We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location with awesome service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alba Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 461 hotels in Florence
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Strategic location with awesome service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is just a stone throw away from the train station. It has many great eateries within walking distance.
The front desk were friendly and helpful. Delicious snacks and drinks were served in the evening. Our room was simply cosy with a little balcony.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    404
    62
    15
    4
See reviews for
251
362
65
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed in a single room on the third floor, and though the room was small (no smaller than usual for a single) the bathroom and shower were larger than average. I could actually enjoy taking a shower without bumping into the walls. So all in all, it was a very nice room. The breakfast offered quite a lot – scrambled eggs, meats, fruit and juices, cheeses, cold cuts, breads, sweets. I had plenty to choose from. Since I like starting the day with a good breakfast, I was very pleased with what they offered.

The staff were always helpful and accommodating when I needed them. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I was initially a little concerned about street noise, knowing that my (single) room was facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated near to the train station and only minutes away from the centre of Florence. The staff are friendly, the continental style breakfast is really nice and there is plenty of it. The rooms are clean and a nice size with a good sized tv and a DVD player too. There is a kettle and free tea and coffee. There is also a happy hour every day with a free drink and snacks. Really nice for meeting the other guests and sharing their experiences. Can't fault it,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed in a very cool quad room on the ground floor. It had one queen bed downstairs and 2 single beds in a loft above. The wooden floors in the loft were a bit creaky, and the spiral staircase a bit tricky, especially with bags or at night, but I'm sure kids would love it. Each level has a TV (unfortunately, with only Italian channels). The bathroom had two sinks and a double shower with a rain shower head that worked very nicely. There was also a jacuzzi in a little echoing alcove of the room, but we couldn't get it to work properly. Air conditioning worked well.

Service was very good and efficient. At check-in, we were give a very detailed guidebook of Florence to use during our visit, and umbrellas were available to loan on the one rainy morning we had during our stay. The breakfast buffet was above average with a wide variety of pastries, rolls, cheese, cold cuts, fruit, yoghurt, as well as good scrambled eggs and bacon.

The hotel is very well located, a five minute walk from Sta. Maria Novella station, and another 5-15 minutes to most any sight in the historic center of Florence. In the vicinity, I'd highly recommend Trattoria Da Giorgio on Via Palazzuolo for a delicious meal, especially its fixed-price meals (a great value, especially since you can choose from any of the items on its regular menu to create your meal, rather than a few pre-selected, cheaper or toursity items).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very close to train station and easy walk to local attractions. Offered a free happy hour drink and snack at hotel bar. Breakfast was good. Room was larger and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and stored are baggage when we arrived too early to check in.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Whether you are just seeing the sights of Florence or taking bus or trains to other Tuscan cities Hotel Alba Palace is just right. It is a short walk to most of Florence's best attractions and only 5 minutes to the train. Alba Palace is clean and bright with the best sound proof windows I have seen anywhere. They offer a good filling breakfast and while we were visiting a happy hour with tasty snacks and a beverage of your choice. Should you be staying for 3 or more days you will find a complementary bottle of wine in your room. The front desk was very helpful with all requests and provided great recommendations for dinner every night of our 5 night stay. Alba Palace is a good choice for Florence and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Definitely would stay here again. Great value, excellent location and rooms were excellent. Florence is a great city and the staff of Hotel Alba are very helpful in making sure you get what you want !!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#55 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alba Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.