We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in the perfect city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alba Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Alba Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in the perfect city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We arrived at the Hotel Alba Palace after taking the VolainBus from the airport to the SMN train station (only 6 Euros per passenger; exit airport and walk right - there is a separate covered area to wait for this bus after the taxi line). The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the train station and a short walk to everything else Florence has to offer.

We were greeted with a welcome blast of cool air and a, "Ciao! Bongiorno!" from a lovely front desk receptionist. The entire staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Our room was on the top floor and we usually took the stairs, however there is also a large elevator at your disposal. Though our room faced the street, the noise level was negligible. Very clean and well-appointed quarters, with the A/C in perfect order. Lots of towels and extra blanket/pillows. The staff even left us a surprise treat for our wedding anniversary!

The continental breakfast in the atrium is included and awesome. Lots of fruit, cheese, breads, cereal, yogurt, etc to choose from. You can even ask for cappuccino (it's free).

Next time we're in Firenze, we will stay here again. Molte grazie Hotel Alba Palace!

Room Tip: Higher floor has negligible street noise, even during high tourist season (our room was on the top l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for your contribution! We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    487
    70
    17
    4
See reviews for
292
444
79
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Alba Palace is quite a good find. Its very conveniently located 5-10 min from all the notable attractions. And, one of he biggest bonuses is that all of the windows and storm windows are double-glazed; so its extremely quiet. Its a small hotel with a very friendly, helpful and professional staff. The complete breakfast is a real plus. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The AC worked very well. There is an elevator.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for your contribution and for appreciating our hospitality! We really hope to see you again in Florence!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very well located just minutes from Train station. It's barely a 5 minute easy walk. Quaint hotel with well appointed room. We stayed in wee annex at the very top of the hotel. Quiet and tucked away. Breakfast was pretty standard fare, but very acceptable. Only a 5 minute walk into the heart of the city. Well worth spending a few days here.

The queues to get into attractions, cathedrals etc are particularly long so get out and about early to the ones you really want to see. A place well worth visiting is the Marketo Centrale. Visit the upstairs for a coffee and a meal. Everything is in easy walking distance, but with the uneven surfaces make sure you wear sensible shoes :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you a lot of comment. We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible for our customers!
We expect you back at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Helpful and friendly staff who accommodated me arriving early and let me into a room mid morning. The room was comfortable and clean and a reasonable size for a single. The bathroom was clean and fairly spacious. The breakfast had a variety to choose from and you were left to yourself. The elevator was a bit cramped and hot, but it was easy to take the stairs when not with luggage. Free wifi and a paper were a plus.
Very centrally located and yet quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for your contribution! Thanks for your appreciative words! We hope to have you back as our welcome guest!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The location was very near to the terminal and it was safe around.
The place for breakfast looks good. The room was clean, everything fine.

However, the hair dryer sometimes out of work and there is no slippers that I expected to have in a hotel.

In general it is good

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thanks for the nice comment. We always try to give our best attention to let our clients have a memorable stay at our Hotel!! We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great hotel, just around the corner from the station. Good wifi. Very friendly staff, gave us free tea,coffee etc for our room. Excellent breakfast, loads of choice, including fresh fruit, yoghurt, bacon, scrambled egg as well as the usual things, all fresh and delicious! Perfect location could walk to all main highlights easily. Very comfortable room, flat screen telly, even a play station, great bathroom. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback,
It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We were a family of four -with two children ages 10 and 7. Hotel was very spacious. We had the bedroom with the loft. The bathroom is very nice. Wifi was great. Located near the train station. Everything was walkable. Only change would be breakfast. Limited items for breakfast. Was the only place in Italy we did not get fresh cappuccinos for breakfast. But this is very minor downside in a great place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
We’re so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to have you back as our welcome guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alba Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.