We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly , slightly tired but lovely people. All you need from a Florence budget option.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Carlotta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Michele Di Lando 3, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #162 of 461 hotels in Florence
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly , slightly tired but lovely people. All you need from a Florence budget option.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Three night weekend, Room 115.

Good: breakfast (surpisingly good and generous), charming bar and terrace, quiet, air-con (it's just ok, not ice cold in Alex, but very welcome all the same), service (friendly obliging staff), shower pressure (really good)

Not so good: slightly whiffy (sewers) in room .. no it wasn't me...clears quickly if you open the window (!) , room a bit small, fridge didn't work (but very prompt room service ). 10+ minute walk to town, loses its charm somewhat after two or three trips...but the hotel is super quiet at night. so take a cab..8 euros.Bed v comfortable.

Overall I really liked the people who run this place, and I'd recommend it to those on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    143
    59
    28
    2
See reviews for
54
210
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked this hotel for new year after reading the reviews. I'm sure for those staying in the main part the descriptions are true however we were given an up stairs rooms in the annex. We had trouble getting our suit case in as the room was so small. Everything was layered with dirt. We did complain and were given a downstairs bigger cleaner room but it was not the stay we expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
we're sorry you do not like so much Villa Carlotta; You reserved a Classic Room and the dimension are in compliance with the Law for a 4 star Hotel.
There is no difference in quality from between the two part of the hotel. The room are perfectly clean every morning in every part, we really take care about it, we are sorry you see something not perfectly clean as you said, ; The problem with the dimension was solved giving you a free upgrade in a superior room for free; Unfortunatly also one of our most big room and a free upgrade was not enough to give us a good rate.
We hope you'll give the chance to be again our guest and to let you pass a fantastic period in Florence.
Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel across the river, it's close to the Boboli park - a nice to walk and relax far away from the tourist part of the Florence city.

This is a 4 star hotel so you need to be aware that here the tourist tax you pay is higher than other places (4 euros per person per day). This was a surprise for me since I stayed in another hotel previously and payed half of that. The breakfast is fancy but the food is terrible, worst juice I've ever tried in my life. Rooms are ok and the bathroom is really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
The city tax is not different from any other 4 star hotel in Florence.
1 Star -1 Euro
2 Star- 2 Euro
3 Star- 3 Euro
4 Star - 4 Euro
5 Star- 5 Euro
The price is per person per night.
it's a tax that's not depends from us.
I'm Sorry that with this miss understanding you gave us a not very good rate.

About the orange juice , is really the first time we hear this thing; we have the San Pellegrino's Juices, the Best Italian Quality for juice, i'm really sorry you don't like it.

Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel Carlotta was set in a lovely, leafy neighbourhood in a quiet part of Florence; an easy walk in to Ponte Vecchio and the city. Service and breakfast was good; we did not have the opportunity to eat dinner there. Our room and bathroom was very generously sized and beautifully clean, with a view of the garden and trees. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Oerall this is a great property conveniently located 10-12 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio. Whcile most of the rooms a of standard measurements, there is a room on the first floor whose bathroom is so small hat you can touch all 4 walls just by stretching your arms out. This bathroom is soo poorly designed that you cannot sit properly in the toilet as it is only a few centimeters away from the wall. Aside from he size of the bathroom, the rest of the property is normal in appearance and size. The continental Breakfast has plenty of selections that will ft most travelers' needs. The staff is attentive and will go out of their way to make sure your expectations are met.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice place to stay if it was not quite far from the mean touristic areas.. Situated in a nice residential area, it is quiet but above ask very different from the hotels system.
Or room was big enough to enjoy every inch in it (king size bed, big cupboards, nice bathroom daily cleaned, with a nice view (trees everywhere) and neighbours far enough not to disturb, restaurant inside and in the garden area, people in the reception are very nice and helpful (which seems to be the owners).. Only one incident that i cant neglect, the AC was out of service which is "awful" in summer in Florence (they said they week fix it the day after. a nice Tunisian guy ( seems to be polyvalent there) was nice and could manage a fan but that wad not enough to cool down the room and nothing was done later despite our insistence.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We love to receve reviews for the chance to improve the quality of your stay.
About the air condition, the point is that in thoose days , also if we are in June, the temperate in Florence is very Low and strange for the season: 16°C during the day and 9°C by night and is raining a lot. That's why we didn't turned on the air condition.

Best Regards
Antonio Ventuirini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights and loved it! The location was perfect, because it's not in the city center, but close enough to walk to it. It's located at a very residencial and fancy neighborhood. The breakfast was great along with the service. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Address: Via Michele Di Lando 3, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#107 Family Hotel in Florence
#120 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Carlotta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.