We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, special consideration for Celiacs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Carlotta Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Carlotta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Michele Di Lando 3, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #187 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, special consideration for Celiacs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is an absolutely amazing hotel that took special care of my husband and I while we were on our honeymoon. I have Celiacs disease and they brought in special crackers and cookies for me for breakfast, as well as gave me a list of "si accomidi" certified (basically gluten free certified restaurants in the area!) As I am extremely sensative to gluten, their hospitality was so appreciated and let me worry more about enjoying myself and less about my food! Also, their rooms are beautiful and clean, and the staff, extremely helpful! We would recommend this place and would absolutely stay here again! Also, my mother took a trip here earlier this year and loved it as well.

The restaurant that they recommended for Celiacs was closed during the time that we tried to go (most places close between 2 and 6:30 in Florence) but we ended up finding a glorious restaurant "L'Toscano" Via Guelfa 70, was phenomenal! I had the most delicious spaghetti and cake there. To be honest, I forgot for a few hours that I have Celiacs!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    147
    65
    30
    3
See reviews for
59
232
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three days during our trip to Italy. Our room was very welcoming and the bed was quite comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was good and the staff was very eager to help us with our needs. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in Florence. It is probably about a 20-25 minute walk to the main part of downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Villa Carlotta is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in a triple room, which was spacious for our family of four (incl a 6 and 1-year old). Room was clean, bed was huge and room very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and attentive (especially the man who served breakfast).

The hotel has free car parking but when we arrived this was full so we had to park on the street (EUR1.50/hour between 8 am-8pm). The next day we fortunately found a space in the car park.

Villa Carlotta is approx 20 minutes walk to the centre of Florence. The walk is very pleasant and shows the more residential side of Florence which is nice. If we were to come back to Florence, I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanafan, Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our second visit to Florence staying in Oltrarno and what a wonderful place to stay. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel most welcome, we were taken to our room and our bags brought up for us. Our room had a balcony providing a view over the gardens and the large windows flooded the room with the beautiful Florence sunshine for the entire week. The en-suite bathroom was spotless with fresh towels provided daily and the large double-bed was very comfortable. Wifi access is provided free of charge.

Breakfast each morning comprised a wide choice of croissants, cereals, bread, meat, cheese, yoghurt and fresh fruit with freshly brewed coffee that made the start to each day a delight. A level walk to town takes around 15 - 20 minutes and passes a number of artisan's workshops and shops which will make you pause and gaze at the wonders inside.

Our vacation was made all the more special thanks to Villa Carlotta and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble, hot water , extra towels not a problem. Staff friendly and also speak English. Hotel has free car parking and free wi-fi most useful. Room clean and tidy. Would recommend this hotel. Excellent location. Leonardo at reception was most helpful and we will not forget his warm welcoming smile.

Thank you for making our stay enjoyable in Florence

Avtar Laanda & Family

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel and not on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

A warm welcome and comfortable beds! Situated about 20-30mins casual walk from the very centre of Florence in a quiet leafy street. Breakfast is basic but fine. We made use of the PC, games and piano in the lounge. Dinner was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend. Quaint little hotel only 15min walk from Ponte Vecchio, in a quiet area of the city. Rooms are small but neat and have a huge bed. Only problem with the room was there was a terrible air conditioning system (it is very necessary when sleeping at night in 28 degree heat). They were cleaned every day with no fuss. Breakfast is simple but completely satisfactory with good service. Staff were wonderful from the moment we arrived. Checked in late at night on my girlfriends birthday. We were shown up to our room and our bags carried up by the bell boy, 5 minutes later we heard a knock on the door and with great surprise a bottle of champagne had been sent up on the house with a note reading "Happy Birthday and enjoy your stay with us". We were very grateful and impressed. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try get a room that is west facing if staying in the summer, as the heat in the morning with no air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Address: Via Michele Di Lando 3, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Carlotta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.