We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“florence site seeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alba Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Alba Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 461 Hotels in Florence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“florence site seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

the location is great - you drive right to the hotel by car, they call to the garage and take your car away. this is very convinient. breakfast is normall- but you have to ask for espresso or cappuchino from the bar - it is free. WiFi OK. nice old furniture - by old I mean antique. (or at least looking so). the hotel occupies two separate buildings - in the first row at the street and across the former backyard. as we were 4, we asked for a family room - actually it turned out to be a duplex without window on the first floor. and whatever they say in any hotel in Italy - be aware about mosqitos and italian power sockets. in Alba they had "normal north european" sockets. overall impression about hte hotel is good. Oh - in our room height of the ceilng was about 8 meters. and there were old columns with piculiar caps in the room.

Room Tip: no idea - the hotel is unique and interesting . all rooms are different. the buildings are very old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for your rate! We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    436
    65
    15
    4
See reviews for
264
396
72
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We recently did a short stay in Alba palace in florence. It is very close (less than 5 min walk) to SMN station. We were a family of 4 and was given a two story room on the ground floor, that was nicely appointed. The bathroom was clean and modern. The front desk was very helpful in providing maps and giving directions and places to eat. The breakfast was adequate with scrambled eggs, pastries, bread, fruits etc. We left our luggage in the lobby the next day to go to Pisa. Strongly recommend for families!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel!!
We really hope to see you again in Florence!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

What an absolutely amazing hotel.
Wonderfully big family room that photos just dont do justice to. Room had a double shower and even a jacuzzi!!!
Friendly staff, clean modern rooms.
Full breakfast daily and happy hour everyday with a free drink and snacks.
7 min walk from gelateria, train station, supermarket and city sightseeing bus.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for your contribution! Thanks for your appreciative words! We hope to have you back as our welcome guest!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I just stayed here two nights and am now in Switzerland. It is only two or three blocks walking from the main train station, a huge plus. There are about 29 rooms and the lobby and breakfast room area are beautifully decorated. Upstairs one flight to my room. It was very small, but for a single person I had no problem with it and it was quite immaculate. Only two minor items, the first being a common complaint - the wifi was erratic in my room, and now for the not so common complaint: the bathroom is very small. That would be OK, but the way the toilet is positioned next to the shower, it is a tight fit, BECAUSE, the toilet paper holder, and also a valve that functions as a bidet, make it really tight and a bit uncomfortable. Yes, I'm a little on the heavy side, true, but I am not enormous. Get the picture? Otherwise, I was very pleased with this place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for the rate! We are pleased knowing that yours was a nice stay! We really hope to see you again in Florence!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Alba Palace while in Florence. It was a great experience. The hotel is located conveniently near the SMN train station and most of the attractions in Florence. We were most impressed that they provided a complimentary gift in the room to celebrate our anniversary. We called the hotel a couple of weeks before our arrival and asked them to arrange advance tickets to Academia, which they were happy to do, and that saved us from standing in long cues. There are a number of great restaurants near the hotel and the streets are very quiet. The room was nicely appointed and had a great view of the street. We were very impressed with the decor of the hotel, lots of faux painting and nice furnishings. You'll be happy with your stay at Alba Palace.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, either street views, which are quiet, or courtyard views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We will be very happy to see you again at Hotel Alba Palace! We hope to have you back as our welcome guest!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is just a stone throw away from the train station. It has many great eateries within walking distance.
The front desk were friendly and helpful. Delicious snacks and drinks were served in the evening. Our room was simply cosy with a little balcony.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback,
It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed in a single room on the third floor, and though the room was small (no smaller than usual for a single) the bathroom and shower were larger than average. I could actually enjoy taking a shower without bumping into the walls. So all in all, it was a very nice room. The breakfast offered quite a lot – scrambled eggs, meats, fruit and juices, cheeses, cold cuts, breads, sweets. I had plenty to choose from. Since I like starting the day with a good breakfast, I was very pleased with what they offered.

The staff were always helpful and accommodating when I needed them. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I was initially a little concerned about street noise, knowing that my (single) room was facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for your contribution! Thanks for your appreciative words! We hope to have you back as our welcome guest!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#50 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alba Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.