We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alba Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 461 hotels in Florence
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good choice for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Alba Palace between 04/02/2014 and 06/02/2014 with my husband. The hotel is conveniently located for all travellers, arriving to Florence by train as it is 5-minute walk from SMN train station. Also you can take intercity buses from bus station next to SMN train station.
The rooms were clean and they made our beds every day during our stay. We did not experience any problems due to noise outside. So we recommend to take rooms on higher floors. Breakfast service met our expectations. We definitely think that Hotel Alba Palace is definitely a good choice for all travellers, looking for neat hotels in a very short walking distance to most touristic attractions in Florence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    403
    62
    15
    4
See reviews for
250
362
65
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

It was easy so close to the bus drop off from the Florence airport. The housekeeping was good. It had a shower the size of a tiny phone booth, but it had endless hot water and good pressure, so who cares. The brunch was really nice and they did not try to pack it up at closing time, they let you linger. Do yourself a favor and get a powdered croissant, it is the best ever. Jasmina was wonderful in reception calling for two reservations for us and she spoke perfect English which really makes our job as tourists easier. We missed the happy hours, but it was a nice gesture.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important for us.
A special thank you is sent by the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good room for 4 people. It's huge! Two story room right next to Santa Maria novella. Free breakast was nice. Easy 4 minute walk to train station. 15/20 min walk to the sites. It's great and would come back here. Con would be the fact the key can never leave the hotel. Must give key before leaving for the days adventure.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We’re so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to have you back as our welcome guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in early May, 2 adults & 2 kids. Plenty of space for us all. Easy walking access to everything Florence has to offer. Breakfast included was nice. Happy hour 6-8pm during our stay which was nice. Some nice restaurants close by and great gelato just around the block. Only complaint is that the bed and pillows were way too hard for us, but that's our preference. I recommend to anyone who wants a nice stay in Florence.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback,
It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I had a single room and I intended a room to sleep : silence and normal temperature. Climatisation was'nt making cold and the windows couldn't be opened because of noise in the street... otherwise it was OK.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour votre contribution, nous sommes désolés de ne pas que l'air conditionné ne fonctionnait pas selon les attentes, peut-être la température quotidienne n'était pas particulièrement chaud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very convenient location, few minutes walk from SMN railway station. Comfortable - though rather small - rooms. Friendly staff (thank you, Verena). Last but not least - great atmosphere of a small Tuscanian hotel. Almost forgotten: the very first hotel I ever visited with PS2 console installed, not that I was using it when being in Florence.

I really like the interior, with a nice internal courtyard. Breakfast was decent, but it might be more diversified.

All in all, comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your rate! We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel ticked all the boxes for our three night stay. Easy to get to from where the Terravision bus arrives from Pisa airport and within 10-15 minutes walk from the majority of the major attractions. The staff are really helpful and friendly and even survived my determination to try out my poor Italian on them! The bedroom was pretty spacious, clean, well maintained and had a free safe. The bed was on the firm side, but that was not a problem after long hours of walking around the city. The shower/toilet was not the largest but again was clean and had good quality towels and a small selection of toiletries. The breakfast buffet was perfectly adequate and provided us with a good start each day. The free happy hour (2 hours actually) is a lovely touch and helps start the evening on the right note. Overall this is not the most luxurious hotel in the world, but it is really good value and provides everything you need for a city break.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you! We look forward to welcome you once again to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#55 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alba Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.