We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It not 4 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Carlotta Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Carlotta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Michele Di Lando 3, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #186 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Moscow
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It not 4 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is very convenient for those who travels on the car. The hotel has good parking and thus hotel is located in a beautiful quiet place, in a park zone. To the downtown not so far to go on foot. But the villa old also demands reconstruction. Besides, the pleasant girl on a front desk 2 times tried to lodge us in room DBL with the eхbed suitable only for the small child in spite of the fact that we booked room TRL. Thus she pretended that doesn't understand a difference between these two types of rooms though except the size of the room is also a difference in cost))
As a result room TRL was only in the additional building, overlooking a parking. The room quite big also is divided into 2 separate zones, and also has 2 bathrooms. It was very convenient for us. Situation quite old and the equipment is very obsolete. Replacement of system of ventilation, electric conducting and bathroom equipment is necessary. And the most unpleasant that in bathrooms is a lot of ants! !
The breakfast was an average though the room for breakfasts and a lobby are beautifully issued and really deserve to be called a villa!
Cost is strongly overestimated by this hotel and I think that at this price it is possible to find hotel in Florence much better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We love to receive reviews for the chance to improve the quality of your stay.
We are very sorry about what is happened during your stay, if I knew you had problems in the room we were able to change it. We are very appreciated for the quiet, the clen , the service and the quality; especially because we are in a green area just few minutes from the city center.
About the picture you posted, I can Assure you that the person who clean the room saw the pictures and she's very sorry about it. It's never happened before in our Hotel to leave a little corner not perfectly clean and i assure you will never happen also the future.
We hope to see you again in Florence,
Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    146
    65
    30
    3
See reviews for
59
231
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I arrived at the Villa Carlotta on the first leg of a two-city holiday in Italy with a friend in the early afternoon. The receptionist was helpful and friendly and we were taken to our room which was behind the hotel, in the villa.

The room was on the ground floor, but the balcony had railings and trees around and the door was suitably secure. The room itself was basic, twin beds, clean sheets, television and fridge, and the bathroom was clean and simple. The room wasn't as high a standard as other 4* hotels I've stayed in, but it did the job and it was in a beautiful location.

The hotel itself is located a 20-minute walk away from the town centre boundary, but this was no problem for us and we enjoyed the walk in every day. Breakfast was the usual and lovely and we enjoyed the bar some of the evenings we were there.

I would definitely return to the Villa Carlotta if I travelled again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a nicely appointed hotel away from the main tourist drag in Florence. It is a pleasant 20 minute walk across Ponte Vecchio into town. It is inclusive of a breakfast which is nicely done with espresso drinks (cappucinos etc) made to order, juices, pastries, cereal, eggs, cold cuts, breads galore. The only thing to note is that the shower starts off cold but needs to run 4-5 mins and then gets hot. Overall, I really liked the character of this hotel and the fact that it took us into a different neighborhood of Florence across the river.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lancashire
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Convenient private & secure parking for the car, thereafter perfect for an easy walk to all main attractions along quaint streets past the Pitti Palace and Via Romano, with marvellous little shops of all descriptions.Lovely room at front of hotel with balustraded balcony, new bathroom and large comfy bed. We appreciated the nice touch of a bottle of Prosecco awaiting our return from a short jaunt into the centre of Firenze! Staff were all friendly and helpful, especially Stefano. Room was very warm, but thermostatically controlled and could easily be adjusted. We found hotel very clean, elegantly decorated and relaxing for our 2 night stay. A couple of minutes and you are in the Boboli Gardens or the Porto Romano. Buffet breakfast quite extensive for Italy but more than adequate. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing stay!

Room Tip: Preferably in the main 'villa' part of the hotel - there is also an adjacent building overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in the Villa Carlotta for three nights. The villa has a superb location to the south of the City. Our room, on a corner facing west was excellent and the ensuite bathroom was magnificent and sparkling newly fitted (I guess). The wardrobes were huge as was the bed.Wifi excellent.
However, the actual location is a good 20 minutes' walk, mostly downhill to the Ponte Vecchio, which makes it at least 25 minutes walk back up. There are buses but they still involve a walk. The hotel's blurb says that it is conveniently located between the Ponte Vecchio and the Piazzala Michelangelo; this is misleading, it is at the apex of a triangle of which those two locations are the base. You would not want to walk to Piazzala Michelangelo.
Because it is so far out, if you have spent the day walking Florence you will want to return to the hotel to "freshen up" before going downtown again for dinner. It is not reasonable to walk there and back again at night so you are then into getting taxis, at least to bring you back after dinner.
For this reason we actually had dinner one night in the hotel. It was not a good experience. You would think that, given the excellence of the decor everywhere else, the dining room would be excellent. It is not. It is downstairs with no natural light, bleak, with tables set out round the walls. The lights were set far too bright for dinner. The quality of the food matched the quality of the dining room; disappointing.
On the other hand, breakfast on "The Terrace" was excellent, if limited in choice, and the terrace itself is delightful.
The staff were most helpful and friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This delightful small hotel is actually quite close to the centre of Florence yet in many ways it is detached totally from the bustle of the city centre. It is the first time I have had a hotel bedroom complete with chandelier. A taxi from the main station was less that 15 euros including 4 bags. Subsequently we walked into town (20 minutes to Ponte Vecchio) or used the excellent local buses. The helpful reception staff listed the routes to use and supplied the tickets.

The room was more than adequate for the price paid, clean, warm with a large bathroom. We had a ground floor room with a private patio but that was unused in November but would be delightful in the warmer months. there was a good range of international TV channels and a strong wifi signal.

Breakfast was included in our rate and this was more than adequate to start the day with the standard items of most continental hotels. The ham was particularly good and the coffee better than average.

The buses to the centre were from the Porta Romana which had a good shopping centre including a wonderful Gelateria with the best ice cream we had in Florence. The number 12 bus passed the hotel and stopped at the Piaza Michaelangelo which is a great place for an overview of the city.

If you would prefer a quiet hotel away from the bustle of the city then the Villa Carlotta might well suit. We enjoyed our stay and will return then on our next visit to this amazing city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of two 4-star hotels on our 3 week trip - others were 3 star and all were superior to this. Bare walls, not even a single picture or hanging. Extensive mold in the shower (Other 4-star was Hotel Imperiale at Lake Como Very nice but also with mold in the shower. Must be a prerequisite for 4 stars). Very nice location and grounds were nice if weather had been better (late October). Overall, the worst of 8 places we stayed on our trip. Shouldn't be hard for them to upgrade back to 4 stars but seems like there is a loss of caring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dentile Fred A,
thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We love to receive reviews for the chance to improve the quality of your stay.
I do not understand when you says that there is "mold" in the shower. The rooms and the bathrooms are carefully cleaned every day and I can assure you that there is no mold. Following this review we inspected all the bathrooms to see if there was any stain that might be caused by a leak or rupture of any pipe, we could not find anything. If you would kindly contact us via email, we would be delighted to be able to intervene immediately into a problem that you may have found.
We hope to have an opportunity of hosting you again
Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Address: Via Michele Di Lando 3, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Carlotta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.