We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in the perfect city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alba Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in the perfect city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at the Hotel Alba Palace after taking the VolainBus from the airport to the SMN train station (only 6 Euros per passenger; exit airport and walk right - there is a separate covered area to wait for this bus after the taxi line). The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the train station and a short walk to everything else Florence has to offer.

We were greeted with a welcome blast of cool air and a, "Ciao! Bongiorno!" from a lovely front desk receptionist. The entire staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Our room was on the top floor and we usually took the stairs, however there is also a large elevator at your disposal. Though our room faced the street, the noise level was negligible. Very clean and well-appointed quarters, with the A/C in perfect order. Lots of towels and extra blanket/pillows. The staff even left us a surprise treat for our wedding anniversary!

The continental breakfast in the atrium is included and awesome. Lots of fruit, cheese, breads, cereal, yogurt, etc to choose from. You can even ask for cappuccino (it's free).

Next time we're in Firenze, we will stay here again. Molte grazie Hotel Alba Palace!

Room Tip: Higher floor has negligible street noise, even during high tourist season (our room was on the top l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    414
    63
    15
    4
See reviews for
253
370
67
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Alba Palace is quite a good find. Its very conveniently located 5-10 min from all the notable attractions. And, one of he biggest bonuses is that all of the windows and storm windows are double-glazed; so its extremely quiet. Its a small hotel with a very friendly, helpful and professional staff. The complete breakfast is a real plus. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The AC worked very well. There is an elevator.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very well located just minutes from Train station. It's barely a 5 minute easy walk. Quaint hotel with well appointed room. We stayed in wee annex at the very top of the hotel. Quiet and tucked away. Breakfast was pretty standard fare, but very acceptable. Only a 5 minute walk into the heart of the city. Well worth spending a few days here.

The queues to get into attractions, cathedrals etc are particularly long so get out and about early to the ones you really want to see. A place well worth visiting is the Marketo Centrale. Visit the upstairs for a coffee and a meal. Everything is in easy walking distance, but with the uneven surfaces make sure you wear sensible shoes :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Helpful and friendly staff who accommodated me arriving early and let me into a room mid morning. The room was comfortable and clean and a reasonable size for a single. The bathroom was clean and fairly spacious. The breakfast had a variety to choose from and you were left to yourself. The elevator was a bit cramped and hot, but it was easy to take the stairs when not with luggage. Free wifi and a paper were a plus.
Very centrally located and yet quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The location was very near to the terminal and it was safe around.
The place for breakfast looks good. The room was clean, everything fine.

However, the hair dryer sometimes out of work and there is no slippers that I expected to have in a hotel.

In general it is good

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great hotel, just around the corner from the station. Good wifi. Very friendly staff, gave us free tea,coffee etc for our room. Excellent breakfast, loads of choice, including fresh fruit, yoghurt, bacon, scrambled egg as well as the usual things, all fresh and delicious! Perfect location could walk to all main highlights easily. Very comfortable room, flat screen telly, even a play station, great bathroom. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We were a family of four -with two children ages 10 and 7. Hotel was very spacious. We had the bedroom with the loft. The bathroom is very nice. Wifi was great. Located near the train station. Everything was walkable. Only change would be breakfast. Limited items for breakfast. Was the only place in Italy we did not get fresh cappuccinos for breakfast. But this is very minor downside in a great place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#45 Business Hotel in Florence
#58 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alba Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.