We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice experience at Hotel Monna Lisa, Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monna Lisa to your Saves list
Hotel Monna Lisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo Pinti 27, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 461 Hotels in Florence
earthadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really nice experience at Hotel Monna Lisa, Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Very well located, just steps from the restricted traffic area in the center of Florence. The hotel is old with wonderful details, in good repair. The breakfast was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful (A+). The dining area is nice; it looks onto a beautiful garden with seating for nice weather (we just returned -March 2012- and the weather was terrific). I am not one to part with a dollar readily, and I was very satisfied with the value.

Room Tip: Room rates vary by quality. Do yourself a favor and ask to see the room first: we changed from one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    192
    67
    34
    31
See reviews for
121
284
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The first impressions as you enter the 16th Century Palazzo,off an prepossessing street,is that you have arrived at an oasis of calm in a busy city.The quirky route to our room,via several lounges,full of original artwork and furniture,would not suit the disabled,but,once learned was a daily pleasure.
I would however recommend the rooms off the garden,given some of the earlier comments.Ours,which included a jacuzzi, was excellent.In spring or summer the calm of the garden must be a huge boon.
The hotel is extraordinarily well situated,very close to many historic sites but also offering good local restaurants etc.If you turn left out of the hotel there is a wonderful trattoria about 200m away,as well as the more famous restaurant(much more expensive} 200 m on the right.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Monna Lisa and found it to be a marvelous hotel in every way. They have private parking, which is a rarity in downtown Florence. We had a large quiet room off the garden. The main building is a rambling old palazzo with lovely old paintings and furniture. A nice buffet breakfast is served and 2 delightful waiters provide capuchini. Very nice linens and bedding. Great sleeping!

Room Tip: Room 37 was quiet and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Absolutely charming hotel in an historic gem. The furnishings in the bedroom were tasteful. The breakfast was delicious and the staff entirely accommodating. The location is very convenient to the center of the city and all of the museums and shops.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We (two adults and our teenage son) arrived in Florence from California in the evening. Reception was very kind and informative. The hotel is older and quite quaint - we liked it. It's an old house and requires a bit of navigation to your room. We were very satisfied with the room. It's located not too far from the Duomo which was also nice.

Room Tip: We were there at Christmastime so mosquitos weren't an issue. Can't remember the room numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012 via mobile

This property is an old house and lay out reflects this. Rooms are individual and furnished with lovely antique items. Lounge area also tastefully decorated and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed during New Years and fell in love with the unique layout and grounds. (When I say "unique layout", at the end of my 3 days I still wasn't able to navigate it without making at least one wrong turn.) My room was on the small side but lacked nothing I needed, and the furniture, bath fixtures, and tile floors made it feel like Tuscan luxury to me. Staff was kind and patient with my strained Italian. Location is great, just around the corner from the duomo. I'd love to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#61 Family Hotel in Florence
#110 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monna Lisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.