff and a good breakfast with an authentic Italian feel then the Mona Lisa is the right choice. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked this hotel because of good reviews & found it was even better than expected. Situated only 10 mins. walk from the centre, this former palace is very opulent with lots of period features. Our room faced a lovely peaceful garden. Room was excellent as were public rooms. Staff great. Cannot think you could do better in Florence without paying mega bucks

Room Tip: Book a room facing garden with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

There is a reason that this place is listed in the best hotels in the world book. The artwork and architecture are breathtaking, the staff warm and accommodating, and the location is superb. Off season rates were beyond compare. Little touches like pumice stones in the bath and complimentary champagne upon arrival makes you feel as if you are, in fact, royalty. The history of the place is fascinating. I would move in if I could. We look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This B & B was very well located and was warm & inviting. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were great. Our only complaint is the shower/tub leaked all over the bathroom floor every time we showered, that is why they did not get 5 stars. The breakfast was very good. We loved going out to the gardens at the end of our day and exploring the nooks out there. Would recommened this hotel but beware the leaky tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

As the other reviews stated, it is like being transported in time. The hotel has a authentic palace look, with sitting rooms scattered throughout and windows that open out to the beautiful garden. There is about 20 stairs to walk up tp the second floor, but we were used to stairs and walking at this point in our vacation. What makes this hotel charming is the wait staff. They were all so friendly and helpful. The location was awesome. Walking distance to the Duomo, Accademia, Ufizi, and the Ponte Vecchio bridge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#61 Family Hotel in Florence
#111 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monna Lisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.